AoA probe not moving - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2019, 09:15 PM   #11
_Randolph93
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 106
Default

There doesn't seem to be much freely available info about the aoa sensor, but I've been reading it's spring centered, could be different on other types though.
__________________
Intel i5-9600k - Asus TUF Z390 - 32GB DDR4 corsair - Gigabyte RTX 2070 - Seasonic 620W - SSD Crucial, HDD Seagate
_Randolph93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 10:24 PM   #12
Drotik
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 361
Default

Why should there be any reason to center it? It is centered by the airstream as soon as the aircraft moves fast enough so that AoA becomes relevant. It basically is a little wing (or a cone) hinged to a potentiometer. These probes are the same on every aircraft, they move freely with little resistance, are most certainly not centered by springs or anything because it makes no sense, the vane type is balanced.

And you should keep in mind that the probe does not move in flight, the aircraft moves around it while it remains steady in the relative wind. That is how AoA sensing works.

Little anectode: The Eurofighter has a more sophisticated systems consisting of four transducers mounted under the nose. They work the same way, but there are problems if two aircraft taxi too close to one another and the probes get caught in the jet blast. They can be pushed to extreme angles and get stuck, which of course results in a ground abort.
Drotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:26 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.