L-39 and Warthog throttle - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2017, 07:19 PM   #1
L-39beeratros
Junior Member
 
L-39beeratros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 18
Reputation power: 0
L-39beeratros is on a distinguished road
Default L-39 and Warthog throttle

Hello, I recently got my Thrustmaster Warthog throttle and I'm having a hard time setting up buttons for L-39 actions.
For example: the throttle has great toggle for air brakes, which works just as in real L-39 (one way spring loaded, other way fixed, middle position retracted) but I'm unable to map the middle position for retracting (while trying to assing the middle position DCS options don't register anything), and it's the same with some other switches - for example the 2 switches in bottom left corner of throttle body would serve nicely as pitot heat switches, however again I'm only able to map 1 position to action, not the other one.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for any advice!
L-39beeratros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 09:03 PM   #2
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 3,088
Reputation power: 38
Frederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to Frederf
Default

Without TARGET the device only outputs a button on the up-down positions, nothing for middle. It's the same for all the other switches, if it has N positions then it has N-1 button numbers assigned to it.

The DCS A-10C has special control lua definitions that have to be held down to keep the switch on. If the button press stops then it enacts the other switch position. The L-39 probably doesn't have that already but it should be able to be written by some user.

The other option is a TARGET profile which generates some bindable output on middle flap position.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 05:57 PM   #3
L-39beeratros
Junior Member
 
L-39beeratros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 18
Reputation power: 0
L-39beeratros is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks, looks like I'll have to see what's that TARGET thing about
L-39beeratros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 08:53 PM   #4
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,458
Reputation power: 9
feefifofum is just really nicefeefifofum is just really nicefeefifofum is just really nicefeefifofum is just really nicefeefifofum is just really nicefeefifofum is just really nicefeefifofum is just really nicefeefifofum is just really nicefeefifofum is just really nicefeefifofum is just really nice
Default

Look in the input/output forum for instructions on setting up custom .lua profiles for your Warthog. I'd recommend steering clear of TARGET, as you'll be forced to reload your profile every time you change aircraft.
__________________
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 09:20 AM   #5
L-39beeratros
Junior Member
 
L-39beeratros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 18
Reputation power: 0
L-39beeratros is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks but I already fought my battle with TARGET yesterday and finally won - everything mapped nicely as I hoped it would be. Only disadvantage is that I have to run TARGET software before I start DCS.
L-39beeratros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 09:44 AM   #6
Morpheus
Member
 
Morpheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 301
Reputation power: 7
Morpheus will become famous soon enoughMorpheus will become famous soon enough
Default

You can start TARGET after DCS and change profile "in game" when you change plane. Only problem is with Teamspeak, you have to launch TS after TARGET profile and live TS before changing profile
__________________
Morpheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 04:32 AM   #7
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 3,088
Reputation power: 38
Frederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to Frederf
Default

Not always before! DCS happily discovers joysticks plugged in during runtime.

I was curious if the LUA edit made it possible and surprisingly it works without any visible sideeffects.

Code:
-- Flaps
{down = iCommandPlaneFlaps,    up = iCommandPlaneFlaps,        value_down = 1,    value_up = 4,    name = _('Flaps Flight Position'),        category = {_('Flight Control'), _('Left Console')}},
{down = iCommandPlaneFlaps,    up = iCommandPlaneFlaps,        value_down = 2,    value_up = 5,    name = _('Flaps TakeOff Position'),        category = {_('Flight Control'), _('Left Console')}},
{down = iCommandPlaneFlaps,    up = iCommandPlaneFlaps,        value_down = 3,    value_up = 6,    name = _('Flaps Landing Position'),        category = {_('Flight Control'), _('Left Console')}},
{down = iCommandPlaneFlaps,    up = iCommandPlaneFlaps,        value_down = 1,    value_up = 2,    name = _('Flaps Up (Hold)'),        category = {_('Flight Control'), _('Left Console')}},
{down = iCommandPlaneFlaps,    up = iCommandPlaneFlaps,        value_down = 3,    value_up = 2,    name = _('Flaps Down (Hold)'),        category = {_('Flight Control'), _('Left Console')}},
The last two lines are added to the appropriate controller .lua in \DCS\Mods\aircraft\L-39C\Input\L-39C\joystick. In this case it was Throttle - HOTAS Warthog.lua as it matches the name of the controller. If there was no such file then the edit would go into default.lua.

The state on up button press are 1, 2 on release. The states 1 and 2 are to press the top and middle button respectively. The second command sets state 3 on press (buttom button) and 2 on release (middle button).

After this edit is accomplished all that is left is to start DCS (without TARGET running) and assign the buttons 22 & 23 to the new commands in the 'Flight Control' section. Now all three buttons are accessed logically by the output of these two buttons naturally using the Thrustmaster controller without TARGET.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 03:37 PM   #8
Morpheus
Member
 
Morpheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 301
Reputation power: 7
Morpheus will become famous soon enoughMorpheus will become famous soon enough
Default

Thans for this, I think update "erase" these lines no ?
__________________
Morpheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 08:15 PM   #9
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 3,088
Reputation power: 38
Frederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to allFrederf is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to Frederf
Default

Possibly
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 07:31 PM   #10
EinsteinEP
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Posts: 467
Reputation power: 23
EinsteinEP is a glorious beacon of lightEinsteinEP is a glorious beacon of lightEinsteinEP is a glorious beacon of lightEinsteinEP is a glorious beacon of lightEinsteinEP is a glorious beacon of lightEinsteinEP is a glorious beacon of lightEinsteinEP is a glorious beacon of lightEinsteinEP is a glorious beacon of lightEinsteinEP is a glorious beacon of lightEinsteinEP is a glorious beacon of lightEinsteinEP is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morpheus View Post
Thans for this, I think update "erase" these lines no ?
Yes they can.
__________________
Shoot to Kill.
Play to Have Fun.
EinsteinEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:01 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.