Progress on Key bindings - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2018, 10:29 PM   #1
Trubshaw
Campaign Testers
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 329
Default Progress on Key bindings

For those of us that are pit builders is there going to be some progress on some of the missing key bindings?

From simple missing ones like 'insert data cartridge'
to odd ones like 'Reset Master Caution' (odd because you can press 'v' on the key board but you cannot assign it to a switch.

Yes I know I can use FunkyFrankies mod and I do, it is excellent yet every little update wipes them out. It is a great mod.

Surely the point is that as a module matures these missing key bindings should be a thing of the past. If you can click it then it should be assignable.

I cannot even imagine the lines and hours of coding that go into such a module and I congratulate the coders in the team for getting the Viggen into DCS. I just would like to know that this will happen at some point in the future.

Regards
__________________

TrubshawRN -=SHREK 94=-
Trubshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 06:29 AM   #2
RagnarDa
3rd Party Developer
 
RagnarDa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,580
Default

I wasn’t aware that there was any controls not assignable to all devices. I synced all the controls via a script some time ago. Is it more controls than the master caution reset that you can’t assign?
__________________
DCS AJS37 HACKERMAN

Bugs will happen
RagnarDa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 07:26 AM   #3
Holton181
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Far north
Posts: 960
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trubshaw View Post
use FunkyFrankies mod
Are the missing bidings pressent without FunkyFrankies mod installed?
Have you done some corrections to the files in this mod whenever the original files have been updated, or do you use this mod unmodified?
I believe you need to compare the original files with those in the mod and make sure the parts in them that is not parts of the mod are identical. FunkyFrankie did a good job commenting everything he added, so it's easy using softwares like Notpad++ for the comparison.
If you don't do this, any updates done by HB after latest FunkyFrankies mod release (quite long ago) will never benefit you.


Quote:
Originally Posted by RagnarDa View Post
...
Ragnar, I actually think there would be a good idea for you to have a look at FunkyFrankies mod too. It contains some corrections regarding duplicates and other small buggs still not yet corrected in the original files.
Here it is:
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?p=3031175
__________________
Helicopters and Viggen
DCS 1.5.7 and OpenAlpha
Win7 Pro 64bit
i7-3820 3.60GHz
P9X79 Pro
32GB
GTX 670 2GB
VG278H + a Dell
PFT Lynx
TrackIR 5

Last edited by Holton181; 09-14-2018 at 07:54 AM.
Holton181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 08:22 AM   #4
Trubshaw
Campaign Testers
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 329
Default

Hi RagnaDa and Holton181,

Thanks for responding so quickly. Yes RagnaDa there are some keybindings still missing or not complete in my opinion:

eg: look at the Master Caution (it cannot be assigned with out a mod)
data cartridge insert
the two toggle Weapon release mode switches

All have click spots in the virtual cockpit but they cannot be assigned. (unless I am mistaken)
These are missing from DCS Release 2.5.220785 and current DCS Beta

I really think Holton's idea is a good one look at FunkyFrankies mod. He has done a great deal more on the subject and coded it.


For what it is worth I have bought every DCS module and missing keybindings occur on most of them in one form or another. I tend to buy them at release to support and encourage developers and wait until the module matures before getting down to setting up my pit and learning the aircraft. I have only recently got round to the Viggen and find it really interesting and fascinating. RagnaDa you and your colleagues have done a great job and I appreciate your ongoing support.
__________________

TrubshawRN -=SHREK 94=-
Trubshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 04:05 PM   #5
corvinus
Member
 
corvinus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RagnarDa View Post
I wasn’t aware that there was any controls not assignable to all devices. I synced all the controls via a script some time ago. Is it more controls than the master caution reset that you can’t assign?
The data selector and weapon sight mode selector rotaries are missing CW and CCW controls.
corvinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 09:46 AM   #6
rainyday
Member
 
rainyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 114
Default

I can't find keybindings for the following controls:

Countermeasures R - R+F - F switch
Bomb interval/Wingspan selector
Serie/Imp switch
Grupp/Enkel switch

I also can't assign 'Master Caution Reset' to anything but keyboard & mouse - other controllers are greyed out.

