DCS Korea Theater - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2019, 08:55 PM   #31
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 3,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Falcon View Post
I prefer large enough to have some base on Japan
While I agree, the issue isn't really what "you prefer" its what is feasible to make.

For the simple reason that any war on the peninsula would need both north and south I'd like to see something with a bit more of the south as well. Most of the major US airbases aren't in the first "caucus" scale map.

The other issue is whether or not its a modern map, or a 50's era map. The size difference and infrastructure differences between the two are huge. For example Suwon in the 1950's was a separate city area, its own thing. Today its a suburb. I actually wonder if DCS could even render a big city like Seoul.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:59 PM   #32
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 3,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Falcon View Post
Well south korea is full of detail, the north not so much but the good thing is that we will also have the mig 23. In general DCS is good for being able to think of doing the theater korea.
Korea is literally the perfect theater for DCS.

1. Actual war in the 1950's
2. Credible military threat for the entire cold war
3. Major threat in post cold war era even up to the current day.
4. Hypothetical WW2 theater (ok, unlikely but if japan didn't surrender the Russians could have rolled in, or the US)

And NK generally speaking had near-peer hardware for at least most of the cold war and into the 90's.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).

Last edited by Harlikwin; 09-16-2019 at 09:11 PM.
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 09:55 PM   #33
AG-51_Razor
Senior Member
 
AG-51_Razor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,563
Default

I am curious, is it the area covered by the map, or the detail that is put down on it that is the limiting factor? I mean, if you look at the Persian Gulf map, they have included a tremendous amount of detail for the majority of the cities in the middle of the map, but absolutely nothing has been placed in areas such as Qatar, Kuwait, Bassra, Iran, or along the boarder between Iran and Pakistan. There is a lot of map there that is just flat land - or some that even has terrain relief - but no human infrastructure on it.

I would be in favor of a map such as has been posted by The Falcon and do with less detail but still have the land mass and ocean around it for carrier operations. That is basically what ED has done in the Caucus and Normandy as well. We have plenty of static objects with which to build suitable targets wherever we wish.
__________________
AG-51_Razor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 10:18 AM   #34
Ala13_ManOWar
Senior Member
 
Ala13_ManOWar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AG-51_Razor View Post
I would be in favor of a map such as has been posted by The Falcon and do with less detail but still have the land mass and ocean around it for carrier operations. That is basically what ED has done in the Caucus and Normandy as well. We have plenty of static objects with which to build suitable targets wherever we wish.
All the maps in DCS are done the same way, detailed area with objects and everything, less detailed area usually without objects except the British aerodromes in Normandy but might have elevation mesh, and even more terrain but just flat land. I don't understand what you mean about Caucasus, as it is exactly the same there.

If we some day get the Korea map (said to be planned by Belsimtek time ago) with current technology it'd be a bit big following devs words, but I guess it could perhaps be a mix between high and lower detailed areas so we don't loose any of the historical map areas.

Somebody said before it should have less China than depicted in the previous map, but during Korea war also targets in China were attacked IIRC, some of them beyond MiG alley, so that should be depicted either.


S!
__________________
"I went into the British Army believing that if you want peace you must prepare for war. I believe now that if you prepare for war, you get war." -- Major-General Frederick B. Maurice
Ala13_ManOWar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 03:37 PM   #35
AG-51_Razor
Senior Member
 
AG-51_Razor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,563
Default

Thanks for the response Ala13_ManOWar, I probably should have worded my statement better. I meant that ED made their Caucus map the same way they made Normandy, NTTR and the PG map. As you said, with great detail in some places and not so much elsewhere. The point of my question was, which was the determining factor for deciding on the size of a map, the X-Y dimensions of it or the amount of detail they placed in it? I'm not sure you answered the question but I appreciate the response.
__________________
AG-51_Razor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 03:56 PM   #36
Ala13_ManOWar
Senior Member
 
Ala13_ManOWar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AG-51_Razor View Post
Thanks for the response Ala13_ManOWar, I probably should have worded my statement better. I meant that ED made their Caucus map the same way they made Normandy, NTTR and the PG map. As you said, with great detail in some places and not so much elsewhere. The point of my question was, which was the determining factor for deciding on the size of a map, the X-Y dimensions of it or the amount of detail they placed in it? I'm not sure you answered the question but I appreciate the response.
Apparently factor is a realistic memory account. People at home doesn't feature usually 32+Gb of RAM, some do, most don't. There are even 8Gb guys out there yet, so biggest factor is making it playable to most people and most configurations possible while keeping a big detail in detailed area, remember it's detailed seen either from 80.000ft or at very ground level using Combined Arms.


I don't know if it's like that or not, but some people say the thing is currently maps are loaded almost entirely in memory so you don't see stutters which means loading, and that can be from very different rigs, from the oldest of mechanical devices to the most recent fastest m.3 SSD. That way only changes loading time from one rig to another but not the experience once loaded.


That's why also minimum requirements are raised from time to time, 8Gb is the minimum recommended right now, but for a bigger map it might be possible to raise the minimum to 16Gb and many problems would be solved. But then you have to compulsorily buy more memory in some cases while in others a whole new rig, which you can figure out what kind of nice words would get out of many users.



S!
__________________
"I went into the British Army believing that if you want peace you must prepare for war. I believe now that if you prepare for war, you get war." -- Major-General Frederick B. Maurice

Last edited by Ala13_ManOWar; 09-17-2019 at 03:59 PM.
Ala13_ManOWar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 05:26 PM   #37
Havremonster
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 422
Default

With a map like that we would need a f-8 crusader too.
Havremonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 08:53 PM   #38
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 3,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AG-51_Razor View Post
I am curious, is it the area covered by the map, or the detail that is put down on it that is the limiting factor? I mean, if you look at the Persian Gulf map, they have included a tremendous amount of detail for the majority of the cities in the middle of the map, but absolutely nothing has been placed in areas such as Qatar, Kuwait, Bassra, Iran, or along the boarder between Iran and Pakistan. There is a lot of map there that is just flat land - or some that even has terrain relief - but no human infrastructure on it.

I would be in favor of a map such as has been posted by The Falcon and do with less detail but still have the land mass and ocean around it for carrier operations. That is basically what ED has done in the Caucus and Normandy as well. We have plenty of static objects with which to build suitable targets wherever we wish.
Well go look at google earth, the Iran Paki border as an example is pretty desolate, as are large parts of the country. Korea, not so much as its one of the most densely populated places on earth with tons and tons of infrastructure. Yes it has some ag areas and definately hilly areas, but its got about an order of magnitude more people/sq mile (1302) there than Iran (132), and out of interest NK is 552/sqmi. Also most of the populated areas of iran aren't on the map (the north) which also skews things so I'd say its maybe half that number in the map region we have, mostly concentrated in coastal settlements.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).

Last edited by Harlikwin; 09-17-2019 at 09:05 PM.
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 10:56 PM   #39
Oceandar
Senior Member
 
Oceandar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Probably would make you smirking
Posts: 1,137
Default

+1 for Korean Map/Theater.
Another good reason is it would attract more (South) Korean gamers too. I heard Korean youngsters love gaming. Hope they also like simulation.

From wiki :
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vide...in_South_Korea
__________________
Mastering others is strength. Mastering yourself is true power. - Lao Tze
Oceandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:45 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.