RWR after recent updates. - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2019, 07:34 AM   #1
padonis
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 196
Default RWR after recent updates.

After recent updates, RWR has different symbols than before. Many different threats, radars are shown as "S".
The "P-19" radar previously shown as "FF" is now shown as "S". Radar Nevy "S-125" previously shown as "LB" is now shown as "3".
RWR in F-18 begins to bother more than help.
What are the changes resulting from? Will it be corrected?
padonis is offline  
Old 06-15-2019, 10:47 AM   #2
EcceHomo+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 251
Default

This may mean updating the RWR database, which is not necessarily true.
EcceHomo is offline  
Old 06-15-2019, 10:49 AM   #3
AvroLanc
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padonis View Post
After recent updates, RWR has different symbols than before. Many different threats, radars are shown as "S".
The "P-19" radar previously shown as "FF" is now shown as "S". Radar Nevy "S-125" previously shown as "LB" is now shown as "3".
RWR in F-18 begins to bother more than help.
What are the changes resulting from? Will it be corrected?
The old symbols were wrong. LB now shows correctly as '3'. FS as '2' etc.

The jury's still out as to whether the ring/band behavior is correct or not, or whether ED plans to change.
AvroLanc is offline  
Old 06-15-2019, 11:10 AM   #4
SMN
Member
 
SMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Russia Pyatigorsk
Posts: 522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AvroLanc View Post
The old symbols were wrong. LB now shows correctly as '3'. FS as '2' etc.
What about this old symbol - FF(P19), BB(6N6E S300), CS(5N66M S300), SD ("Tube Arm" BUK), S6 (Tunguska)..... ? How now are shown correctly?
__________________
Окурок, выброшенный в урну, гораздо патриотичнее флажочка на автомобиле
DCS A-10C, FA-18C/TM Watrhog HOTAS stick+ VPC MongoosT-50Base+CH Pro Pedals+VPC TMW Extension 100mm/ TM Watrhog Throttle/ 2-VPC Deck Mount/ TrackIR 5/.
SMN is offline  
Old 06-15-2019, 12:59 PM   #5
padonis
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 196
Default

The problem is that under the symbol "S" you will now find "SR P-19", "SA 11 BUK", "SA 10 S-300" and several other types of radars.

Last edited by padonis; 06-15-2019 at 02:51 PM.
padonis is offline  
Old 06-15-2019, 06:47 PM   #6
al531246+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 396
Default

Go into the DCS root folder then to Scripts\Aircrafts\_Common\Cockpit and open AN_ALR_SymbolsBase.lua with Notepad++. Customize the RWR symbology yourself, the default symbology has long been incorrect in DCS World.
__________________
[spoiler=PC SPECS]
Intel i5-3570k @3.40GHz
EVGA GTX 970 4GB
Windows 10
Asus P8H61-MX MoBo
8GB RAM
250 GB Samsung 850 SSD
2TB Seagate SSHD
Some cool LED fans that light up
[/spoiler]
al531246 is offline  
Old 06-15-2019, 06:58 PM   #7
Wags
ED Team
 
Wags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 11,120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padonis View Post
The problem is that under the symbol "S" you will now find "SR P-19", "SA 11 BUK", "SA 10 S-300" and several other types of radars.
This is correct based on available information. All search/acquisition radars are simply displayed as "S".

Thanks
Wags is offline  
Old 06-17-2019, 12:44 PM   #8
Harker
Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wags View Post
This is correct based on available information. All search/acquisition radars are simply displayed as "S".

Thanks
So unless you had intel on it, that S could be an SA-2 search radar or an SA-10 search radar. That's not a fun thought...
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k @4.9GHz, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra @2130MHz, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Warthog w/extension, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip, Win10 x64 Home|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline  
Old 06-17-2019, 01:47 PM   #9
padonis
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 196
Default

Or SA 11, in one word you do not know what threatens you. It's hard for me to believe that the pilot will not be informed of the exact danger ... Especially the A-10C pilot who can not save himself
fast escape.
padonis is offline  
Old 06-17-2019, 03:02 PM   #10
Harker
Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padonis View Post
Or SA 11, in one word you do not know what threatens you. It's hard for me to believe that the pilot will not be informed of the exact danger ... Especially the A-10C pilot who can not save himself
fast escape.
This affects the A-10C as well? I use the RAE mod (highly recommend it), so I didn't notice that.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k @4.9GHz, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra @2130MHz, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Warthog w/extension, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip, Win10 x64 Home|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:58 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.