Franken Force - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2009, 11:05 PM   #1
opformaster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 97
Default Franken Force

My franken force



and my POV while playing

__________________
Rig Specs: AMD FX-60 @ 2.6ghz - DFI Lanparty SLI UT - 4gb Mushkin Redline Ram - WD Raptor 300gb HDD - EVGA 260GTX 940mb - SoundBlaster something Live - Samsung 20.1" Syncmaster 204B (Camera) and Shuttle 17" xp17 (Abris & Shkval)

Flight Controls:
Franken Force CH 568/Logitech Wingman Force 3D Hybrid - CH Pro Throttle - Logitech Momo Wheel Conversion to FFB pedals - Belkin N52
opformaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 11:51 PM   #2
Slayer
Senior Member
 
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Greenville, MI
Posts: 1,172
Default

Nice!

By the looks of it you must be a plumber.
__________________


System Specs
Spoiler:
Intel I7-3930K, Asrock EXTREME9, EVGA TITAN, Mushkin Chronos SSD, 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z series 2133, TM Warthog and MFD's, Saitek Proflight Combat pedals, TrackIR 5 + TrackClip PRO, Windows 7 x64, 3-Asus VS2248H-P monitors, Thermaltake Level 10 GT, Obutto cockpit
Slayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 03:18 AM   #3
LazerPotatoe
Member
 
LazerPotatoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 219
Default

Cool. Are you going to post instructions on the FFB modding?
__________________
LP

Simplified Sim Panel tutorial

owned:
F5-E SA342 UH-1H Ka-50 Mi-8 A-10A CA

would buy:
OH-58 AH-64A AH-1 Sepecat Jaguar A4 Skyhawk F-111
LazerPotatoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 04:24 AM   #4
opformaster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 97
Default

No need they can be found herehttp://snomhf.exofire.net/frankenForce/intro.html
And the original CH hangar thread where I learned about the Franken Force
http://www.ch-hangar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3177

I did not build exactly as described in the guide. I did not mount the extra pots in the base but instead wired up a second extension jack which I will use for something else.
opformaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 04:30 AM   #5
LazerPotatoe
Member
 
LazerPotatoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 219
Default

Thanks, bookmarked. Is the force feedback strong enough to allow trim to work as is should in BS?
__________________
LP

Simplified Sim Panel tutorial

owned:
F5-E SA342 UH-1H Ka-50 Mi-8 A-10A CA

would buy:
OH-58 AH-64A AH-1 Sepecat Jaguar A4 Skyhawk F-111
LazerPotatoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 02:53 PM   #6
opformaster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 97
Default

Yes the motors are more than strong enough to hold the stick when using the trimmer button


edit: see this link for the limitations of trim http://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php?...8&postcount=34
The FCS will not hold the cyclic at an position beyond 20% of it authority over flight controls.
__________________
Rig Specs: AMD FX-60 @ 2.6ghz - DFI Lanparty SLI UT - 4gb Mushkin Redline Ram - WD Raptor 300gb HDD - EVGA 260GTX 940mb - SoundBlaster something Live - Samsung 20.1" Syncmaster 204B (Camera) and Shuttle 17" xp17 (Abris & Shkval)

Flight Controls:
Franken Force CH 568/Logitech Wingman Force 3D Hybrid - CH Pro Throttle - Logitech Momo Wheel Conversion to FFB pedals - Belkin N52

Last edited by opformaster; 01-04-2009 at 04:07 PM.
opformaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 11:20 PM   #7
opformaster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 97
Default

Some pics of the internal workings of the Franken Force.

On the top right wedged in at an angle is the logitech wingman USB board. Mounted next to it are the 2 cat-5 extension ports (for unused axis and buttons) power porrt and switch. Those all had to be fitted to the joystick base. Ive also removed the centering springs to much improvement. Before the trimmer worked allright now it works great!



