Yet another few ME beginner questions - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2019, 07:46 AM   #1
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 659
Default Yet another few ME beginner questions

Can someone explain to me if it's possible/how to do the following (without scripting):
  1. If I place ramp start AI aircraft and set start time, they are invisible until the set time. Then they suddenly spawn out of nowhere and start their engines. How do I make them visible before their start time?
  2. Is is possible to make taxiing AI hold at certain points (wait for each other near active runway)?
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 16gb DDR4 - Oculus Rift cv1 - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 09:39 AM   #2
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 4,818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
Can someone explain to me if it's possible/how to do the following (without scripting):

- If I place ramp start AI aircraft and set start time, they are invisible until the set time. Then they suddenly spawn out of nowhere and start their engines. How do I make them visible before their start time?
I havent tried it, but maybe You can place a static aircraft of the same model and skin over the same spot and remove it just before the set time, not sure if you may need a script sentence for the removal.

Quote:
- Is is possible to make taxiing AI hold at certain points (wait for each other near active runway)?
You can place a unit on the taxiway, to hold them, I once wanted to prevent my wingmen from taking off before I did ... like this:



This was a test, actually even a single infantry will do the same and it is less intrusive
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 10:03 AM   #3
Yoda967
Member
 
Yoda967's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: London, UK
Posts: 196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
Can someone explain to me if it's possible/how to do the following (without scripting):
  1. If I place ramp start AI aircraft and set start time, they are invisible until the set time. Then they suddenly spawn out of nowhere and start their engines. How do I make them visible before their start time?
  2. Is is possible to make taxiing AI hold at certain points (wait for each other near active runway)?
The first one is easy: When setting up the AI aircraft, mark the check box for "UNCONTROLLED", then add a triggered action to start the AI aircraft.
__________________
Very Respectfully,
Kurt "Yoda" Kalbfleisch
London
Yoda967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 10:22 AM   #4
dark_wood
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Romania
Posts: 112
Default

For point 1, take a look here: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=190880#5
dark_wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 12:37 PM   #5
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 659
Default

Thanks guys!

All very helpful


Good idea to place an obstruction on the taxiway to simulate hold before takeoff. Now to find an item that is big enough for them to stop taxiing, yet as discrete as possible
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 16gb DDR4 - Oculus Rift cv1 - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 01:07 PM   #6
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 4,818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post

Good idea to place an obstruction on the taxiway to simulate hold before takeoff. Now to find an item that is big enough for them to stop taxiing, yet as discrete as possible
A single infantry will do ... if you use Suntsag’s NATO Soldier Mod then you can use a maintenance guy in that place
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 06:14 PM   #7
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 659
Default

Is it also possible to spawn and despawn a static object using triggers?

I know how to do this with units, but static objects don't have the "late activation" option

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
A single infantry will do ... if you use Suntsag’s NATO Soldier Mod then you can use a maintenance guy in that place
I wish to use a tire static object for this (small item which, when smartly placed, is less visible)
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 16gb DDR4 - Oculus Rift cv1 - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:26 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.