AIM-120C Inaccurate? - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2018, 08:20 AM   #21
Boberro
Veteran
 
Boberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ಠ_ಠ
Posts: 6,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by john9001 View Post
I have read that the aim 120 if launched without a lock will turn on it's own radar and start hunting.
It will start to hunt, whatever it's gonna see. Even your stepmother
In previous times people liked to fire R-27ET R-77 without lock. It was nice trick and Eagle drivers were angry
__________________
Reminder: Fighter pilots make movies. Bomber pilots make... HISTORY! | Also to be remembered: FRENCH TANKS HAVE ONE GEAR FORWARD AND FIVE BACKWARD
ಠ_ಠ
Boberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 11:00 AM   #22
draconus
DCS Ground Crew
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boberro View Post
It will start to hunt, whatever it's gonna see. Even your stepmother
It happened to me. I once shoot at a group of enemies and somewhere beyond them friendly eagle got hit. Although I'm pretty sure all AIM-120's were locked.
Quote:
In previous times people liked to fire R-27ET R-77 without lock. It was nice trick and Eagle drivers were angry
They still can do that with EOS, don't they?
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 11:18 AM   #23
Boberro
Veteran
 
Boberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ಠ_ಠ
Posts: 6,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by draconus View Post
They still can do that with EOS, don't they?
Not with T\ET anymore. Long time ago it was possible and widely used tactic where you released the missile 30 km (or further if on 12k km alt) from the enemy lol
You found him on radar, projected more-less its path (example toward you head to head), turned radar off and released ET.
Enemy thought that you don't lock him on radar and ET later acquired targed.
It was total fantasy as R-27E(T) are LOBL missiles.
Anyway, it was fun though Later as people saw "toilet paper" on the sky while having no waring on RWR and quite long distance, they suspected that ET is already flying to them, but they had to be more experienced pilots to notice such danger.
__________________
Reminder: Fighter pilots make movies. Bomber pilots make... HISTORY! | Also to be remembered: FRENCH TANKS HAVE ONE GEAR FORWARD AND FIVE BACKWARD
ಠ_ಠ

Last edited by Boberro; 02-05-2018 at 11:20 AM.
Boberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 12:16 PM   #24
draconus
DCS Ground Crew
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boberro View Post
Not with T\ET anymore.
So they have to paint me with the radar (so I see RWR spike) but I won't get any launch/missile warning, right? What about R-73? It's LOBL too.
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 02:42 PM   #25
Boberro
Veteran
 
Boberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ಠ_ಠ
Posts: 6,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by draconus View Post
So they have to paint me with the radar (so I see RWR spike) but I won't get any launch/missile warning, right? What about R-73? It's LOBL too.
They will use radar or EOS to lock on you. Radar is better because of more information but you will see it on your RWR. If they use simpler EOS then you see nothing.

R-27ET has same IR head as R-73. Both have to get lock before launch, otherwise short after the head of the missile would be broken.
So effective ET range has been decreased because of more realistic behaviour. No more maddog IR missiles

You can fire IR in manual mode without lock, but it doesn't guarantee success, surely not for long or middle ranges.
__________________
Reminder: Fighter pilots make movies. Bomber pilots make... HISTORY! | Also to be remembered: FRENCH TANKS HAVE ONE GEAR FORWARD AND FIVE BACKWARD
ಠ_ಠ
Boberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 06:48 AM   #26
draconus
DCS Ground Crew
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boberro View Post
They will use radar or EOS to lock on you.
Didn't I just said that? "They still can do that with EOS, don't they?" - and, yes, I meant locking with EOS.
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 06:00 PM   #27
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 4,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by draconus View Post
Didn't I just said that? "They still can do that with EOS, don't they?" - and, yes, I meant locking with EOS.
His point at the time, though, was that in the past you could launch it without a lock of any sort (either radar or EOS) and still get a kill.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 09:20 PM   #28
draconus
DCS Ground Crew
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironhand View Post
His point at the time, though, was that in the past you could launch it without a lock of any sort (either radar or EOS) and still get a kill.
Yeah, I get it, but my point was that Eagle drivers are still mad for those no-warning-heaters
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2018, 02:35 AM   #29
RShackleford
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 161
Default

The range on both the AMRAAM and R-27ER are both highly inaccurate in DCS. Kinda hard for ED to get realistic info on either, but range should be much higher on both. DCS missile mod fixes it a lot but since it doesn't fix the trajectories that the missiles actually take, you won't be able to max perform either missile. Real life F-15Cs can "fox 3 short" on targets 2-3 times the range that DCS shows you max range on a non-maneuvering target, but the drag models on missiles in DCS just stop anything like that from happening.

Against experienced DCS pilots, you just do one shot of BVR to hopefully make the enemy maneuver and you go straight towards WVR, rather than the real life 2-3 leaves of launch and leave until you go BANZAI and launch and decide if it comes to that.

In public servers you'll still have success by shooting a few AMRAAMs in ~5 second intervals in a crank then flowing cold right away. Can try to go hot after that but there's a decent likelihood of getting shot down by someone you don't see. There's a lot of good DCS pilots who will sneak up on you through the mountains, which can make it fun.

Guns only in DCS is still the most fun
RShackleford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2018, 05:32 AM   #30
Drag80
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Islamabad
Posts: 403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teriander View Post
Is it just me or is the range of the AIM-120C on the F-15 highly inaccurate? Meaning the range is about half on this game than in real life.

For example if a Mig is heading straight for the F-15, the AIM-120C isn't ready to launch until about 15nm from the target. If the target is flying in another direction or running, then the launch range is about 10nm or even less.

According to the U.S. airforce and Raytheon, the AIM-120 has a range to about 20-30nm. That's well within an engagement range. But this game doesn't allow you to engage until the target is less than 20nm flying straight towards you.

Why is that? Is the game's missile range inaccurate? It's called a BVR (Beyond Visual Range) weapon, but this game almost waits till you can see the target before you can use the AIM-120C.

Would love any feedback on this.
No hard feelings but can I ask something ? How do u know how the 120C performs in real life? It has not seen much of real life air combat or has it?. Specifications are one thing and real life variables are another. I dont think any missile can hit its target beyong 20nm in real life. 20nm is a lot of distance. 36 Kms. Its way beyond visual range.

EDIT : In real life combat, only 18 missiles have been fired out of which 11 have hit their target which gives us a kill probability of 60%. I think that pretty much matches DCS.

Last edited by Drag80; 02-26-2018 at 05:48 AM.
Drag80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aim-120c, f-15

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:06 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.