TMWH Throttle flickering LED’s - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2019, 08:19 PM   #1
mondaysoff
Member
 
mondaysoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kent UK
Posts: 199
Default TMWH Throttle flickering LED’s

Hi everyone, recently had my first major problem with my four year old TMWH throttle quadrant. Before I write off to Thrustmaster I thought I would put this out here in the hope there maybe an alternative solution.

On booting the computer one morning this week, I noticed that the all the LED’s started to flicker on the throttle panel, going into DCS surprise surprise, no throttle column in control menu, Windows game controller window no sign of throttle, Device Manager, driver error code 10, erhhh, Joystick is ok btw.

So I uninstalled all Thrustmaster stuff and re-downloaded new drivers and firmware and their instructions on how to install, unfortunately same outcome, got a joystick but no throttle. I don’t have the opportunity to use another computer to test, but I would assume that the driver for the Joystick is the same for the throttle, therefore possibly making my device bricked.

This happened to anyone else in the past?
Thanks for reading.
__________________
Modules NOT currently in my hanger

Yak 52/F-14 Tomcat/CE II/Mig-19/I-16/FW-A-8/JF-17/Supercarrier



My system:

Spoiler:
MSI Z97 Gaming 5 mobo
3.5 GHz Intel Core i5 4690k
H100i CPU Cooler
16 GB 1866 MHz DDR3 Hyper X Fury Red
MSI GTX980ti GPU
EVGA 850W PSU
Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD
128gb Plextor M.2 storage (Boot Drive)
Windows 10 X64 Professional
Acer XB281HK G-sync monitor
Trackir 5
MFG Crosswind pedals
T M Warthog Hotas

Last edited by mondaysoff; 04-25-2019 at 09:14 PM. Reason: Update
mondaysoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2019, 05:01 PM   #2
Quadg
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 670
Default

I used to get this quite often with my throttle. but after a while of flying.
a reboot of the pc always fixed it.
found out it was the USB bus being overloaded. so I unplugged half the stuff I was not using.

I since got VR and another USB card so I have split the load a lot more and don't see it anymore.

I actually think the culprit was my steering wheel.. which now remains unplugged when I'm flying.

so try unplugging all usb devices except the throttle and see if it works.
__________________
My Rig: i7 4930k 4.5Ghz, 16GB DDR3 2400, 2x SSD, EVGA 1080 Superclocked, Warthog Throttle and Stick, MFG Crosswinds, Oculus Rift.
Quadg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2019, 06:07 PM   #3
Tinkickef
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK - North Yorkshire
Posts: 834
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mondaysoff View Post
Hi everyone, recently had my first major problem with my four year old TMWH throttle quadrant. Before I write off to Thrustmaster I thought I would put this out here in the hope there maybe an alternative solution.

On booting the computer one morning this week, I noticed that the all the LED’s started to flicker on the throttle panel, going into DCS surprise surprise, no throttle column in control menu, Windows game controller window no sign of throttle, Device Manager, driver error code 10, erhhh, Joystick is ok btw.

So I uninstalled all Thrustmaster stuff and re-downloaded new drivers and firmware and their instructions on how to install, unfortunately same outcome, got a joystick but no throttle. I don’t have the opportunity to use another computer to test, but I would assume that the driver for the Joystick is the same for the throttle, therefore possibly making my device bricked.

This happened to anyone else in the past?
Thanks for reading.
Try running it off a self powered usb hub. It made a big difference in reliability when I bought one to run the hotas from.
__________________
System spec: i9 9900K, Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Ultra motherboard, 32Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200 RAM, Corsair M.2 NVMe 1Tb Boot SSD. Seagate 1Tb Hybrid mass storage SSD. ASUS RTX2080TI Dual OC, Thermaltake Flo Riing 360mm water pumper, EVGA 850G3 PSU. HP Reverb, TM Warthog, Crosswind pedals, Buttkicker Gamer 2.

Last edited by Tinkickef; 04-12-2019 at 06:10 PM.
Tinkickef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2019, 07:23 PM   #4
Dudikoff
Senior Member
 
Dudikoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Croatia / Lebanon
Posts: 2,567
Default

I concur. I have a USB 2.0 hub (which supposedly works more reliably with these controllers) and when I plug the two Cougar MFD's, the pedals and the TM Cougar plus Warthog Throttle, sometimes I'd get the same flickering problem or the Throttle would disconnect during the sim. Plugging in the hub's power supply made it much more stable.
__________________
i386DX40@42 MHz w/i387 CP, 4 MB RAM (8*512 kB), Trident 8900C 1 MB w/16-bit RAMDAC ISA, Quantum 340 MB UDMA33, SB 16, DOS 6.22 w/QEMM + Win3.11CE, Quickshot 1btn 2axis, Numpad as hat. 2 FPH on a good day, 1 FPH avg.

