DDR4 prices are insane - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2017, 02:00 PM   #1
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 3,334
Reputation power: 18
BitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really nice
Default DDR4 prices are insane

It is no secret that DRAM is at a high price for numerous reasons but this is getting ridiculous.

My own kit is now at 500€, any decent 3200 AMD Kit 32GB/4x8 is roughly 420€ or more.


Thing is, I am building a new rig for either my son or myself, then he'll get my bare bones.

I was looking for a combo I built before, same 1600X for 220€ and Asus Prime 370 Pro for 140€.

Those 16GB/2x8 (only) for him at 3200MHz/CL14 ( he's a gamer ) is a whoppin' 265€ alone.


Those are insane RAM prices
__________________
Asus Prime-Z270-A - Intel i7-7700K @ 5.0/1.330v adaptive LLC6 Phase_140%-Extreme - 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 XMP 3600 CL16 vDimm VCCIO 1.30v VSA 1.35v - Asus 980GTX Poseidon wc @ 1500/8000 - 2 x Samsung 850 Pro 256GB - 1 x Samsung 840 Evo 250GB - 2 x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT @ 4 x 180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Win10Pro64 - Corsair Carbide 500r Case 5x120mm 1x200mm fans
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 02:27 PM   #2
Silvern
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 126
Reputation power: 2
Silvern is on a distinguished road
Default

In May 2017, I paid 140€ for a 2x8GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM. (and even that was too expensive!)

Exact same kit today goes for 230€! Insane.
Silvern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 02:34 PM   #3
GeorgeLKMT
Senior Member
 
GeorgeLKMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 1,589
Reputation power: 28
GeorgeLKMT is a name known to allGeorgeLKMT is a name known to allGeorgeLKMT is a name known to allGeorgeLKMT is a name known to allGeorgeLKMT is a name known to allGeorgeLKMT is a name known to allGeorgeLKMT is a name known to allGeorgeLKMT is a name known to allGeorgeLKMT is a name known to allGeorgeLKMT is a name known to allGeorgeLKMT is a name known to all
Default

Yup it's ridiculous. 60€ -> 175€ since July 2016 for my kit. When I upgraded back then, at first I though "maybe I should've waited a few months for Kaby Lake", but seeing those prices, I'll take my Skylake over these insane prices any day.
__________________
L-39C/ZA Czech cockpit mod My DCS skinsHD Moon mod
GeorgeLKMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 03:08 PM   #4
Hadwell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,117
Reputation power: 11
Hadwell is just really niceHadwell is just really niceHadwell is just really niceHadwell is just really niceHadwell is just really niceHadwell is just really niceHadwell is just really niceHadwell is just really niceHadwell is just really niceHadwell is just really nice
Default

http://www.pcgamer.com/samsung-to-in...inue-to-climb/
__________________
My youtube channel Remember: the fun is in the fight, not the kill, so say NO! to the AIM-120.
System specs: P8Z68-V Pro, i7 2600k@4.6GHz, 16GB 1866 RAM, EVGA 1080ti FTW3, 27" Samsung SA350 1080p, 27" BenQ GW2765HT 1440p, ASUS ROG PG278Q 1440p G-SYNC
Controls: Saitek throttle quadrant, rudder pedals, X-55 Rhino, TrackIR 5+pro clip, Oculus Rift
Hadwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 06:23 PM   #5
Johnny_Rico
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 506
Reputation power: 3
Johnny_Rico has a spectacular aura aboutJohnny_Rico has a spectacular aura aboutJohnny_Rico has a spectacular aura aboutJohnny_Rico has a spectacular aura about
Default

indeed, I just spend a urine extractly high price for a 4 x 8G kits @ 3866Mhz
__________________
4 Sling Load cargo Bugs introduced in 1.5.7
Cargo rope stretching <-----> Ownership locked

Cannot Hook on Oil rigs <-----> Rope sticking up in Air
Johnny_Rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 06:39 PM   #6
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 16,279
Reputation power: 86
SkateZilla is a splendid one to beholdSkateZilla is a splendid one to beholdSkateZilla is a splendid one to beholdSkateZilla is a splendid one to beholdSkateZilla is a splendid one to beholdSkateZilla is a splendid one to beholdSkateZilla is a splendid one to beholdSkateZilla is a splendid one to beholdSkateZilla is a splendid one to beholdSkateZilla is a splendid one to beholdSkateZilla is a splendid one to behold
Default

i remember when this issue hit DDR3,

my 16GB kit was $79 when I built my rig, when I built my brother's same kit was $215 w/ Discounts.
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 07:41 PM   #7
<Blaze>
Senior Member
 
<Blaze>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,030
Reputation power: 11
<Blaze> is just really nice<Blaze> is just really nice<Blaze> is just really nice<Blaze> is just really nice<Blaze> is just really nice<Blaze> is just really nice<Blaze> is just really nice<Blaze> is just really nice<Blaze> is just really nice<Blaze> is just really nice
Default

Guess I'm not going to upgrade from 16 to 32 anytime soon.
__________________


How do you kill 2 flankers with 1 wing?