On the lower left is the CH 568 board. To the right is the secondary logitech board with old logitech twist rudder pot (the lil black hunk of plastic). Next to it is the old logitech throttle leads connected to a spare CH products pot. You can also see the cat-5 port I wired to the secondary board, I still need to hook it upif I wanna calibrate the logitech portion of the stick.

-op4
__________________
Rig Specs: AMD FX-60 @ 2.6ghz - DFI Lanparty SLI UT - 4gb Mushkin Redline Ram - WD Raptor 300gb HDD - EVGA 260GTX 940mb - SoundBlaster something Live - Samsung 20.1" Syncmaster 204B (Camera) and Shuttle 17" xp17 (Abris & Shkval)

Flight Controls:
Franken Force CH 568/Logitech Wingman Force 3D Hybrid - CH Pro Throttle - Logitech Momo Wheel Conversion to FFB pedals - Belkin N52

Last edited by opformaster; 01-21-2009 at 11:20 PM. Reason: spelling
opformaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 06:18 AM   #8
Rojaws
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Singapore
Posts: 3
Default

Looks like I'm late to the game and got here after all the pics are disabled by Photobucket. Shame on them!
Did anyone manage to save an archived copy of the page? I am attempting a similar project.
Rojaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 06:32 PM   #9
Sokol1_br
Senior Member
 
Sokol1_br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,951
Send a message via MSN to Sokol1_br
Default

Rojaws

This old 'mod' involve in fit an Logitech Force Feedback circuit in the rare CH Force FX - an force feedback joystick only supported in ... Win95!!!

This Force FX use the same grip of CH CombatStick.

The drivers for Logitech Wingman Force 3D or Logitech Wingman Strike Force 3D circuit used is not support in last Windows versions. So this mode now "is history".

Similar topic in CH-Hangar - most pictures gone, but some remain:

upload pictures

http://www.ch-hangar.com/forum/index...with-picture/&

A "Franken Force" mod in heli version:



The basic "how to" in "Homeboy's Inventions":

http://snomhf.exofire.net/frankenForce/intro.html

Anyway if you have/find a CH Force FX can do this using the circuit of a MS ForceFeedback2 USB.

But is more easy and less expensive install a grip of CH CombatStick/FighterStick in a mS ForceFeedback2 USB base, plus an Arduino for handle CH grip buttons/HAT (if are no from a USB version).
In this forum are several examples of this 'mod'.

Last edited by Sokol1_br; 04-19-2018 at 05:01 PM.
Sokol1_br is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 06:42 PM   #10
BlacleyCole
Member
 
BlacleyCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 652
Default

The pictures in the beginning and in the linked document are not showing
__________________
BlackeyCole 20years usaf
XP-11. Dcs 2.5OB
Acer predator laptop/ i7 7720, 2.4ghz, 32 gb ddr4 ram, 500gb ssd,1tb hdd,nvidia 1080 8gb vram
Oculus Rift with \LeapMotion.
pro Flight Trainer Puma helicopter controls and VKB Gladiator II and pedals GameTrix JetSeat, TM WartHog HOTAS and speedmaster Flight
Kneeboard maker
Voice attack with Viacom pro plugin
Sim Shaker for aviators
Wanted:
VKB Gunfighter2 Pro with Modern Combat Grip Pro and extension and VKB Twin Engine Control System
BlacleyCole is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force Feedback на Saitek Cyborg EVO Force - миф или реальность? ivankun DCS: Ka-50 Черная Акула 14 01-07-2009 04:59 PM
Force Feedback Centering force causing uncontrollable shake Nate--IRL-- Bugs and Problems 1 12-13-2008 01:40 AM
Polish Air Force RED 89 and Algerian Air Force Mig-29S skins shaggy Mods and Apps 10 12-08-2008 06:35 PM
F-15c with Cdn. air force F-18 low vis. Bobby47 Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 1 & 2 0 02-16-2008 03:00 PM

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:20 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.