TM Cougar throttle to USB - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2020, 08:53 PM   #1
Lentaro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Norway
Posts: 12
Question TM Cougar throttle to USB

Hi guys. I've searched the forum but couldn't find the answer to my questions.

So I've started following this guide (https://pit.uriba.org/uriba/standalo...ar-tqs-part-i/) to get my old TM Cougar from DB15 to USB using an Arduino Leonard instead of an Pro-Micro.

I've followed the wiring as shown in the guide, except I have used pin A4 instead of the external ADC.
The problem is the uploading of the firmware to the arduino. The README files states the following (located here https://github.com/uriba107/32u4_hex...es/tag/v1912):
HTML Code:
Allow to upload code both to Serial enabled boards (that have an exposed COM port), or devices in other modes (not Com port visible.

to upload to visible device, select it's COM port from the drop down list. and click upload. for a Non visible device, select the proper option and click upload. then reset the device to Bootloader mode (usually "double click" on the devices Reset button.

the program will identify device's bootloader and will upload the selected HEX file.
When I open the Hexloader program, the arduino COM port is not shown and when I set the arduino in bootloader mode (connecting RESET and GND twice) and uploades using the HID alternative, is states: No device found.
I can see the Arduino listed in the device manager. Also tried to run the "upload_code.bat" file but it failed since there wasn't any hex file with the correct name.
Lentaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 10:52 PM   #2
Sokol1_br
Veteran
 
Sokol1_br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,905
Send a message via MSN to Sokol1_br
Default

Not answering you question, but since Arduino Leonardo is based on ATMEGA32u4 chipset, why don't flash with MMjoy2 firmware?
Since Cougar TQS is wired in diode matrix, is just set this matrix in MMjoySetup and easy to connect TQS wires in Leonardo board without any internal modification in TQS.

With the plus that eventually you can upgrade throttle axis with TLE5010 contacless sensor in digital mode, what is supported by MMjoy2 Firmware.

Last edited by Sokol1_br; 04-30-2020 at 01:03 AM.
Sokol1_br is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 06:02 AM   #3
Lentaro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Norway
Posts: 12
Default

I also looked at MMjoy2 but I couldn't quite figure out to use the program with the TM TQS. Also how I should code the arduino. If you got some tips I'd love to here them.
Lentaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 11:29 AM   #4
tugais
Member
 
tugais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 118
Default

For those, like me, that does not have the skills to modify their TQS, they can have a go for the TUSBA from Real Simulator. Works like a charm.
__________________
3rd Wing | 4/33 Vexin * VK-94
A furore Normannorum, libera nos Domine
tugais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 11:45 AM   #5
questerymj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 69
Default

I will suggest you to use a BU0836A to modify the TQS. I'd successful modified one and keep using it until now, if you need more detail I guess I can show you.
questerymj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2020, 01:19 AM   #6
Sokol1_br
Veteran
 
Sokol1_br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,905
Send a message via MSN to Sokol1_br
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lentaro View Post
I also looked at MMjoy2 but I couldn't quite figure out to use the program with the TM TQS.
Ok, but use MMJoy2 firmware is easy way to to, seems more than the way in the site you link above.

1- Flash Arduino firmware with MMJoy2 firmware.
2- Connect TQS wires in Arduino in this way:


In the picture the guy made a external adapter using Arduino PRO Micro, but you can place the board inside TQS case, and connections in Leonardo is similar, the good of MMjoy2 firmware is that you define pins in MMJoySetup in graphical interface.

3-Define in MMjoySetup what pins are used for axes inputs, what for buttons matrix (TQS use a
3 rows x4 column matrix)

* Here an example with Arduino (PRO Micro) placed inside TQS case.
If whant revert TQS for original just unplug the 15 pins connector.


Last edited by Sokol1_br; 04-30-2020 at 01:26 AM.
Sokol1_br is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2020, 07:12 AM   #7
Lentaro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Norway
Posts: 12
Default

This is what I'm going for Sokol1_br, but apparently I'm sort of an idiot when it comes to the use of the MMjoy2 software. I get some data inputs from the throttle but the rawdata is 0 - 7 so I'm not sure what to have in the calibration fields.

I posted the same question on simHQ. https://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.p...y2#Post4518724
Lentaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cougar, throttle, usb

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:20 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.