Having trouble locking air targets

sirrah

I know this matter has been discussed here earlier, but I can't find the thread (probably because of an incorrect search term)

I'm quite new to air to air combat (mainly focused on A/G until now) and still at the lower end of the learning curve, so take it easy on me :P

Most of the time I'm having a really hard time locking up air targets. I can see them due to D/L image from allied aircraft, but nine out of ten I just can't detect them with my own radar. I watched several YT tutorials and re-checked chucks guide, but I never see anyone on YT having this issue.

I'm having this problem on almost every mission I try, but Operation Snowfox might be a good example of where I'm having troubles (nothing negative about this mission though. Surrexen did an awesome job and it's just my incompetence why I'm having troubles)

Here's what I do:

• Go to A/A mode (don't touch default radar settings on right DDI)
  • Activate D/L on UFC
  • Activate RWR
  • Activate SA page on lower MFD (forgot correct name)
  • Activate Friendly ID and RWR ID sensors on SA page

By default LTWS is activated on my right DDI and I see multiple enemy air targets. Most, if not all of them being detected by friendly aircraft

• I ask AWACS for bogey dope, and turn the nose of my aircraft directly towards it (at this point I already see the contact because of D/L)
  • Set radar range according AWACS instructions
  • Set antenna elevation to match AWACS instructions and make sure I'm at correct bar search (sorry, again not sure about the correct terminology :P)
  • Set scan width to 40 or 60 degrees so I'm sure it should detect the target.

Yet, at least 90% of the times, I still can't lock it.

Is this really due to the enemy jamming my radar? Is jamming so powerful? Is there a work around?

Or, which is probably the case, am I doing something wrong?

Edited by sirrah

System specs: