Weird Joystick Issue - not being recognised - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2020, 11:20 AM   #1
Countykgamer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Exclamation Weird Joystick Issue - not being recognised

Hi,

I've had my head wrecked the by a problem that came on suddenly. I've been using a thrustmaster T-Flight Hotus X on a Windows 10 PC quite happily for a while but I turned it on yesterday and DCS refuses to react to the controller at all. DCS sees the joystick ok as it appears with its own column but refuses to act on any keypress or axis input. Any ideas gratefully received.

Things tried......

Windows 10 - fully updated
T Flight X - Standard Win 10 drivers and tried new updated driver
T Flight definitely in PC mode not PS3
Joystick IS seen by Windows 10 using Joy.cpl
Joystick IS seen by other apps ie JoyToKey quite happily (except when DCS loaded up)
Deleted the 'Savedgames\DCS' folder entirely to let DCS rebuild - no change.
Repaired DCS main folder with latest setup.
Renamed DCS main folder and reinstalled DCS from new.
Uninstalled DCS fully then reinstalled yet again from website.
Its nothing to do with STEAM Big Screen settings as running stand-alone version. (But checked anyway)

NOTHING seems to change anything - Its very frustrating, especially as it worked grand two days ago. I'm trying to get my girlfriend flying while we've the chance to try the planes out and perhaps invest in a couple of two seater aircraft.

Here is part of the logfile anyway, full one should be attached - hopefully it might help.

*******************************************************
=== Log opened UTC 2020-04-24 10:08:21
2020-04-24 10:08:21.081 INFO DCS: Command line: "D:\DCS_World\bin\DCS.exe" --force_disable_VR"
2020-04-24 10:08:21.081 INFO DCS: DCS/2.5.5.41371 (x86_64; Windows NT 10.0.18363)
2020-04-24 10:08:21.158 INFO DCS: Hwid: myFz7BxHJd6-RBe7Cq0qpcPBlWuzBlDthFo2gQ
2020-04-24 10:08:21.158 INFO DCS: DCS revision: 161370
2020-04-24 10:08:21.158 INFO DCS: Renderer revision: 19709
2020-04-24 10:08:21.158 INFO DCS: Terrain revision: 19859
2020-04-24 10:08:21.158 INFO DCS: CPU cores: 3, threads: 6, System RAM: 24540 MB, Pagefile: 3584 MB
2020-04-24 10:08:21.176 INFO EDCORE: (dDispatcher)enterToState_:0
2020-04-24 10:08:21.185 INFO Dispatcher: 2020/4/24 11:08 V1803061700
2020-04-24 10:08:21.193 INFO INPUT: Device [Keyboard] created deviceId = -1
2020-04-24 10:08:21.214 INFO INPUT: Device [T.Flight Hotas X {2AC72670-66C0-11ea-8001-444553540000}] created deviceId = -1
2020-04-24 10:08:21.214 INFO INPUT: Joystick created[T.Flight Hotas X {2AC72670-66C0-11ea-8001-444553540000}], ForceFeedBack: no
2020-04-24 10:08:21.214 INFO INPUT: Device [Mouse] created deviceId = -1
2020-04-24 10:08:21.214 INFO INPUT: Device [TrackIR] created deviceId = -1
2020-04-24 10:08:21.244 INFO SOUND: Using driver: xaudio29
2020-04-24 10:08:21.269 INFO SOUND: Found 4 available audio device(s):
2020-04-24 10:08:21.269 INFO SOUND: 0: ID: "\\?\SWD#MMDEVAPI#{0.0.0.00000000}.
**************************************************************
Countykgamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 01:34 PM   #2
Svsmokey
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 3,040
Default

Is it possible that you are not flying in the same mode as your bindings ? (Aircraft and particularly , game vs sim mode) ?
__________________
9700k , Aorus Pro wifi , 1tb EVO 970 , EVGA 1070 FE , Seasonic Prime 850w Gold , Coolermaster H500m , Noctua NH-D15S , CH Hotas on Foxxmounts , CH pedals , RiftS

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2020, 11:20 AM   #3
Countykgamer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Default

Hi Smokey, I've taken the system right back to basics with a clean reinstall of DCS, and from the off, it ignores the inputs from the joystick. It knows the hotas is there because it loads the default settings column for it, but that's as far as it goes. I'm guessing that it must be some registry setting that is upsetting things but I don't want to tinker there without some idea of what I'm looking for. Without help, the next step might have to be a reinstall of Windows but that's a major pain which I want to avoid unless I have to.
Countykgamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2020, 01:54 PM   #4
Countykgamer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Smile

*****************
* ANSWER FOUND *
*****************

After swapping USB ports yet again I tried it in a previously untried port and it started working again... Further checking found that it cant work in a USB 3.0 port although it HAD been working in that port quite happily up to a few days ago.... go figure.

So, if in doubt plug into a USB 2.0
Countykgamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hotas, joystick, problem, thrustmaster, win 10

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:58 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.