TWCS Throttle- Z rotation problems - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2019, 11:26 PM   #1
neetz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Estonia
Posts: 25
Question TWCS Throttle- Z rotation problems

Hi all.
Lately, i assume from my extensive helicopter flying, the Z axis on the throttle (the rocker pedals on the back of the unit) has a twitch to one side (right). Im afraid that i have "over used" mine.

I think it can be few things:

a) The potentiometer is becoming tired.
b) The Spring that should center it is getting old.
c) Both of above

I would like to replace the potentiometer in it. Does anybody know, what type of pot they use inside that?

I have changed USB ports for debugging.
As the 'twitch' is getting worse, i dont want to set (any higher) deadzone, its getting silly.
And i dont want to get pedals, ive used with those and get the job done even in the UH1.

Or if you have a old TWCS throttle laying about with OK perormance on the Z axis and spring, i could consider buying it for spare parts.

Thank you.
__________________
Im so happy that I found DCS, the free time i might have had - gone
neetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 04:39 AM   #2
Sokol1_br
Veteran
 
Sokol1_br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,905
Send a message via MSN to Sokol1_br
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neetz View Post
I would like to replace the potentiometer in it. Does anybody know, what type of pot they use inside that?
Normally potentiometer is the culprit. Before replace try clean the old - inside, spray their case outside with contact cleaner is "placebo".

The model used is probable CTS series 251 - 251B12T104A2NB is used in twist of T.16000M.

https://br.mouser.com/datasheet/2/96/251-1147030.pdf
Sokol1_br is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 04:43 AM   #3
backspace340
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1,180
Default

I've had two TWCS throttles so far and both have had the same thing - looks like the sensors in the paddles are just trash.
backspace340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 09:13 AM   #4
neetz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Estonia
Posts: 25
Default

yeah, well, today the slew axis died as well. will keep the old one for tinkering and trying to upgrade but just to keep me flying, i ordered a new one :/
Thank you for the replys.
__________________
Im so happy that I found DCS, the free time i might have had - gone
neetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 09:43 PM   #5
slickdevel
Junior Member
 
slickdevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 45
Default

Today my Z axis began giving me rudder inputs that I was not making. Only 3-4 months old, unbelievable!
slickdevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 09:56 PM   #6
erniedaoage
Member
 
erniedaoage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Vienna
Posts: 190
Default

I got the same problem, but i use the rocker for zoom. Usually WD40 gets rid of it for a couple of days. You can try to clean it or get a better/more durable pot instead.
__________________
WIN7 //I7-4790K // ASUS MAXIMUS RANGER VII // 16GB G.Skill DDR3 1866 // PALIT SUPERJETSTREAM 1080 // SSD // TM T-16000 FCS FLIGHT PACK // MS FFB2 // JETSEAT TURBOJET // TRACKHAT CLIP PLUS

A10C / AJS-37 / AV8B / BF109K4 / CA / F/A18C / F14 / F5EII / F86F / FC3 / FW190A8 / FW190D9 / KA50 / L39 / M2000C / MI8TV2 / MIG15BIS / MIG19P / MIG21BIS / P51D / SA342 / SPITFIRE / UH1H / NORMANDY / PERSIAN GULF / CHANNEL

Thrustmaster TWCS Afterburner Detent
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=223776
erniedaoage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
problem, throttle, twcs

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:40 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.