DISCLAIMER: My posts are still absolutely useless. Just finding excuses not to learn the F-14 (HB's Swansong?).

Annoyed by my posts? Please consider donating. Once the target sum is reached, I'll be off to somewhere nice I promise not to post from. I'd buy that for a dollar!
Dudikoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 02:23 PM   #5
mondaysoff
Member
 
mondaysoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kent UK
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinkickef View Post
Try running it off a self powered usb hub. It made a big difference in reliability when I bought one to run the hotas from.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadg View Post
I used to get this quite often with my throttle. but after a while of flying.
a reboot of the pc always fixed it.
found out it was the USB bus being overloaded.

so try unplugging all usb devices except the throttle and see if it works.
Thanks guys for the suggestions. I actually run the Joystick and throttle from a powered USB extension as I have done for 4 years, with all other devices connected as well, Mouse/keyboard, trackir, rudder pedals, so with all unplugged except the throttle, still no joy, whatever port it is plugged into Windows detects it, sometimes the lights on the throttle panel come on and sometimes they don’t but no new entries in the Game Controller and still getting driver error code 10. with a clean install of latest driver.

I have lost count of the amount of times I have restarted this machine. I could try a brand new USB hub, but if everything else works through it, this to me still points to a semi dead device. I do have an iMac 27” but no really willing to setup BootCamp to test one device.
__________________
Modules NOT currently in my hanger

Yak 52/F-14 Tomcat/CE II/Mig-19/I-16/FW-A-8/JF-17/Supercarrier



My system:

Spoiler:
MSI Z97 Gaming 5 mobo
3.5 GHz Intel Core i5 4690k
H100i CPU Cooler
16 GB 1866 MHz DDR3 Hyper X Fury Red
MSI GTX980ti GPU
EVGA 850W PSU
Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD
128gb Plextor M.2 storage (Boot Drive)
Windows 10 X64 Professional
Acer XB281HK G-sync monitor
Trackir 5
MFG Crosswind pedals
T M Warthog Hotas
mondaysoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 09:15 PM   #6
mondaysoff
Member
 
mondaysoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kent UK
Posts: 199
Default Update

So contacted Thrustmaster support, they were very quick to respond, based on what I told them a new PCB is required. All payed for and delivered in under a week. New board arrived, but with no instructions, anybody got any tips about replacing this? never opened one of these before.
__________________
Modules NOT currently in my hanger

Yak 52/F-14 Tomcat/CE II/Mig-19/I-16/FW-A-8/JF-17/Supercarrier



My system:

Spoiler:
MSI Z97 Gaming 5 mobo
3.5 GHz Intel Core i5 4690k
H100i CPU Cooler
16 GB 1866 MHz DDR3 Hyper X Fury Red
MSI GTX980ti GPU
EVGA 850W PSU
Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD
128gb Plextor M.2 storage (Boot Drive)
Windows 10 X64 Professional
Acer XB281HK G-sync monitor
Trackir 5
MFG Crosswind pedals
T M Warthog Hotas
mondaysoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 02:29 AM   #7
Supmua
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mondaysoff View Post
So contacted Thrustmaster support, they were very quick to respond, based on what I told them a new PCB is required. All payed for and delivered in under a week. New board arrived, but with no instructions, anybody got any tips about replacing this? never opened one of these before.


Open the bottom plate and see for yourself, then you’ll know what to do. It is very straight forward and took me few mins top.
__________________
PC: 9900K/2080Ti, 32GB RAM.
Joystick bases: TMWx2, VPC WarBRD, VKB GFII, FSSB R3L
Joystick grips: TMW, TM F/A-18, F-16SGRH, Kosmosima LH, MCG, MCG Pro, MongoosT50-CM2
Throttles: TMWx2, Winwing Super Taurus, Logitech Throttle Quadrant
VR: HTC Vive/Pro/Oculus Rift/Valve Index.
Supmua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 07:43 PM   #8
-0303-
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 408
Default

I opened mine once and found this. Connectors sealed with something. Is that hot glue?
Here's a thread with throttle inside pics.


Last edited by -0303-; 04-28-2019 at 07:49 PM.
-0303- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error code 10, thrustmaster, tmwh

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:10 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.