A good fighter pilot is either trying to get high or is already high!
<Blaze> is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 07:57 PM   #8
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 3,334
Reputation power: 18
BitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really niceBitMaster is just really nice
Default

If I knew what to do

I need to spend a payment I get in hardware, no cash. Somewhere between 1500 and 3600€.

Either I build this 1600X-AsusX370Pro-16GB kit for my son ( he got 750GTX-Ti, 850Pro-SSD, H110-AIO, Case + PSU from Corsair) and I get myself a 1080Ti plus some other stuff to beef up my PC like a 960Pro-NVMe and a Laptop that I can sell to my sister in law, mouse and keyboard for everybody and stuff like that, as I personally actually dont want that 1080Ti NOW, I could wait for a 2080Ti, I am happy with my rig as-it-is. And I dont know zillions of people now that want that much in parts, so I might end up with this:

AMD 1950X
Asus ROG Zenith Extreme 10G
32GB Gskill FlareX 3200 Made for TR4
Gigabyte Aorus 1080Ti Waterforce
Heatkiller IV for TR4

..and pass my CPU-GPU-RAM-MOBO to my son. Luckily my GPU also has fans, hybrid, as he only runs this Corsair Closed Loop H110 thing.

I am most certain that DCS will still perform good enough on 4-4.2G on XFR with a 1080Ti and 1440p, I dont need 144fps, 100-120 is ok too if my lowest fps over Vegas still go up due to the 1080Ti and not down because of the change of CPU, 5G->4G.


I really dont need a 1950X, tho it would be nice to have, but neither do I need 2 x 1080Ti or 3 external radiators. SO I think, if it turns out to be 3.6k and all in Hardware, then I build this Threadripper kit plus a nice little 600€ laptop for my sister in law for which she will pay me out.

That damn FlareX certified TR4 DRAM is 472€ for 4x8/32GB......yikes !!!
__________________
Asus Prime-Z270-A - Intel i7-7700K @ 5.0/1.330v adaptive LLC6 Phase_140%-Extreme - 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 XMP 3600 CL16 vDimm VCCIO 1.30v VSA 1.35v - Asus 980GTX Poseidon wc @ 1500/8000 - 2 x Samsung 850 Pro 256GB - 1 x Samsung 840 Evo 250GB - 2 x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT @ 4 x 180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Win10Pro64 - Corsair Carbide 500r Case 5x120mm 1x200mm fans
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 08:03 PM   #9
Simicro
Member
 
Simicro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Paris - France
Posts: 373
Reputation power: 10
Simicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really nice
Default

I bought Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600Mhz CL9 XMP one month ago for 130 euros
__________________
- Tony -


. DCS 1.5.6 - My DCS Reviews and Articles: Oilfield Campaign - Argo Campaign (New!)
. i5 4670K @4.3 GHz - 16 Gb DDR3 - MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X 8G - SSD 256 Gb - Win 7 x64 - ASUS PG278QR 27" 2K @165 Hz G-Sync - MS FFB2 modded / CH Fighterstick - VKB T-Rudder Mk.IV
. My deepest thanks to Devrim (Mi-8 English Cockpit), Mudspike (UH-1H Gauges Mod), Chuck (DCS Tutorial Library), SkateZilla (DCS Updater Guide), BIGNEWY (Cleanup and Repair DCS World)
Simicro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 08:12 PM   #10
Simicro
Member
 
Simicro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Paris - France
Posts: 373
Reputation power: 10
Simicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really niceSimicro is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
I am most certain that DCS will still perform good enough on 4-4.2G on XFR with a 1080Ti and 1440p
I don't know XFR, but with an i5 4.3 Ghz and a 1080 I get between 80 and 144+ fps @ 1440 in freeflight in the vicinity of Tsibili airport. I attach my settings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	simicro_dcs_settings.png
Views:	29
Size:	379.9 KB
ID:	172181  
__________________
- Tony -


. DCS 1.5.6 - My DCS Reviews and Articles: Oilfield Campaign - Argo Campaign (New!)
. i5 4670K @4.3 GHz - 16 Gb DDR3 - MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X 8G - SSD 256 Gb - Win 7 x64 - ASUS PG278QR 27" 2K @165 Hz G-Sync - MS FFB2 modded / CH Fighterstick - VKB T-Rudder Mk.IV
. My deepest thanks to Devrim (Mi-8 English Cockpit), Mudspike (UH-1H Gauges Mod), Chuck (DCS Tutorial Library), SkateZilla (DCS Updater Guide), BIGNEWY (Cleanup and Repair DCS World)
Simicro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:52 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.