GAU-8/A and MK108 Shell tweaking/modding - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2015, 12:28 AM   #11
Flagrum
Veteran
 
Flagrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 32U MC0539
Posts: 6,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel101 View Post
I mean, your mod has the same dispersion (or near) the one we got with older versions of DCS.

It is possible that some changes commited somewhere during the last few patches may have broken something, thus causing the current dispersion effect.
This is a long standing issue that exists probably since the stand alone version of DCS:A-10C. At least the parameter for the dispersion in the LUA files had not changed since then.

First bug reports of this issue must have been made long prior december 2013 - that was when I experimented with this, but I know that it was reported already much earlier.
__________________
DCS - Digital Combat Simulator
"Don't get yourselves too excited" *


Flagrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 08:36 AM   #12
DirtyFret
Member
 
DirtyFret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel101 View Post
I mean, your mod has the same dispersion (or near) the one we got with older versions of DCS.

It is possible that some changes commited somewhere during the last few patches may have broken something, thus causing the current dispersion effect.
As Flagrum stated I dont think this has ever had a official fix. But If I understand correctly you like the tweak ? If so - then I am happy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flagrum View Post
This is a long standing issue that exists probably since the stand alone version of DCS:A-10C. At least the parameter for the dispersion in the LUA files had not changed since then.

First bug reports of this issue must have been made long prior december 2013 - that was when I experimented with this, but I know that it was reported already much earlier.
Indeed and it is your solution I have been using for quite sometime now . Thanks for pointing out how to modify the dispersion.

I tweaked the Da parameter to a 0.0008 and I tried to build a test range for the A10C on the ground where it would shoot at a concrete wall from 4000ft to test for the exact value of Da but my Mission editor skills failed me. I wanted to see what Da value would result in the 80% of bullets within 5mils at 4000ft. ref. http://fas.org/man/dod-101/sys/ac/equip/gau-8.htm

In the end I resorted to the test range set-up that I used on the YT video and using saved tracks to keep all of the other flight data identical between runs.
__________________
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic109142_3.gif
PewPew, "Stick 'em with the pointy end" "Vasilissa the Beautiful" HD Cockpit
DirtyFret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 07:41 PM   #13
DirtyFret
Member
 
DirtyFret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 222
Default

Working in 1.5.3. Split the MK-108 and GAU-8 tweaks to separate files. Tweaked the GAU-8 dispersion value a bit. Please let me know of any issues.
__________________
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic109142_3.gif
PewPew, "Stick 'em with the pointy end" "Vasilissa the Beautiful" HD Cockpit
DirtyFret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 12:01 AM   #14
Kippy
Member
 
Kippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Posts: 245
Default

Yep, here to report an issue. Upon activating the mod in JSGME, the game simply decides it won't launch. Running 1.5.3.5.1218. I will provide some more info once I get home, I'll see if it generates a crash log.
Kippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 11:07 AM   #15
Axelerator
Senior Member
 
Axelerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,101
Default

I recommend using the following method in order to avoid messing with the entire config file itself. Otherwise you would probably make it revert to an older version than what you currently have. I've installed this mod for the Gau-8 only so I won't be able to tell you what to do for the MK108. Here is the procedure for the Gau-8:

To make this mod work you don't need to install anything. All you need to do is the following

Find the file "shell_table.lua" located in C:\program files\eagle dynamics\DCS World\Config\Weapons

In this .lua file search for gau8, find the line Da0 and replace the current value by 0.0009

Do that for the three different gau8 round types listed. You're done.

Last edited by Axelerator; 04-28-2016 at 10:04 PM.
Axelerator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 08:27 PM   #16
DirtyFret
Member
 
DirtyFret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whiskey2 View Post
Yep, here to report an issue. Upon activating the mod in JSGME, the game simply decides it won't launch. Running 1.5.3.5.1218. I will provide some more info once I get home, I'll see if it generates a crash log.
Thanks for letting me know. Hmmm, if you running into problems Axelerators advice is solid. That's how I used to do it also.

I just tested it and have actively being using this tweak with JSGME for a while now in 1.5.3 with no stability issues or Crash to Desktop issues. If you have any clues on what might be causing it please let me know.
__________________
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic109142_3.gif
PewPew, "Stick 'em with the pointy end" "Vasilissa the Beautiful" HD Cockpit

Last edited by DirtyFret; 04-29-2016 at 08:29 PM.
DirtyFret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 09:29 AM   #17
x39crazy
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 133
Default

I just played with the 30mm tweak as it was giving me issues.
The k-4.lua in the mod seems to have been an older one than the current update (1.5.3 open beta for me)and simply had no MW-50 for the Kurfurst.

But while I was in there I got curious. Im GUESSING that the v0 for the rounds is in m/s? Is that correct? Your value of 600 seems much closer than the stock 500 value if so.
Also how is the explosive weight measured? kilos?
EDIT: Regardless, loving this now. 2 hits and a pony is confetti.
x39crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 10:25 PM   #18
DirtyFret
Member
 
DirtyFret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by x39crazy View Post
I just played with the 30mm tweak as it was giving me issues.
The k-4.lua in the mod seems to have been an older one than the current update (1.5.3 open beta for me)and simply had no MW-50 for the Kurfurst.

But while I was in there I got curious. Im GUESSING that the v0 for the rounds is in m/s? Is that correct? Your value of 600 seems much closer than the stock 500 value if so.
Also how is the explosive weight measured? kilos?
EDIT: Regardless, loving this now. 2 hits and a pony is confetti.
Thanks for spotting this. I'll try to fix this issue asap.

I assumed it's m/s and kg, but that's just an guess. I totally made up those values based on my tests, I wanted 1-3 hits to kill a pony and 3-5 hits to kill a bomber.

Ill try to see if I can fix that MW50 issue.
__________________
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic109142_3.gif
PewPew, "Stick 'em with the pointy end" "Vasilissa the Beautiful" HD Cockpit
DirtyFret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2016, 07:03 PM   #19
DirtyFret
Member
 
DirtyFret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 222
Default

Yeah, pretty sure the values are m/s and kg, I found in other .lua lines comment lines indicating so.

Fixed the MW50 issue. Should be working now. Links updated in #1 post.
__________________
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic109142_3.gif
PewPew, "Stick 'em with the pointy end" "Vasilissa the Beautiful" HD Cockpit
DirtyFret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 02:12 PM   #20
Gliptal
Senior Member
 
Gliptal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Trento, Italy
Posts: 1,564
Default

Thanks, downloading the GAU-8 tweak now.
Gliptal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cannon, gau-8, mk108, mod

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:31 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.