How to get at Mach 2.0? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2020, 04:05 PM   #1
Shadoware
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Brazil
Posts: 197
Default How to get at Mach 2.0?

F-16 can reach mach 2.0 right?

I can only get there in a dive and no other way, it doesn't matter altitude or lack of payload or pylons!

Is that occurring because flight model is not accurate yet?
Shadoware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 04:27 PM   #2
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6,454
Default

I've already reached Mach 2.02 in a straight line with it.

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachmen...004_153850.png
razo+r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 06:47 PM   #3
Owl Dynamic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 35
Default

What altitude did you test this on and which speed did you read? Remember IAS or CAS is not the same as EAS or TAS or Mach number. Aeordynamic speeds are quite a deep and confusing topic.
Owl Dynamic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 09:03 PM   #4
Shadoware
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Brazil
Posts: 197
Default

I set the hud to TAS.

I tried at 20000 feet, 30000, 35000. 40000


The aircraft seem to stabilize at 1.94 or around this number.

I tried in PG map.
Shadoware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 05:36 AM   #5
Wolfox1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 13
Default

Yeah I've Tested the F-16 Engine, it's about 50% of the real engines... I fly the F-16s in realistic Simulators, and I've never seen such a bad-performance engine for an F-16... I think they made it on purpose.
Wolfox1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 05:45 AM   #6
Quid
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 110
Default

Are you flying it clean? The instant you hang rails on it, it's going to increase the drag and you'll wind up with a lower top speed. I hit 2.01M at about 35,800 feet ASL and held it for over a minute before throttling back with clean wings (wingtip rails) and the fuel tank rail on the belly no problem.
Quid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 12:06 PM   #7
Shadoware
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Brazil
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quid View Post
Are you flying it clean? The instant you hang rails on it, it's going to increase the drag and you'll wind up with a lower top speed. I hit 2.01M at about 35,800 feet ASL and held it for over a minute before throttling back with clean wings (wingtip rails) and the fuel tank rail on the belly no problem.

Yeah I was completely clean! How long did you take to reach mach 2.0?

The problem I see is that close to mach 1.9 and above the speed increase rate becomes so slow that I'm gonna run out of fuel long before reaching mac 2.0.

Last edited by Shadoware; 08-01-2020 at 01:09 PM.
Shadoware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 01:10 PM   #8
Shadoware
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Brazil
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfox1 View Post
Yeah I've Tested the F-16 Engine, it's about 50% of the real engines... I fly the F-16s in realistic Simulators, and I've never seen such a bad-performance engine for an F-16... I think they made it on purpose.

This module is early access so its not ready but why would they do that?
Shadoware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 01:21 PM   #9
silverdevil
Member
 
silverdevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razo+r View Post
I've already reached Mach 2.02 in a straight line with it.

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachmen...004_153850.png
http://www.csgnetwork.com/tasinfocalc.html

according to the image 1085 which is in deed below mach 2

https://www.fighter-planes.com/jetmach1.htm

mach is affected by temperature which of course is lower at higher altitudes.
__________________
AKA_SilverDevil

Modules: Combined Arms - Flaming Cliffs 3 - F-5E - F/A-18C - MiG-15 - F-86F - A-10C - P-51D - A-4E-C - AV8B - MIG-19P - F-14D - F-16C - Supercarrier

Terrains: Syria, The Channel, Persian Gulf, Normandy, Nevada

Dell Alienware Aurora R6 - 3.60 Ghz Intel Core i7-7700 - 32 GB RAM - EVGA 1080 - Mushkin 2 TB SSD - T.16000M FCS Hotas

==========================================

Go to Heaven for the climate, Hell for the company.

Mark Twain
silverdevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 01:25 PM   #10
Etirion
Member
 
Etirion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfox1 View Post
Yeah I've Tested the F-16 Engine, it's about 50% of the real engines... I fly the F-16s in realistic Simulators, and I've never seen such a bad-performance engine for an F-16... I think they made it on purpose.
Wow! Only 50%! So that means that those realistic simulators and the real F16 have a T/W of over 2:1, incredible!
Etirion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:55 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.