RWR notification ridiculous - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2020, 12:19 AM   #1
chief
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 412
Default RWR notification ridiculous

literally 0.5 seconds notication on my F18 rwr before the missile hits me. I am no pro, but I can pretty much 99% sya that is far from accurate. Do the math and that is a missile that goes active probably a couple hundred metres away from me.
chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 01:37 AM   #2
foxwxl
Member
 
foxwxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 329
Default

We haven't receive any report that the missile activation has any problem yet.
Plz attach TRK or ACMI for further investigation. Thank U.

And do note that RWR has a vertical receiving angle limitation, if the missile is coming outside the receiving angle(ie. your plane is rolling / you bank 90deg& pull hard or something like that), there won't be any alert.
foxwxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 03:51 AM   #3
Tiger-II
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 350
Default

RWR definitely has a problem.

Flying online last night, it was pretty much blind to all emitters.

I had an SA-6 lock me up and fire at me. It's only because I was looking in that direction that I saw it. Nothing on the RWR at all.

I had other instances where I had the aural alert "TRACKING" but no missile launch warning or anything on RWR to suggest I'd been locked up.

It's unreliable at best.
__________________
Intel 80386 with 80387 Math Co-Processor | 16 Mb | Color VGA
"When performing a forced landing, fly the aircraft as far into the crash as possible." - Bob Hoover.
Tiger-II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 05:29 AM   #4
chief
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 412
Default

Hornet, I find the aim54 WAY WAY better to detect in the F18 than the SD10. The SD10 literally at BEST gives 2-3 seconds warning. I cant bother doing that track thing to prove it does it. Come into DDCS server and you'll have the whole team agreeing with me on this one. Trust me, its broken
chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 06:19 AM   #5
Tiger-II
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chief View Post
Hornet, I find the aim54 WAY WAY better to detect in the F18 than the SD10. The SD10 literally at BEST gives 2-3 seconds warning. I cant bother doing that track thing to prove it does it. Come into DDCS server and you'll have the whole team agreeing with me on this one. Trust me, its broken
I've been thinking about this.

What range was it fired at?
Did the launch platform maintain lock the whole time?
TWS or RWS?
If TWS, DTT or STT mode?

If a missile is fired close enough and the launch platform maintains lock (thus datalink with the missile) it won't go active until the terminal phase. I know they use proxy fuses for detonation, but maybe it uses the onboard seeker for a last moment correction at max g to pull into the target?
__________________
Intel 80386 with 80387 Math Co-Processor | 16 Mb | Color VGA
"When performing a forced landing, fly the aircraft as far into the crash as possible." - Bob Hoover.
Tiger-II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 06:39 AM   #6
Lymark
Member
 
Lymark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Hong Kong/Seattle
Posts: 181
Default

My friend and I have had such issue(ever since the RWR broke) against the phoenix too, sometimes all we hear is one quick missile warning then we exploded in like 1 sec later.

We just assumed it's due to the bugged RWR tho.

Last edited by Lymark; 01-07-2020 at 06:49 AM.
Lymark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 06:58 AM   #7
Jonne
Member
 
Jonne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 429
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lymark View Post
My friend and I have had such issue(ever since the RWR broke) against the phoenix too, sometimes all we hear is one quick missile warning then we exploded in like 1 sec later.

We just assumed it's due to the bugged RWR tho.
Its seems its not the RWR of the JF-17, as that happens with other aircraft and the AIM-54, too. The F-14 does not even produce a track warning most of the time.
__________________
Jonne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 07:13 AM   #8
shaHeen-1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 484
Default

This is jf17 forum right? Just making sure.
shaHeen-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 08:43 AM   #9
Oceandar
Senior Member
 
Oceandar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Probably would make you smirking
Posts: 1,391
Default

Deleted
__________________
Mastering others is strength. Mastering yourself is true power. - Lao Tze

Last edited by Oceandar; 01-07-2020 at 08:52 AM. Reason: My mistake. This is about SD-10
Oceandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 08:46 AM   #10
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 12,839
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaHeen-1 View Post
This is jf17 forum right? Just making sure.
Yes, that's why this thread is about the SD-10 and its radar emissions.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:03 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.