A-10C Basic Flight Training Qualification DLC - Page 15 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2017, 10:40 AM   #141
Axelerator
Senior Member
 
Axelerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,104
Default

To succeed the mission you need to stay aligned with the flight plan on your TAD. With the crosswind, your nose will deviate and the FE will start yelling at you but feel free to just ignore him.
As far as speed is concerned, it's totally normal if you fail when you go 20 kts above the requested speed. 20 kts is a lot in professional aviation standards. You won't even pass your CPL if you go 280 when the FE asks for 260. Try to stay within 10 kts of the target speed.

Last edited by Axelerator; 10-24-2017 at 10:46 AM.
Axelerator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 11:59 AM   #142
Bersagliere81
Member
 
Bersagliere81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 298
Default

I can understand the 20 limit but it looked weird. In other situations I wasn't paying enough attention and went far over the 20 limit. Nothing happened or I just had a warning
__________________
| A-10C | MiG-21bis | Hawk T1.A | L-39 Albatros | F-5E | Ka-50 | Mi-8 | NTTR | CA | SU27 | M2000C | F-86F | AV-8B | F/A-18C |
Specs
Spoiler:
Intel i7-5820k
msi GTX 970
msi X99s SLI plus
16gb RAM
Hotas Warthog
Bersagliere81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 12:59 PM   #143
Axelerator
Senior Member
 
Axelerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bersagliere81 View Post
I can understand the 20 limit but it looked weird. In other situations I wasn't paying enough attention and went far over the 20 limit. Nothing happened or I just had a warning
That's right, the FE is quite unpredictable in these missions. Sometimes he gives you warnings at the appropriate time and sometimes not.
Axelerator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 01:45 PM   #144
Bersagliere81
Member
 
Bersagliere81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axelerator View Post
FE is quite unpredictable
FE is a yelling noobzilla
__________________
| A-10C | MiG-21bis | Hawk T1.A | L-39 Albatros | F-5E | Ka-50 | Mi-8 | NTTR | CA | SU27 | M2000C | F-86F | AV-8B | F/A-18C |
Specs
Spoiler:
Intel i7-5820k
msi GTX 970
msi X99s SLI plus
16gb RAM
Hotas Warthog
Bersagliere81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 07:43 PM   #145
Bersagliere81
Member
 
Bersagliere81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 298
Default

There is definitely something wrong. I patiently gave it a try (6th attempt) and FE made it fail again.

This time I managed to follow flight plan and everything.

Task was heading 300 angels 7 at 260 knots. I just started turning and he didn't like the altitude. As you can see in the screenshot, everything is just fine (screenshot is taken few seconds aftwerwards. It was 6980 feets when he complained).

The exact position is after 1st landing (touch and go), just at the beginning of downwind leg.

Unfortunately I am forced to edit the mission as suggested, I am done with 6 fails in a row . At this time I could happily be even on AATQ campaign.

Screenshot attached as proof

EDIT - please Sabre-TLA can you provide me a mail where I can send you the .lua file? I am having no success editing it and I can't see what I am doing wrong
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_171024_203218.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	320.2 KB
ID:	171121  
__________________
| A-10C | MiG-21bis | Hawk T1.A | L-39 Albatros | F-5E | Ka-50 | Mi-8 | NTTR | CA | SU27 | M2000C | F-86F | AV-8B | F/A-18C |
Specs
Spoiler:
Intel i7-5820k
msi GTX 970
msi X99s SLI plus
16gb RAM
Hotas Warthog

Last edited by Bersagliere81; 10-24-2017 at 08:40 PM.
Bersagliere81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 09:01 PM   #146
Axelerator
Senior Member
 
Axelerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,104
Default

It is weird indeed... I did the same mission about a week ago and nothing went wrong like that so I don't understand why you're having this problem.
Axelerator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 10:46 PM   #147
Sabre-TLA
3rd Party Campaign Creator
 
Sabre-TLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kemptville
Posts: 2,459
Default

We will retest the mission in case something has changed in the game engine to impact the altitude levels.

I noticed you have your altimeter set to 2992. If you set your altimeter based on the pressure setting given by the ATC at take off or when vectored for a landing you should be flying at the altitude the FE expects and what is programmed into the mission.

If you leave it at 2992 you can verify the altitude you would need to fly at by viewing the waypoint information in the CDU and + or - the 100' or 200' qualification zone ranges.

This is even more pronounced at an airport like Vaziani where the initial altimeter setting is ~1800' above sea level so an 8000' altitude is shown as 9800' in the CDU if you don't change your altimeter setting based on the ATC recommended value.

So you have a choice, you can fly at the level the FE recommends using the ATC altimeter setting or fly at the altitude indicated on the CDU Waypoint page if flying with a setting of 2992. Both should ensure you are in the correct altitude block.

Our understanding is you set 2992 above the Transition Altitude and set to the ATC given altimeter setting when below that.

Here are some references that discuss the Transition Altitude and the specific settings for Batumi.

In North America it's less of an issue as the Transition Altitude is fixed at 18000'.

Maybe some European pilots can chime in and clarify this point better.
Sabre-TLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 11:17 PM   #148
Bersagliere81
Member
 
Bersagliere81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 298
Default

The QFE has never been touched (I am still understanding the mechanics behind it, but isn't 2992 sea level? Batumi is right next to it).

Also, I would dare to say looking at the hud, the flight pattern indicated by the CDU is at the same level.
__________________
| A-10C | MiG-21bis | Hawk T1.A | L-39 Albatros | F-5E | Ka-50 | Mi-8 | NTTR | CA | SU27 | M2000C | F-86F | AV-8B | F/A-18C |
Specs
Spoiler:
Intel i7-5820k
msi GTX 970
msi X99s SLI plus
16gb RAM
Hotas Warthog
Bersagliere81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 01:16 AM   #149
Sabre-TLA
3rd Party Campaign Creator
 
Sabre-TLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kemptville
Posts: 2,459
Default

It looks like you are about 250' above sea level at Batumi which could be enough to put you outside the altitude block.



We haven't completed retesting but wanted to share this screenshot to help explain the issue.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_171024_201211.jpg
Views:	262
Size:	130.8 KB
ID:	171130  
Sabre-TLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 08:56 AM   #150
Axelerator
Senior Member
 
Axelerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,104
Default

Actually I now recall that I did encounter the same problem. The FE told me I was off altitude but it got quickly fixed by setting the altimeter setting to 2889 I think it was. The QFE for your departure airport should be displayed at the bottom of your briefing window along with the frequencies. Hope this helps.
Axelerator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:01 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.