AI Aircraft - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2018, 12:08 AM   #1
WeakLink
Junior Member
 
WeakLink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 27
Default AI Aircraft

I wish they could put a command in for AI aircraft where you can tell them to drop tanks, if there is one in the radio commands I'm not seeing it. I scheduled a two ship to a strike, give the guy 3 tanks of gas and 1 minute to Pre-IP I get a BINGO fuel call from my wingman. I make it on two tanks and make six or seven attacks and still make it back 300 lbs above BINGO because I had to strike his TGTs too, but he just can't hack it.


How do Ai's manage there fuel needs a look or to they just seem to burn to much fuel. Having the drop tank command would help lead to maybe manage fuel better. We got the jettison weapons, what about a a./b. option with in the command, a. drop tanks/ (or) b. jettison weapons. I know the F keys are pretty filled up but maybe they can double up a few commands. Hell it might be in there (radio commands I mean) I never tried more than a wingman (SP).
WeakLink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 05:56 AM   #2
Tholozor
Member
 
Tholozor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 170
Default

They like to use full afterburner to catch up with you. If you're taking off from an airfield or the carrier, throttle back a bit so they can catch up before you go into the higher throttle ranges.
__________________
REAPER 51 | Tholozor
Tholozor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 07:47 PM   #3
WeakLink
Junior Member
 
WeakLink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 27
Default

Well after T/O I do slow down and in fact I use turn short for mission timing, on top of that there are two long legs of approx. 100 miles long where speed slows to 250 KCAS, @ 17,000 I would think that would cover his fuel burn but, have not seen any improvement in reaching TGT area. There is a low level entry to TGT but again a 300 KCAS airspeed, I still think a drop tanks call might help with drag experienced in the AI ('s) walking distance.
WeakLink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 12:27 PM   #4
Deano87
Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeakLink View Post
Well after T/O I do slow down and in fact I use turn short for mission timing, on top of that there are two long legs of approx. 100 miles long where speed slows to 250 KCAS, @ 17,000 I would think that would cover his fuel burn but, have not seen any improvement in reaching TGT area. There is a low level entry to TGT but again a 300 KCAS airspeed, I still think a drop tanks call might help with drag experienced in the AI ('s) walking distance.
There is an option if you dig down into the waypoint options to “limit afterburner use” or something similar which may be helpful. At least then they will catch up in dry power instead of using max burner lol. It’s in the same area where you set ROE and responce to threats etc #expertmissionplanner
__________________
Ignore me I’m probably wrong - Now with 42% extra sarcasm - May contain nuts.

DCS F-16C REALLY IS A THING! - BLOCK 50 BABY!!!

My Screenshots = FLICKR ALBUM
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:07 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.