Uncontrolled option for multiplayer aircraft - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2018, 07:29 AM   #1
Furia
Veteran
 
Furia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 930
Default Uncontrolled option for multiplayer aircraft

Hi all.

Does anyone know if there would be possible to use the „option“ or „concept“ of having playable aircraft parked empty with no pilot on the ramp until a human player select that aircraft in the multiplayer lobby and jumps into it?
Something similar to what happens with AI when we set the aircraft as „uncontrolled“ and then create the contidion to become controllable or active and the AI pilot just spawns in and start up engines.
My idea is to be able to have visible and parked over the designated parking slots all „playable“ aircraft and before a pilot can jump on it in multiplyer,

Funny thing is that the „uncontrollable“ options is available for player or client aircraft but when I create an aircraft with that option and I select this aircraft during a multiplayer session, I can only see the aircraft from outside.

This feature would be specially great in carriers or other congested airports and would be even interesting to allow that aircraft to be destrioyed by the enemy on the ground unoccupied.

I have not seen any condition on the ME that „detects“ when a human pilot tries to jump in an specific airframe

Does anyone have any idea if this would be doable and we can have client aricraft visually parked on the ramp befire a human pilot takes over?

Thank!!
__________________
http://menorca.infotelecom.es/~raulurbina/ESA/banner_furia.png
Furia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 05:20 AM   #2
Furia
Veteran
 
Furia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 930
Default

I must assume for the lack of answer that this is simply not possible and there is no way around.
A pity since it would be a quite useful feature. Hoepfully we may have this available in the future.
__________________
http://menorca.infotelecom.es/~raulurbina/ESA/banner_furia.png
Furia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 05:38 PM   #3
moespeeds
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 140
Default

I asked this same thing a week ago. Seems the only way is to put a static aircraft on the spot that disappears when a human takes that slot.
__________________
Moe "Moespeeds" Colontonio
NJ, USA
vVMA 231
http://www.vvma-231.com/
Looking for a serious Harrier or F18 Squadron?
We are recruiting!
moespeeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 09:04 PM   #4
Furia
Veteran
 
Furia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 930
Default

Thanks. That sounds interesting but I have not seen any conditional element on the ME triggers that defines when an aircraft is human contriolled. How do you do that?
But what you proposse sounds very interesting.Did yoi managed to make it work?
__________________
http://menorca.infotelecom.es/~raulurbina/ESA/banner_furia.png
Furia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 10:30 PM   #5
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,127
Default

UNIT ALIVE. If the aircraft is a client slot, it will only register as "alive" when occupied by a player. Problem is, it will spawn inside of the static object and explode if they're in the exact same parking spot.
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 06:15 PM   #6
Furia
Veteran
 
Furia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 930
Default

Thanks!

Anway this is the kind of feature it should not take much effor for ED to implement and will add a nice inmersion and playability.
In in a mission we do have 10 slots of airplanes the scenario creator could chose to have thos aircraft to actually be seen on the ramp as parked aircraft before a human pilot jumps in.
This would populate air bases and ships and also will allow in som scenarios to destroy enemy asets if they are not being flown.
If this is working nicely with AI and the "uncontrolled function" I do not see whay it should not work with client aircraft as well.
__________________
http://menorca.infotelecom.es/~raulurbina/ESA/banner_furia.png
Furia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 07:37 PM   #7
discwalker
Senior Member
 
discwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,033
Default

Requested by me earlier:
DCS Wishlist » User skill uncontrolled group visible before start
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=220151
__________________
GTX 1070 8GB drv 436.30, 16GB DDR3, W8.1 on SSD, DCS on another SSD
discwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 09:15 PM   #8
Furia
Veteran
 
Furia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 930
Default

I have not seen it. Great!!
I fully support it!
__________________
http://menorca.infotelecom.es/~raulurbina/ESA/banner_furia.png
Furia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 08:45 PM   #9
Sandman1330
Member
 
Sandman1330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 969
Default

Sorry for the necro, but I'm trying to figure this out myself.

Is there a simple script that can be run to deactivate a static aircraft using the "unit alive" trigger?

Then I would use unit alive to trigger the script to remove the static. I've tried the only one available in the vanilla editor, which is unit explode, but that obviously blows up my newly occupied aircraft along with it...
__________________
Ryzen 9 3900X / Asus Crosshair VI Hero X370 / Corsair H110i / EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 / 32Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3200 / Samsung 960 Evo M.2 / Saitek X56 / Saitek Pro Combat pedals / Rift S
Sandman1330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 08:53 PM   #10
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 4,604
Default

Maybe this fits your case?

__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:41 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.