'Insert Data Cartridge' would be awesome to have too - as already mentioned.
rainyday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 12:26 PM   #7
SGT Coyle
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 404
Default

"Weapon Interval Dial" has no CW, CCW key binding
__________________
Implement CW and CCW keyboard commands for the encoders!!!!!
For all that is holy and right with the world please!
SGT Coyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 12:25 PM   #8
LeCuvier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South of France
Posts: 1,158
Default

I have added these lines of code (among others) in the "default.lua":
Code:
{down = 3306, up = 3306, cockpit_device_id = devices.WEAPON_SYSTEM, value_down = 0.0, value_up = 1.0, name = 'Weapon Release Mode Switch 2-Pos UP/DOWN', category = 'Weapons'},
{down = 3307, up = 3307, cockpit_device_id = devices.WEAPON_SYSTEM, value_down = 0.0, value_up = 1.0, name = 'RB-04/RB-15/BK Release Mode Switch 2-Pos UP/DOWN', category = 'Weapons'},
{down = 3001, cockpit_device_id = devices.ERRORPANEL, value_down = 1.0,  name = 'Master caution reset', category = 'Caution panel'},
They provide binding options for
1. Weapon Release Mode Switch (Serie/Enkel) for 2-position switch
2. RB-04/RB-15/BK Release Mode Switch (Grupp/Enkel) for 2-position switch
3. Master caution Reset for push button
These are easy based on info from "clickabledata.lua".

I tried to do the Chaff/Flare selector switch but could not get any result. It should be possible, but all the variations I tried were insuccessful.
__________________
LeCuvier
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit | i7-4790 CPU |16 GB RAM|SSD System Disk|SSD Gaming Disk| MSI GTX-1080 Gaming 8 GB| Acer XB270HU | TM Warthog HOTAS | VKB Gladiator Pro | MongoosT-50 | MFG Crosswind Pedals | TrackIR 5
LeCuvier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 12:09 PM   #9
LeCuvier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South of France
Posts: 1,158
Default

I got the Chaff/Flare select switch working. My solution uses the 3-position switch from the cockpit. Unfortunately, it's not a rotary switch that you can rotate incrementally CW/CCW via an up/down toggle switch, but a multi-position switch that requires absolute values. In this case, the values 0.0, 0.1 and 0.2. I tested it with the flaps switch on my TM WH throttle and it works fine. If you don't have a 3-position switch available you could use 2 maintained ON/FF switches but you have to manually ensure that only one of the two switches is ever in the ON position.
Here are the 2 lines of code in the "default.lua":
Code:
{down = 3028, up = 3028, cockpit_device_id = devices.COUNTERMEASURE, value_down = 0.2, value_up = 0.1, name = 'Chaff/Flares Select 3-Pos Switch R/RF', category = 'Countermeasures'},
{down = 3028, up = 3028, cockpit_device_id = devices.COUNTERMEASURE, value_down = 0.0, value_up = 0.1, name = 'Chaff/Flares Select 3-Pos Switch F/RF', category = 'Countermeasures'},
It would certainly be better if Heatblur provided a rotary switch command option with CW and CCW commands. Progress in this area is a bit disappointing.
__________________
LeCuvier
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit | i7-4790 CPU |16 GB RAM|SSD System Disk|SSD Gaming Disk| MSI GTX-1080 Gaming 8 GB| Acer XB270HU | TM Warthog HOTAS | VKB Gladiator Pro | MongoosT-50 | MFG Crosswind Pedals | TrackIR 5
LeCuvier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 04:24 PM   #10
Trubshaw
Campaign Testers
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 329
Default

Hey RagnaDar,

I know you guys must be pretty busy but is there any progress yet? The current beta still has missing key bindings.

These seem the be relatively simple fixes not very time consuming and big on making the module more complete.

Regards
__________________

TrubshawRN -=SHREK 94=-
Trubshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:33 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.