[RESOLVED]Game crash when loading Caucasus map or zooming in on caucasus in editor - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2020, 03:49 PM   #1
Hovis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default [RESOLVED]Game crash when loading Caucasus map or zooming in on caucasus in editor

Pretty much what it says on the tin.

Mission building all morning on Caucasus, no issues at all.
Suddenly open a new editor with clean Caucasus and once i zoom in to a certain level the game will crash. Every time.

No issues on PG or NTTR, both in-game and editor work fine.

I've tried updating openbeta, and repairing several times.

Any way to fix this without reinstalling everything?

Logs attached
Attached Files
File Type: zip dcs.log-20200326-164104.zip (178.7 KB, 19 views)
Hovis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 05:31 PM   #2
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 21,939
Default

Hi

System RAM: 8142 MB, Pagefile: 1920 MB

you may see beter results by increasing your pagefile as you have minnimum spec for RAM

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=230471

Let us know if it helps

thanks
__________________
BIGNEWY
Community Manager Eagle Dynamics
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, Intel® i9-10900K 3.70GHz, 5.30GHz Turbo, Corsair Hydro Series H150i Pro, 32GB DDR @3000, ASUS ROG Strix Z490-F Gaming, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos

BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:10 PM   #3
Hovis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default

Thats interesting, as I have 16gb or RAM..

Also that didn't work, I have an SSD with OS, a HDD and another SSD with DCS on it, tried 16gb pagefile on the HDD, with HDD and OS SSD and just on the OS SSD, same crash every time.

Crash logs included again
Attached Files
File Type: zip dcs.log-20200326-190729.zip (176.8 KB, 9 views)
Hovis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:26 PM   #4
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 21,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hovis View Post
Thats interesting, as I have 16gb or RAM..
please check your system

DCS: CPU cores: 6, threads: 12, System RAM: 8142 MB, Pagefile: 16384 MB
__________________
BIGNEWY
Community Manager Eagle Dynamics
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, Intel® i9-10900K 3.70GHz, 5.30GHz Turbo, Corsair Hydro Series H150i Pro, 32GB DDR @3000, ASUS ROG Strix Z490-F Gaming, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos

BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:47 PM   #5
Hovis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default

I built it, 16gb and it appears everywhere else

Screenshot attached
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	31
Size:	1.29 MB
ID:	230723  
Hovis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 08:47 PM   #6
Hovis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default

Update - there was an issue with hardware reserved RAM, now fixed and system using all 16gb, as shown in attached log

But original problem still remains, caucasus is still crashing
Attached Files
File Type: zip dcs.log-20200326-214432.zip (805.8 KB, 8 views)

Last edited by Hovis; 03-26-2020 at 08:53 PM.
Hovis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 09:26 PM   #7
Hovis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default

Solved!

Delete fxo and metashaders2 folders in the DCS saved games folder and all is well with the world
Hovis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 09:28 PM   #8
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 21,939
Default

Very odd, the track does not produce a crash for me, but it seems it crashes for you as soon as the mission loads?

Please see my guide below for crash advice it may help.

Is you gpu overclocked either by you or factory overclocked?

thanks
__________________
BIGNEWY
Community Manager Eagle Dynamics
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, Intel® i9-10900K 3.70GHz, 5.30GHz Turbo, Corsair Hydro Series H150i Pro, 32GB DDR @3000, ASUS ROG Strix Z490-F Gaming, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos

BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 09:29 PM   #9
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 21,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hovis View Post
Solved!

Delete fxo and metashaders2 folders in the DCS saved games folder and all is well with the world
Sniped,

good to hear
__________________
BIGNEWY
Community Manager Eagle Dynamics
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, Intel® i9-10900K 3.70GHz, 5.30GHz Turbo, Corsair Hydro Series H150i Pro, 32GB DDR @3000, ASUS ROG Strix Z490-F Gaming, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos

BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
caucasus, crash, crash access violation

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:06 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.