HP's Reverb VR Pro Headset - Page 151 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2019, 12:20 PM   #1501
mac22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinkickef View Post
Gamma not only alters brightness, it also alters the dynamic range as perceived by the eye. I never use over 1.8 and usually 1.7 - 1.6 depending on mission, as above that, I always found the Rift to look washed out with dull colours. Same with the Reverb.

I really have not noticed any real difference between Rift and Reverb so far. Then again.. individual results may vary.

Other thing... my missions are usually either at night, sunset or sunrise. Never at midday.

actually I have reshade installed in my setup (makes a huge difference in the 2d game) - it can be enabled/disabled easily with the f5 key - it does load up in the menu's for DCS when I paly in VR- but not sure if it loads or has any effect on fps or visuals when using it with a reverb...………………?
mac22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 12:38 PM   #1502
sze5003
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: US
Posts: 1,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
Interesting. So, what are you supposed to have on? Just the lens adaptors? Why use them at all if you have contacts? Are they not enough? Bit confused!
Well I wear my contacts at work and I'm a software engineer so I work on a pc all day. When I get home my contacts are dry so I like to take them out as soon as I get home. So the lens adapters stay in the Odyssey in case I want to fly later in the day. Either one will work fine I just found it odd that one time I still had contacts in and the lens adapters were in the Odyssey but I wasn't seeing blurry or double vision the same as I would if I would have forgotten to take my contacts out and put on my glasses.
__________________
Asus ROG Strix Z370-E | Core i7 8700k @5.0Ghz-Corsair H100i v2 | 32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengence LPX 3000 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | OCZ Trion 150 960GB | 256GB Samsung 830 | 1TB Samsung 850 EVO | Asus Strix OC 1080Ti | Samsung Odyssey
sze5003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 01:22 PM   #1503
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 2,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sze5003 View Post
Well I wear my contacts at work and I'm a software engineer so I work on a pc all day. When I get home my contacts are dry so I like to take them out as soon as I get home. So the lens adapters stay in the Odyssey in case I want to fly later in the day. Either one will work fine I just found it odd that one time I still had contacts in and the lens adapters were in the Odyssey but I wasn't seeing blurry or double vision the same as I would if I would have forgotten to take my contacts out and put on my glasses.
Hmm, that is interesting. I wonder if anyone can shine a bit of light on that.
__________________
Intel i7 8700 4.8GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · HTC Vive Pro · HP Reverb Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 04:16 PM   #1504
MainSail
Member
 
MainSail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 146
Default

So I just ordered one from the official HP store. 6KP43EA#ABB. It is going to replace my VIVE. It should arive arround 25-6 just in time for my holiday.
__________________
Win10-X64, I5,-8600K oc-4,8Ghz, 16GB DDR4, MSI RTX 2080ti, HOTAS Warthog, MFG crosswind pedals, KW-908 Jetseat , HTC Vive with lens mod.
MainSail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 04:51 PM   #1505
samo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MainSail View Post
So I just ordered one from the official HP store. 6KP43EA#ABB. It is going to replace my VIVE. It should arive arround 25-6 just in time for my holiday.

which country ?
samo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 05:27 PM   #1506
fearlessfrog
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinkickef View Post
I think I can see why my ground Taxy experience is suffering but want to make sure.

When Steam VR comes online with the small panel and I hit the hamburger and go to settings, it shows reprojection, just above motion smoothing as "On".

Is this not the case, do I have to manually input the line in the thread detailing switching it on to actually switch it on?

It has to be said, I like the Reverb, but I hate the software it needs.

While I am here, if you are tempted to update to 1903, be aware that the stupid bug is back, the one that makes apps disappear from the start menu. To run DCS I had to make a shortcut on the desktop to the actual DCS folder. No idea yet how to run a repair.
Just like with the native resolution, WMR is also fairly confusing when it comes to the forms of reprojection it uses. Here's my findings (I'll do a copy/paste rather than offsite link, as I think that is politer here and I've already type it ) :

"If a game can reach around 55 to 60 fps the WMR with the default.vrsettings set to ‘auto’ will use something called ‘motion temporal reprojection’, which is the Microsoft clone of ‘Async Space Warp’ (ASW) on the Oculus side. It looks ahead/behind frames with GPU geometry to work out an in-between frame that’s pretty convincing. This allows the trees to appear smooth at 90 Hz in the headset, but DCS needs to reach about 60 fps.

If a game only reaches about 45 fps or less then WMR falls back to ‘asynchronous rotional reprojection’, which is what the old ‘Async Time Warp’ (ATW) used to be on Oculus, i.e. ok for moving your head around, but bad at predicting things moving outside the cockpit. When you see the cockpit moving ok but the trees to the side ‘jumping’ in WMR then it’s using reprojection but falling back to what it can do.

I didn’t realize before why it falls back to the older algorithm like that, but does explain what people see.

It’s also why DCS will just stick at 45 fps even if motion reprojection is not set to ‘auto’ in that config file or everything is left as defaults - it’s because it defaults to the old ‘asynch rotational reprojection’ by default unless the ASW equivalent is enabled or the app is reaching 90 fps.

It will be interesting if the DCS VR optimizations allow more people to get to 60 fps with more settings maxed out. In my experiments with the WMR reprojection, the ‘motion temporal reprojection’ is very good, i.e. very smooth sideways trees.

