reduced FOV on RIFT CV1 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2018, 07:51 AM   #1
FoxDelta
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: LOXZ
Posts: 201
Default reduced FOV on RIFT CV1

today i updated DCS and instantly recognized that there is now kind of REDUCED FOV on both eyes
screens are not fully used anymore!!
in the part of overlapping eyeview i can now recognise that there is kind of dark halo around the screens when both eyes opened

is this the mentioned VR tweak?
if so please give us the option to adjust this, for me its annoying to have a reduced FOV, and its reducing the feeling of immersion as well

other than that performance seems to be a little bit better

PLZ, if its intentionally, give us the option to disable this REDUCED FOV feature/bug

THX

Last edited by FoxDelta; 12-06-2018 at 08:57 AM.
FoxDelta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 10:49 AM   #2
FoxDelta
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: LOXZ
Posts: 201
Default

so after an hour in the forum i found the masksize setting,
in the shader mod post it was a topic over and over, why the hell is ED implementing it when its known that 0.6 is a value most rift users are not confident with?

to all rift users on OB , u may change your masksize to 0.67
BR
FoxDelta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 10:54 AM   #3
boedha68
Senior Member
 
boedha68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FoxDelta View Post
so after an hour in the forum i found the masksize setting,
in the shader mod post it was a topic over and over, why the hell is ED implementing it when its known that 0.6 is a value most rift users are not confident with?

to all rift users on OB , u may change your masksize to 0.67
BR


Ahaa, I thought what was different. Thank you...
__________________
I7-4770K, 16GB, GTX 980 TI, 2 * 500 GB SSD, 3,5 TB HDD, 55' Samsung 3d tv, Trackir 5, Logitech HD Cam, T16000M HOTAS, Oculus rift CV1 . All DCS modules, maps and campaigns
boedha68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 11:07 AM   #4
Knock-Knock
Senior Member
 
Knock-Knock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,291
Default

Not sure I understand what is going on here. Personally, I dont see any difference in FOV, or any black borders (OB updated yesterday). Is this in relation to the VR Shader mod, or without the VR Shader mod? Im not using the VR Shader mod. Did back in the day, but due to it not passing IC, I stopped using it. There I had to change the mask size though.

And where would that mask size be hidden? Without the VR Shader mod installed, I dont have the _HMD.hlsl file.
__________________
- Jack of many DCS modules, master of none.
- Personal wishlist: A-7E Corsair II, F-35 Draken, F-104 Starfighter, Panavia Tornado IDS.


| MSI Z87-G45 Gaming | i5-4670K @ 4.3Ghz | 16Gb DDR3 1600 | Asus GTX 1070 Strix OC | Samsung 850 Evo 250 & 500Gb | 40" Sony FullHD | Oculus Rift CV1 | Thrustmaster Warthog Stick (19.5cm extension) & Throttle | MFG Crosswind | Windows 7-64 |
Knock-Knock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 11:30 AM   #5
FoxDelta
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: LOXZ
Posts: 201
Default

i do see a difference, it might depend on your sweet spot and your eye distance, the farer the more u see it
masksize seems to be the solution but haven t found the corresponding file yet
FoxDelta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 12:08 PM   #6
FoxDelta
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: LOXZ
Posts: 201
Default

strange thing here, i now don t see a difference anymore
looks like deleting fxo metashaders, starting a mission , cancelling and restarting the PC and loading dcs again did solve it ,
i don t know why, but who cares

delete this thread ply
FoxDelta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 06:50 AM   #7
DayGlow
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 699
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FoxDelta View Post
so after an hour in the forum i found the masksize setting,
in the shader mod post it was a topic over and over, why the hell is ED implementing it when its known that 0.6 is a value most rift users are not confident with?

to all rift users on OB , u may change your masksize to 0.67
BR
Don't blame ED, the shader mod is a user made file.
__________________
"It takes a big man to admit he is wrong...I'm not a big man" Chevy Chase, Fletch Lives

I7 4820@4.7Ghz - 16Gb Ram - X79 Asus Sabertooth MB - GTX 1080ti - Windows 10
DayGlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 08:09 AM   #8
NeilWillis
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,606
Default

If you install mods, always remove them before updating, run the unmodded DCS World at least once, check for bugs and only then start to reintroduce mods.

You will never be able to submit accurate bug reports with ANY mods included in your DCS World build.

All mods will do is make real bugs harder to find and much much harder for ED to replicate and fix. In short, they waste everyone's time effort and patience.


I'm not making accusations here, but if the cap fits...
NeilWillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:52 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.