How to get at Mach 2.0? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2020, 02:25 PM   #11
Quid
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadoware View Post
Yeah I was completely clean! How long did you take to reach mach 2.0?

The problem I see is that close to mach 1.9 and above the speed increase rate becomes so slow that I'm gonna run out of fuel long before reaching mac 2.0.

From the time I broke 1.0M to the time Tacview showed me reliably holding at 2.0M, it was 3 minutes 47 seconds. I dropped back below 2.0M at 5 minutes, 32 seconds after breaking 1.0M.
Quid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 02:28 PM   #12
falcon_120
Senior Member
 
falcon_120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Barcelona,Spain
Posts: 1,425
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Etirion View Post
Wow! Only 50%! So that means that those realistic simulators and the real F16 have a T/W of over 2:1, incredible!
XD. He supercruise at Mach 1.6 full of weapons in that simulator

Enviado desde mi ELE-L29 mediante Tapatalk
falcon_120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 10:50 PM   #13
Wolfox1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 13
Default

You guys know nothing about avionics. Sorry to tell you.

Im a former test pilot in R.A.S.

But if you think United States Air Force is planning to defend its borders against the russians overseas at 2,000NM With Aim-120 for 18NM.. Than sorry to bust your dream... it wont happen. Missiles reach far beyond this simulator. Its a matter of life and death. Aim-120D goes beyond 160NM... The first Aim-120A in early 80s was at 18-30NM.. I dunno why you keep calling it C... its A.

Last edited by Wolfox1; 08-02-2020 at 12:13 AM.
Wolfox1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 12:55 AM   #14
deadpool
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 362
Default

This is really not what we needed.
__________________
Deadpool, pilot of "a very accurate simulation of the F-16C Block 50 operated by the United States Air Force and Air National Guard circa 2007"

If you find yourself in a fair fight, your tactics suck.
― John Steinbeck
deadpool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 02:38 AM   #15
Quid
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfox1 View Post
You guys know nothing about avionics. Sorry to tell you.

Im a former test pilot in R.A.S.

But if you think United States Air Force is planning to defend its borders against the russians overseas at 2,000NM With Aim-120 for 18NM.. Than sorry to bust your dream... it wont happen. Missiles reach far beyond this simulator. Its a matter of life and death. Aim-120D goes beyond 160NM... The first Aim-120A in early 80s was at 18-30NM.. I dunno why you keep calling it C... its A.

Okay, trolling is one thing, but now you're moving towards Stolen Valor. I'd suggest stopping right there.



That said, this has gotten completely off topic. My hope is OP was able to figure out getting the jet above 2.0M. Any word?
Quid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 03:24 AM   #16
Thinder
Member
 
Thinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: London
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Etirion View Post
Wow! Only 50%! So that means that those realistic simulators and the real F16 have a T/W of over 2:1, incredible!

In your wildest dreams.

http://www.f-16.net/f-16_versions.html

Go there and try to find me a variant of the F-16 with a 2.1 TWR...

Max Mach is always computed in optimum conditions at best altitude and thrust settings, at combat weight a MLU have a TWR of 0.94.

Quote:
Specifications

Engine: One Pratt & Whitney F100-PW-220 turbofan, rated at 14,590 lb.s.t. dry and 23,770 lb.s.t. with afterburning.
Maximum speed: Mach 2.05 at 40,000 feet. Service ceiling 55,000 feet. Maximum range 2400 miles. Initial climb rate 62,000 feet per minute.
Dimensions: wingspan 32 feet 9 1/2 inches, length 49 feet 3 1/2 inches, height 16 feet 8 1/2 inches, wing area 300 square feet.
Weights: 16,285 pounds empty, 25,281 pounds combat, 37,500 pounds maximum takeoff.
__________________
MSI B450 GAMING PLUS MAX AMD Ryzen B450 ATX DDR4 Motherboard, Ryzen 3 3200G Quad-Core 4.0GHz, MSI AMD Radeon RX 5500 XT, 32GB Kit DDR4-3200, 22' Samsung, 8' Eyoyo display as radar repeater. Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS HOTAS.
Mirage 2000 D, F-15 C, A4E.
Avatar: Escadron de Chasse 3/3 Ardennes.

Last edited by Thinder; 08-02-2020 at 03:29 AM.
Thinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 03:45 AM   #17
GGTharos
Veteran
 
GGTharos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 30,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfox1 View Post
Yeah I've Tested the F-16 Engine,
No, you haven't.

Quote:
it's about 50% of the real engines...
No, it isn't.

Quote:
I fly the F-16s in realistic Simulators,
No, you don't.

Quote:
and I've never seen such a bad-performance engine for an F-16... I think they made it on purpose.
You haven't seen any engine performance for anything.

The F-16 performance graphs are available publicly. Show us exactly where your tests differ from the real life performance graphs. (aka, this is how we know you're either a troll or a fake).
__________________

Reminder: SAM = Speed Bump
I used to play flight sims like you, but then I took a slammer to the knee - Yoda
GGTharos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 03:35 PM   #18
GGTharos
Veteran
 
GGTharos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 30,136
Default

In which case, it is probably a good idea to check the mission's temperature settings. Higher temperature results in less performance.
__________________

Reminder: SAM = Speed Bump
I used to play flight sims like you, but then I took a slammer to the knee - Yoda
GGTharos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 05:27 PM   #19
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 4,364
Default

Aren't the F-16's "remove pylons" options simply cosmetic?
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 05:31 PM   #20
Quid
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frederf View Post
Aren't the F-16's "remove pylons" options simply cosmetic?
No, they actually have drag value.
Quid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:18 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.