has the trim changed with DCS 2.1 update 1 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2017, 12:29 AM   #1
wolle
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 923
Reputation power: 9
wolle is a jewel in the roughwolle is a jewel in the roughwolle is a jewel in the roughwolle is a jewel in the roughwolle is a jewel in the roughwolle is a jewel in the rough
Default has the trim changed with DCS 2.1 update 1

I just updated to today's update 1 for DCS 2.1 and took the Bf-109 for a spin. Whereas I needed to always trim her fully nose-heavy to achieve level cruise flight, now I can leave the trim more or less neutral. Has this changed?
__________________


Intel Core I7 4820K @4.3 GHz, Asus P9X79 motherboard, 16 GB RAM @ 933 MHz, NVidia GTX 1070 with 8 GB VRAM, Windows 10 Pro
wolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 01:40 AM   #2
PingPongChampeen
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Warner Robbins AFB
Posts: 103
Reputation power: 1
PingPongChampeen will become famous soon enoughPingPongChampeen will become famous soon enoughPingPongChampeen will become famous soon enough
Default

I just was going to ask this, but since I already flew I can say yeah they changed it. The slider doesnt seem to function, but there are trim controls in the flight control menu now that lets you trim elevators up and down, and rudders left and right.

Edit - I misread your post the first time, but I thnk its still relevant.
__________________
Intel 6700k o/c 4.65ghz | 32gb GSkill Ripjaw 2 DDR4 3200 ram | Asus Z170 Premium | MSI GTX 1080FE | eVGA 1000w psu | MFG Crosswinds | TM Warthog | TM Cougar MFD |Obutto Ozone | Dell 34" UHD Curved monitor | TrackIr 4 | Windows 10 Pro
A-10C | AJS37 | Bf109 K-4 | C-101 | FC3 | F-5E | F-86 | FW109-D9 | Hawk T1A | Ka-50 | L39 | Mig-15Bis | Mig-21Bis | M-2000C | Mi-8MTV2 | P-51D | Spitfire Mk. IX | SA342 | UH-1H
PingPongChampeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2017, 02:59 PM   #3
pegon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 88
Reputation power: 0
pegon has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Got it totally different. Even when i trim nose full down, it climbs.
__________________
Intel Core i7­6700K, 32GB DDR4, 512GB PCIe SSD + 2TB HDD, GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
pegon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2017, 03:12 PM   #4
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,564
Reputation power: 16
razo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nicerazo+r is just really nice
Default

I did not experience any change, I always had to trim it fully down and it still went slightly up at 500 kph or so
__________________
Maximus VII Ranger, 4790K @ 4.00 Ghz, ASUS GTX 1070 O8G, 16 GB non-oc RAM, 250 GB SAMSUNG EVO 850 SSD, 2TB HDD, Win 10 64-bit
razo+r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2017, 03:58 PM   #5
SiThSpAwN
Community Manager
 
SiThSpAwN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 20,341
Reputation power: 102
SiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to behold
Default

I haven't seen any change.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."

SiThSpAwN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 01:23 AM   #6
javelina1
Senior Member
 
javelina1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WAFB, Arizona
Posts: 2,228
Reputation power: 20
javelina1 is a glorious beacon of lightjavelina1 is a glorious beacon of lightjavelina1 is a glorious beacon of lightjavelina1 is a glorious beacon of lightjavelina1 is a glorious beacon of lightjavelina1 is a glorious beacon of lightjavelina1 is a glorious beacon of lightjavelina1 is a glorious beacon of lightjavelina1 is a glorious beacon of lightjavelina1 is a glorious beacon of lightjavelina1 is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Me neither. No change noticed here.
__________________

Gigabyte Z87-HD3, i5-4670K O/C 4.2ghz, NH-U12S cooler, 16GB RAM, Geforce GTX 1080 SC, SoundBlaster Z sound card, Yamaha 5.1 A/V Receiver, 2x 256GB Samsung SSD, 1x 500GB Samsung SSD, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1, TM Warthog, MFG Crosswind Rudders, TM MFD's, Enermax Case, 39" Samsung HDTV, 21.5" Acer VT220 touchscreen (for Helios & Ikarus), TrackIR5, JetSeat KW-908, Oculus Rift CV1
javelina1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 01:37 PM   #7
WildBillKelsoe
Veteran
 
WildBillKelsoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 5,879
Reputation power: 49
WildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to all
Default

she always climbs with 2 degrees of nose down trim for me. running 156
__________________
Fat T is above, thin T is below. Long T is faster, Short T is slower. Open triangle is AWACS, closed triangle is your own sensors. Double dash is friendly, Single dash is enemy. Circle is friendly. Strobe is jammer. Strobe to dash is under 35 km. HDD is 7 times range key. Radar to 160 km, IRST to 10 km. Stay low, but never slow.
WildBillKelsoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 05:49 PM   #8
LeCuvier
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South of France
Posts: 656
Reputation power: 7
LeCuvier has a spectacular aura aboutLeCuvier has a spectacular aura aboutLeCuvier has a spectacular aura aboutLeCuvier has a spectacular aura about
Default

I do not see this in 2.1. When the trim wheel is in the neutral positon (0) the the nose goes down. I have to trim slightly tail-heavy to get level flight without stick input. I control the trim wheel with an axis (slider of the TM WH throttle). The only criticism I have is that the upper 30% of the axis control have no effect. That's a poor implementation of the axis control for the trim wheel and it's the same if I bind the left throttle lever to the trim wheel.
__________________
LeCuvier
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit | i7-4790 CPU |16 GB RAM| GTX-970 | Acer XB270HU | TM Warthog HOTAS | VKB Gladiator Pro | MongoosT-50 | MFG Crosswind Pedals | TrackIR 5
LeCuvier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 07:27 PM   #9
Art-J
Senior Member
 
Art-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 2,892
Reputation power: 17
Art-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of lightArt-J is a glorious beacon of light
Default

^ That's an interesting observation, because for me, just like a couple of guys above, even full nose down trim cannot make the plane fly level at cruise settings (1.05-1.1 ATA) - pushing the stick is alway necessary. Both in 1.5.6 and 2.1.

I control the trim via keyboard, though. Does assigning it to slider/rotary change the physics of the plane? In theory it shouldn't, but maybe we've discovered some glitch?
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 07:35 PM   #10
SiThSpAwN
Community Manager
 
SiThSpAwN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 20,341
Reputation power: 102
SiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to beholdSiThSpAwN is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art-J View Post
^ That's an interesting observation, because for me, just like a couple of guys above, even full nose down trim cannot make the plane fly level at cruise settings (1.05-1.1 ATA) - pushing the stick is alway necessary. Both in 1.5.6 and 2.1.

I control the trim via keyboard, though. Does assigning it to slider/rotary change the physics of the plane? In theory it shouldn't, but maybe we've discovered some glitch?
I dont think it makes a difference where you assign it, but I wonder if its more of inconstancies in controllers, because I have always been able to get a level cruise trim, in fact I have to pull it back some to get level.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."

SiThSpAwN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:10 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.