Release Version Dedicated Server - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2019, 09:01 PM   #1
DigitalEngine
Member
 
DigitalEngine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: U.S.
Posts: 979
Default Release Version Dedicated Server

A server rookie question (completely to setting up and operation a server).
I'm wanting to learn how to set and run a dedicated server for DCS, however, I would like the server to run the "Release Version" of DCS. Of course, I'm assuming as of this date, where the Open beta has migrated to release, all are the same and the question is irrelevant.

1. However, when the open beta and stable release are two different versions, will the dedicated server automatically update to match the latest open beta release?

2. And, can the dedicated serve be reverted back to a previous version (last stable release) using the cmd line syntax, for example, "dcs_updater.exe update 2.5.5.33184" ?
__________________
CPU = Intel i7-6700K
Motherboard = ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero Alpha, w/ the Intel Z170 Chipset,
RAM = 64 Gigs of Ripjaws V F4-3400C16Q.
GPU = Zotac GTX980ti Amp Extreme
Hard-drive = Samsung V-NAD SSD 950 PRO M.2
Cooling = Corsair H100i V2 water cooler, plus RAM mounted fans.

Corsair Vengeance® C70 Mid-Tower Gaming Case — Military Green
OS = Windows 10 64bit
Power supply = EVGA 1200P2
HTC Vive
DigitalEngines's Twitch Channel, Youtube Channel

Last edited by DigitalEngine; 07-12-2019 at 02:40 PM.
DigitalEngine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 01:43 AM   #2
Grimes
ED Testers Team
 
Grimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Black Mesa
Posts: 7,933
Default

The install works exactly like a normal DCS install. So it will update to whichever branch its been told to update to. You can switch it via: dcs_updater.exe update @release or dcs_updater.exe update @openbeta.

Yes you can revert it, but unlike a normal install it can only go back to whenever the dedicated server was introduced. Otherwise the DS code will be missing along with a normal way to launch the game.
__________________
You can only tie the world record for lowest flight.
Current Projects: Scripting Wiki, Something...
Useful Links: Mission Scripting Tools MIST-(GitHub) MIST-(Thread), SLMOD for DCS 1.5/2.0, IADScript, Mission Editing Wiki!, Mission Building Forum
Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 02:42 PM   #3
DigitalEngine
Member
 
DigitalEngine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: U.S.
Posts: 979
Default

Thanks Grimes!!
__________________
CPU = Intel i7-6700K
Motherboard = ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero Alpha, w/ the Intel Z170 Chipset,
RAM = 64 Gigs of Ripjaws V F4-3400C16Q.
GPU = Zotac GTX980ti Amp Extreme
Hard-drive = Samsung V-NAD SSD 950 PRO M.2
Cooling = Corsair H100i V2 water cooler, plus RAM mounted fans.

Corsair Vengeance® C70 Mid-Tower Gaming Case — Military Green
OS = Windows 10 64bit
Power supply = EVGA 1200P2
HTC Vive
DigitalEngines's Twitch Channel, Youtube Channel
DigitalEngine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:08 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.