Temp fix for RWR volume - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2018, 02:43 PM   #1
Zeus67
3rd Party Developer
 
Zeus67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ecuador
Posts: 3,108
Default Temp fix for RWR volume

Since some people are complaining about the volume for the RWR warning sounds, here's a temporary fix until volume control is enabled.

All you have to do is edit the following sdef files:

Location: Mods/aircraft/AV8BNA/Sounds/sdef

Files:
RWR_Threat.sdef
RWR_Threat_AI.sdef
RWR_Threat_Launch.sdef
RWR_Threat_Lock.sdef
RWR_Threat_Lock_SAM.sdef

Modify the GAIN (volume) value to a level you feel comfortable with.
__________________
"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning."

"The three most dangerous things in the world are a programmer with a soldering iron, a hardware type with a program patch and a user with an idea."

Last edited by Zeus67; 09-03-2018 at 03:01 PM.
Zeus67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 02:50 PM   #2
ZeroReady
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 127
Default

Thank you. I thought my whole world was coming apart when I first heard the new sounds with headphones on.
ZeroReady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 03:18 PM   #3
ricktoberfest
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 984
Default

Are these for the new sounds? Are they out in the open beta yet?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ricktoberfest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 03:38 PM   #4
ricktoberfest
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 984
Default

Nvmd. I see they are in the beta


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ricktoberfest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 03:57 PM   #5
Kingsnake
Member
 
Kingsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: US
Posts: 361
Default

I set mine to 1.0 on all and seems pretty good, thanks for this.
__________________
Kingsnake

Windows 10 1909 64-bit, AMD FX-6300 OC 4.00 GHz, EVGA GTX 1050 Ti SC 1.83 GHz 4GB, 16GB DDR3 RAM
CH Fighterstick Pro, CH Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR 4 (5.4 Software), 24" RL2455HM 1920x1080*60hz 1ms
[ DCS World: Latest (Open Beta) ]
Nevada, Persian Gulf, DCS: Ka-50 Black Shark, A-10C Warthog, Combined Arms, AJS-37 Viggen, Mirage 2000C, AV-8B N/A Harrier II, F/A-18C Hornet, F-5E Tiger II, UH-1H Huey, L-39 Albatros, MiG-21Bis Fishbed, JF-17 Thunder
Kingsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 04:41 PM   #6
@seagull
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroReady View Post
Thank you. I thought my whole world was coming apart when I first heard the new sounds with headphones on.

Lol me too. But it's such a pleasure to finally hear something coming out of there!
@seagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 04:59 PM   #7
Kingsnake
Member
 
Kingsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: US
Posts: 361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by @seagull View Post
Lol me too. But it's such a pleasure to finally hear something coming out of there!
Yeah it is! \m/
__________________
Kingsnake

Windows 10 1909 64-bit, AMD FX-6300 OC 4.00 GHz, EVGA GTX 1050 Ti SC 1.83 GHz 4GB, 16GB DDR3 RAM
CH Fighterstick Pro, CH Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR 4 (5.4 Software), 24" RL2455HM 1920x1080*60hz 1ms
[ DCS World: Latest (Open Beta) ]
Nevada, Persian Gulf, DCS: Ka-50 Black Shark, A-10C Warthog, Combined Arms, AJS-37 Viggen, Mirage 2000C, AV-8B N/A Harrier II, F/A-18C Hornet, F-5E Tiger II, UH-1H Huey, L-39 Albatros, MiG-21Bis Fishbed, JF-17 Thunder
Kingsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 06:52 PM   #8
Shrike88
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Missouri
Posts: 677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeus67 View Post
Since some people are complaining about the volume for the RWR warning sounds
Glad to see I wasn't the only one thinking that was a little excessive without volume control.

Thanks for the temp fix
Shrike88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 02:15 AM   #9
=Warlock=
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Canary Islands
Posts: 39
Default

Thanks for the fix !

Awesome to have the RWR working with sounds, a great surprise
=Warlock= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 03:23 PM   #10
defeatist99
Member
 
defeatist99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 144
Default

The other thing I noticed is that when the RWR lock tone is emitted it somewhat mutes the aircraft sound. As in the aircraft/engine at the same throttle setting would get quieter.
defeatist99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:21 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.