REF: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...r-steamvr-apps 2

Oh, plus should say. You can turn things on and off in the SteamVR settings stuff for the Valve ‘motion reprojection’ and all those things, then it’ll be completely ignored by the WMR headset. If you see any difference using those settings then it must be a placebo, as the reprojection steps only happen on the Microsoft driver side using its own rules/steps mentioned above I believe.

I think the resolution / super sampling percentage value is probably the only setting from SteamVR that is read, everything else is probably on the Windows WMR side of things.

It seems the best ‘tuning’ algorithm for WMR and using reprojection in DCS would be:

Go to the default.vsettings file and comment out (using //) the motion line, i.e. turn it OFF.

Test DCS with your settings. Adjust them so you get to 55 to 60 fps with the resolution / super sampling you want.

Go back to default.vrsettings and uncomment the line (remove the //) so it says “motionReprojectionMode” : “auto”, in there.

That way you’ll get smooth tree sideways and reprojection working properly. The things I didn’t realize before were:

WMR always has some form of motion reprojection on, it’s just the simpler ‘rotational’ type (where looking sideways causes judders for example) if it can’t make some headroom over 45 fps (it seems typically you need 55 to 60 fps to be safe).

The fancy ‘motion vector’ reprojection is very good, but needs to be turned on in that file. Once on then you’re only ever going to see either 45 or 90 in the fps read-out. Turning it off is useful to adjust detail settings.

WMR is like archaeology on how it works underneath. I half expect to find a stick of a certain length that’s going to refract the sun’s rays over a temple map through a jewel, so we can find out how to do nicer anti aliasing one day… "
__________________
~~~
http://www.mudspike.com
fearlessfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 05:35 PM   #1507
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 2,660
Default

Windows is just installing an update to 1903 on my PC. I wonder if the 'WMR bug' will be fixed.
How will we know?
__________________
Intel i7 8700 4.8GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · HTC Vive Pro · HP Reverb Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 05:39 PM   #1508
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 2,660
Default

Is this relevant from the KB page?
'This release also contains updates for Microsoft HoloLens (OS Build 18362.1020) released June 11, 2019.'
Don't know what Hololens is!
__________________
Intel i7 8700 4.8GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · HTC Vive Pro · HP Reverb Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 05:41 PM   #1509
Secoda
Junior Member
 
Secoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Missouri
Posts: 50
Default

I just got the Reverb two hours ago and setup was basically plugging it in and making one adjustment on the video resolution from my Lenovo Explorer in SteamVR. The clarity and performance on my setup is very good with the way I have the settings. I can read everything inside the cockpit now but also can spot planes a lot better at a distance which I was just testing. The SDE is basically gone although if you really concentrate you can barely make out the very tiny pixels. My sweet spot also took a big jump but my IPD is 64 mm but I am actually using glasses which are working fine. I am very slightly near-sighted with the minimum prescription and am very close to not needing glasses at all. I also thought the audio is very good.

The only complaint I have at the moment is the heavy cable. I routed it around the back over a home theater recliner seat I use and then I forgot about it. A few zip ties might help too. I can't see any mura - even looking at a white screen.

I am curious on folks are handling that cable. The cable seems longer than my Lenovo Explorer.



Quote:
Originally Posted by drsam View Post
So I have had my reverb for a few days now having upgraded from the Rift. Just to say it is streets ahead of the Rift in clarity and sweet spot. All these issues reviewers are reporting with Mura etc I just can't see it. It is good enough to do normal desktop work on as the resolution is so high and I can't see any screen doors. Blacks are also fine. One important point though, if you don't have perfect vision you must correct your vision for distance. The optics are set to infinity but this will work only on the very centre of your natural eye lens and you will lose peripheral clarity (ie much smaller sweet spot). Forget glasses use contact lenses.
__________________
I-7 8700K OC, Trident Z RGB 32GB DDR4-3200, ASUS ROG Strix Z390-E Gaming, ASUS RTX2080 8GB OC, Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD, WD 1TB HD, Corsair H150i Pro Cooler, HOTAS 16000FCS, Corsair Crystal 570X RGB case, Corsair RM750x Gold PSU, Razer Cynosa Chroma RGB keyboard, Logitech G G602 Wireless Optical Gaming Mouse, Samsung QLED 4K 82" TV/monitor. HP Reverb 2160 x 2160 VR 114FV 90Hz. IRL Private Pilot.

Last edited by Secoda; 06-11-2019 at 05:47 PM.
Secoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 05:42 PM   #1510
fearlessfrog
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
Windows is just installing an update to 1903 on my PC. I wonder if the 'WMR bug' will be fixed.
How will we know?
Ideally it would be in the Microsoft KB release notes, but who am I kidding

One way to tell would be to edit your config file here:

\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\MixedRealityVRDriver\resources\settings\default.vrsettings

..and set motionReprojectionIndicatorEnabled to true (just uncomment the line) and motionReprojectionMode to auto.

When you start a game you'll get a small square in the top left, which indicates if the reprojection is working or not.

The way to tell if the renderTargetScale 'not being read as 2.0' bug is fixed or not is to edit that renderTargetScale value to '1.0' and go look at the square. Now restart SteamVR / WMR (restart both if you ever change anything in that file, it's only read at start-up) and set it back to '2.0' again. Did the square appear smaller and more to the top left or not when using 2.0 vs 1.0?

If it did then this is fixed, if the 2.0 looked like the same size/position as 1.0 then it's not. It's a good illustration of what is being limited, as it shows the underlying resolution is smaller if not fixed.
__________________
~~~
http://www.mudspike.com
fearlessfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:49 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.