LABELs SYSTEM - Not really helping, IMO - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2018, 07:48 AM   #11
philstyle
Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
A monotone/colour option for the dot/symbol. So instead of the red or blue that give away what side the dot is, a black/grey option for all, makes more sense, so you can spot a target, but like RL, you have to get up on it to ID it (least older era fights).
Yes. Agreed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
Control, who has control of what is seen. in MP the Server should have 100% control, and either allow or not allow users to use or pick their label type.
Exactly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
Control part 2, ME/Server should have control over when a dot is used, so say you can have only aircraft labels, but not weapons or not ground units (or whatever combo you want).
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
The 4K/VR angle... work still needs to be done on how the labels scale/change when in VR or 4k. 4K/VR dots are too much for standard resolutions, but standard res dots are not enough for 4K/VR.
Indeed. 1440p resolution sits somewhere in the no-mans-land between these two. But it certainly is not as bad as it is for 4k/ VR players.


I would add one more thing,
That it might be possible to NOT have labels show through canopy etc...

---
Here is some code that has been used in labels.lua files on a few servers, it was developed (I understand) initially by Eekz who runs the Burning Skies WW2 server.
This code has quite nice dot labeling for AIRCRAFT.
It works well with respect to semi-realistic spotting range, provides good levels of transparency to make distant dots blend out into the background AND it also puts the dots in the correct place relative to the aircraft model.


Code:
font_properties =  {"DejaVuLGCSans.ttf", 15, 0, 0, 0}
AirFormat = {
--[distance]	= {format , alignment,color_blending_k,opacity,shift_pixels_x, shift_in_pixels_y}
[500]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.0, 0, -5},
[600]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.02, 0, -5},
[700]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.05, 0, -5},
[800]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.08, 0, -5},
[900]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.09, 0, -5},
[1000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.15, 0, -5},
[1100]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.2, 0, -5},
[1200]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.28, 0, -5},
[1300]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.3, 0, -5},
[1400]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.3, 0, -5},
[1500]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.3, 0, -5},
[1600]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.3, 0, -5},
[1700]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.35, 0, -5},
[1800]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.35, 0, -5},
[1900]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.4, 0, -5},
[2000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.4, 0, -5},
[3000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.45, 0, -5},
[4000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.45, 0, -5},
[5000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.45, 0, -5},
[6000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.45, 0, -5},
[7000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.4, 0, -5},
[8000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.35, 0, -5},
[9000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.3, 0, -5},
[10000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.25, 0, -5},
[11000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.2, 0, -5},
[12000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.1, 0, -5},
[13000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.1, 0, -5},
[14000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.08, 0, -5},
[15000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.05, 0, -5},
[16000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0.03, 0, -5},
[17000]	= {"˙","CenterCenter",1, 0, 0, -5},
[80000]	= {"","CenterCenter",1, 1, 0, -5},
}

Last edited by philstyle; 09-14-2018 at 10:27 AM.
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 07:55 AM   #12
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
The 4K/VR angle... work still needs to be done on how the labels scale/change when in VR or 4k. 4K/VR dots are too much for standard resolutions, but standard res dots are not enough for 4K/VR.
The thing is, 4K and VR dots and text size in labels (or menu text size, FPS counter text size) require different sizes to each other.
I run DCS mainly in VR, but when I am learning a module (or need outside world communications), I run it in 4K.
Now, for each of these scenarios, I have to enable/disable different mods to adjust the size of the fore-mentioned text sizes appropriately for the 2 scenarios.
It would be so nice not to have to do this.
__________________
Intel i7 8700 4.8GHz · EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 500Gb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · TM Pedals · Oculus Rift
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 09:03 AM   #13
JokerMan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: EU
Posts: 51
Default

I am encouraged by NineLine's response in this thread and I look forward to the implementation of the solution by the engineering team at ED.

It cannot be stated enough, that this is a critical path item for many who wish to fly without text labels on and try to recreate engagement scenarios with high fidelity and realism aspects. This is true for both the single player and multiplayer scenarios of course.

The community built label mod (solely aimed at addressing the 'contact spotting' aspect) has been until now, a must have. It is especially critical flying in any dog-fighting type engagement be it WW2 and Korean to name two obvious scenarios.

Post #6 seems to capture the essense of the need and communicates that the issue is understood.

It now remains to be implemented into the game and again, I add my voice and ask for this feature to be ranked as a top priority for this beta release.

I appreciate there is a full schedule for this beta already, howeever, it cannot be unestimated just how much this particular issue undermines the experience for so many.

S!
JokerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 02:20 PM   #14
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 8,849
Default

Two suggestion.
1) I think a very important option would be to allow the MP server to enforce(!) it's labels.lua.
It would ensure that the mission appearance can be consistent for all participants.

2) I love the option to set the labels to a simple dark "dot", yet currently it still requires heavy adjustment to the dot-symbol, its color, blending, blurr etc. to realize a basic dark round dot and make sure it does not stick out from the sky like a sore thumb.

For No. 2 the communities adjusted labels.lua give a very good impression of what the default "dot" setting should look like. Eekz and Philstyle already showcase very good and non-intrusive adaptions of the system.
I am currently tweak around with a version merged from two label mods and the new lua. One thing that is particular great is the blurr you can add to the font. That helps merge the dot with the background.

From my point of view if there is a need for a red ^ or a blue ~ that should be a separate option.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom build extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC and an AHCP | Oculus Rift & controller
shagrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 05:13 PM   #15
philstyle
Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 822
Default

Today's update mentioned labels.
The english is bad so I can't work out exactly what is supposed to have changed.

The DOT is now no longer a "^", but has become a "-". The "DOT ONLY" option still has coloured red/ blue labels.

I'm trying to force server settings with a labels.lua inside the mission archive, but no luck so far.
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 05:29 PM   #16
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 22,427
Default

I am trying to report the issue with server settings not being enforced. From what I hear its old missions, so I am hoping the hotfix helps that so let me know.

Not sure why the symbol changed on the labels, but I am talking to the devs about all things labels right now.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 06:40 PM   #17
philstyle
Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
I am trying to report the issue with server settings not being enforced. From what I hear its old missions, so I am hoping the hotfix helps that so let me know.

Not sure why the symbol changed on the labels, but I am talking to the devs about all things labels right now.
OK thanks.
I'm planning to do some more testing over the next 2 days. If I find anyting interesting I will provide notes here.
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 09:01 PM   #18
philstyle
Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 822
Default

Some further test results.



This image shows that the in-mission labels setting is at the top of the heirarchy now, with respect to what any client sees when joining a multiplayer server. This is good.

However, on the down side, placing a custom labels.lua (i.e. the labels mod) in the mission archive does NOT force on any clients any more. Only the in-mission setting is force.
This is not good.

If there is something we need to do to get custom labels working again in multiplayer, can ED please let us know?
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 04:24 AM   #19
birdstrike
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 131
Default

most important improvement to the labels system would be to have the view on them obstructed by the parts of your aircraft. they should vanish behind any surface which is not canopy glass imo.

Last edited by birdstrike; 09-19-2018 at 04:27 AM.
birdstrike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 04:34 AM   #20
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 22,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by birdstrike View Post
most important improvement to the labels system would be to make them be obstructed by the parts of your aircraft. they should vanish behind any surface which is not glass imo.
I've requested it, but dont know what is involved, I asked for an option to switch it on and off.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
labels, mods, visibility

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:09 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.