How to get at Mach 2.0? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2020, 04:05 PM   #1
Shadoware
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Brazil
Posts: 193
Default How to get at Mach 2.0?

F-16 can reach mach 2.0 right?

I can only get there in a dive and no other way, it doesn't matter altitude or lack of payload or pylons!

Is that occurring because flight model is not accurate yet?
Shadoware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 04:27 PM   #2
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6,454
Default

I've already reached Mach 2.02 in a straight line with it.

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachmen...004_153850.png
razo+r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 01:21 PM   #3
silverdevil
Member
 
silverdevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 289
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razo+r View Post
I've already reached Mach 2.02 in a straight line with it.

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachmen...004_153850.png
http://www.csgnetwork.com/tasinfocalc.html

according to the image 1085 which is in deed below mach 2

https://www.fighter-planes.com/jetmach1.htm

mach is affected by temperature which of course is lower at higher altitudes.
__________________
AKA_SilverDevil

Modules: Combined Arms - Flaming Cliffs 3 - F-5E - F/A-18C - MiG-15 - F-86F - A-10C - P-51D - A-4E-C - AV8B - MIG-19P - F-14D - F-16C - Supercarrier

Terrains: Syria, The Channel, Persian Gulf, Normandy, Nevada

Dell Alienware Aurora R6 - 3.60 Ghz Intel Core i7-7700 - 32 GB RAM - EVGA 1080 - Mushkin 2 TB SSD - T.16000M FCS Hotas

==========================================

Go to Heaven for the climate, Hell for the company.

Mark Twain
silverdevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 06:47 PM   #4
Owl Dynamic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 35
Default

What altitude did you test this on and which speed did you read? Remember IAS or CAS is not the same as EAS or TAS or Mach number. Aeordynamic speeds are quite a deep and confusing topic.
Owl Dynamic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 09:03 PM   #5
Shadoware
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Brazil
Posts: 193
Default

I set the hud to TAS.

I tried at 20000 feet, 30000, 35000. 40000


The aircraft seem to stabilize at 1.94 or around this number.

I tried in PG map.
Shadoware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 05:36 AM   #6
Wolfox1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 14
Default

Yeah I've Tested the F-16 Engine, it's about 50% of the real engines... I fly the F-16s in realistic Simulators, and I've never seen such a bad-performance engine for an F-16... I think they made it on purpose.
Wolfox1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 01:10 PM   #7
Shadoware
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Brazil
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfox1 View Post
Yeah I've Tested the F-16 Engine, it's about 50% of the real engines... I fly the F-16s in realistic Simulators, and I've never seen such a bad-performance engine for an F-16... I think they made it on purpose.

This module is early access so its not ready but why would they do that?
Shadoware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 01:25 PM   #8
Etirion
Member
 
Etirion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfox1 View Post
Yeah I've Tested the F-16 Engine, it's about 50% of the real engines... I fly the F-16s in realistic Simulators, and I've never seen such a bad-performance engine for an F-16... I think they made it on purpose.
Wow! Only 50%! So that means that those realistic simulators and the real F16 have a T/W of over 2:1, incredible!
Etirion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 02:28 PM   #9
falcon_120
Senior Member
 
falcon_120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Barcelona,Spain
Posts: 1,411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Etirion View Post
Wow! Only 50%! So that means that those realistic simulators and the real F16 have a T/W of over 2:1, incredible!
XD. He supercruise at Mach 1.6 full of weapons in that simulator

Enviado desde mi ELE-L29 mediante Tapatalk
falcon_120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 03:24 AM   #10
Thinder
Member
 
Thinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: London
Posts: 125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Etirion View Post
Wow! Only 50%! So that means that those realistic simulators and the real F16 have a T/W of over 2:1, incredible!

In your wildest dreams.

http://www.f-16.net/f-16_versions.html

Go there and try to find me a variant of the F-16 with a 2.1 TWR...

Max Mach is always computed in optimum conditions at best altitude and thrust settings, at combat weight a MLU have a TWR of 0.94.

Quote:
Specifications

Engine: One Pratt & Whitney F100-PW-220 turbofan, rated at 14,590 lb.s.t. dry and 23,770 lb.s.t. with afterburning.
Maximum speed: Mach 2.05 at 40,000 feet. Service ceiling 55,000 feet. Maximum range 2400 miles. Initial climb rate 62,000 feet per minute.
Dimensions: wingspan 32 feet 9 1/2 inches, length 49 feet 3 1/2 inches, height 16 feet 8 1/2 inches, wing area 300 square feet.
Weights: 16,285 pounds empty, 25,281 pounds combat, 37,500 pounds maximum takeoff.
__________________
MSI B450 GAMING PLUS MAX AMD Ryzen B450 ATX DDR4 Motherboard, Ryzen 3 3200G Quad-Core 4.0GHz, MSI AMD Radeon RX 5500 XT, 32GB Kit DDR4-3200, 22' Samsung, 8' Eyoyo display as radar repeater. Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS HOTAS.
Mirage 2000 D, F-15 C, A4E.
Avatar: Escadron de Chasse 3/3 Ardennes.

Last edited by Thinder; 08-02-2020 at 03:29 AM.
Thinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:30 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.