Enemy radar detection triggering. - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2011, 12:11 PM   #1
Charlie_01
Member
 
Charlie_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Rome. Italy
Posts: 184
Question Enemy radar detection triggering.

Does a directly-related to enemy radar detection trigger exist?

I'm trying to achieve this effect mixing "unit's altitude higher than..." and "unit in zone" rules, but it is muddled a lot, because I have to make a lot of trigger zone, according each terrain profile's variation in the path into detection area. I have also to assume that simply flying higher than X altitude for a moment I would be surely immediately detected...
Charlie_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 01:52 PM   #2
Druid_
Senior Member
 
Druid_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dubai (Expat)
Posts: 2,274
Default

Enemy radar detection is automatic. i.e. Once you activate the radar unit it will detect and fire at preset ranges according to its radar & missile type. Terrain masking will break lock.

If you are trying to control the radar outside the AI presets then UNIT IN ZONE / UNITS ALT triggers on the A10c and GROUP AI ON and GROUP AI OFF on your Radar/SAM unit are your only options. There are no triggers specific to the Radar unit.
__________________
i7-7700K : 16Gb DDR4 2800 Mhz : Asus Mobo : 2TB HDD : Intel 520 SSD 240gb : RTX 2080ti: Win10 64pro : Dx10 : TrackiR4 : TM Warthog : ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q
Druid_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 03:54 PM   #3
Speed
Veteran
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 4,078
Default

It's incredibly cumbersome to do any kind of radar detection simulation through the mission editor's trigger system, and partly for this reason one of the functions I'm including in the next version of my mission editor mod, "slmod", is a line of sight function. It sets a flag when certain, specified (set by the mission creator in the function call) units go line of sight to each other. Thanks for asking about this... I had forgot that I wanted to add an additional, optional, "radius" input variable that allows you to optionally specify a max distance between the two units beyond which the LOS check will not occur.

Taking this concept even further, it would be relatively simple to add a dedicated radar detection function sometime in the future that sets a flags based off of the conditions of being line of sight, inside a maximum range, relative velocity to the radar being greater than a simulated doppler notch velocity, whether or not you are sky-lined (to take into effect ground clutter), and time of exposure to the radar.
__________________
Intelligent discourse can only begin with the honest admission of your own fallibility.
Member of the Virtual Tactical Air Group: http://vtacticalairgroup.com/
Lua scripts and mods:
MIssion Scripting Tools (Mist): http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=98616
Slmod version 7.0 for DCS: World: http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=80979
Now includes remote server administration tools for kicking, banning, loading missions, etc.

Last edited by Speed; 10-22-2011 at 04:17 PM.
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 05:33 PM   #4
Charlie_01
Member
 
Charlie_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Rome. Italy
Posts: 184
Default

Maybe is better I explain myself more clear...

I'm building my own misson and I want to simulate an enemy forces alert due to a possible detection from a nearby SAM site's radar.
Part of flight path is into SAM range but into the mountains too, so you should have to fly low in the valleys to prevent detection.

My present objective is just to simulate the general alert of enemy forces if you are detected by SAM site's radar, but seems not to be a trigger that make this.
Charlie_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:18 PM   #5
Bushmanni
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Finland, Kuopio
Posts: 1,297
Default

It would be nice if ED added a trigger to check for detection, ie. unit, group or coalition has detected other unit, group or coalition. This detection checking is done already anyways so maybe it wouldn't be too hard to add it to trigger rules. This would have lot's of use in missions to make AI react more believably to spotted enemies.
Bushmanni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 08:13 PM   #6
Speed
Veteran
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 4,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie_01 View Post
Maybe is better I explain myself more clear...
...
but seems not to be a trigger that make this.
Are you stating this fact, or are you asking a question? If you are asking a question, what is it? Seems like you're just stating a fact that no mission editor trigger condition exists for radar detection. And if you are stating this as a fact, yes, it is correct, but this is not the whole story, because very soon a mod will be available that lets you simulate radar detection with mission editor trigger logic in multiplayer games.
__________________
Intelligent discourse can only begin with the honest admission of your own fallibility.
Member of the Virtual Tactical Air Group: http://vtacticalairgroup.com/
Lua scripts and mods:
MIssion Scripting Tools (Mist): http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=98616
Slmod version 7.0 for DCS: World: http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=80979
Now includes remote server administration tools for kicking, banning, loading missions, etc.

Last edited by Speed; 10-22-2011 at 08:31 PM.
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 07:58 PM   #7
Charlie_01
Member
 
Charlie_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Rome. Italy
Posts: 184
Default

I'm stating the fact that seems to be in my knwoledge and I'm also implying the question: does someone know more than me about this?
But it seems you gave me already the answer: a further mod is needed to achieve this so it's not possible at the present, however not directly.
So for the time being I have to be satisfied with the indirect solution I found out.

Last edited by Charlie_01; 10-23-2011 at 08:07 PM.
Charlie_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 08:18 PM   #8
Charlie_01
Member
 
Charlie_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Rome. Italy
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bushmanni View Post
It would be nice if ED added a trigger to check for detection, ie. unit, group or coalition has detected other unit, group or coalition. This detection checking is done already anyways so maybe it wouldn't be too hard to add it to trigger rules. This would have lot's of use in missions to make AI react more believably to spotted enemies.
This is a very good thing you could add to the following thread:
http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=80228

I hope ED would read that before they'll release next patch so they could fulfill some of customers' expectations...
Charlie_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 06:20 AM   #9
Speed
Veteran
 
Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 4,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie_01 View Post
I'm stating the fact that seems to be in my knwoledge and I'm also implying the question: does someone know more than me about this?
But it seems you gave me already the answer: a further mod is needed to achieve this so it's not possible at the present, however not directly.
So for the time being I have to be satisfied with the indirect solution I found out.

Quote:
This is a very good thing you could add to the following thread:
http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=80228

I hope ED would read that before they'll release next patch so they could fulfill some of customers' expectations...
Ok, thanks, I wasn't sure I was understanding you clearly.

I do believe that ED has mentioned that they would like to create internal scripting for an IADS- that is, an Integrated Air Defense System. IRL, SAM sites, early warning radars, probably AWACS , etc, can be data linked to share targets and respond to threats more intelligently. If the ED team does in fact make an IADS a reality, then I wouldn't be surprised at all if we got a "unit detected by radar" trigger. But most likely, you will have to wait till next module, or later. A good IADS isn't simple to program.

Also, understand that the development cycle is fairly slow. ED can't just make something like a "unit detected by radar" trigger condition appear out of thin air. They have A LOT of things they are trying to juggle, and I doubt that such a trigger is on their radar Even if they decided to make a trigger such as this, right now, off of these posts, the fact is we're starting to get patch notes for 1.1.1.0, meaning, the patch is just about to be released, so they aren't about to start adding new, major things to it.
__________________
Intelligent discourse can only begin with the honest admission of your own fallibility.
Member of the Virtual Tactical Air Group: http://vtacticalairgroup.com/
Lua scripts and mods:
MIssion Scripting Tools (Mist): http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=98616
Slmod version 7.0 for DCS: World: http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=80979
Now includes remote server administration tools for kicking, banning, loading missions, etc.

Last edited by Speed; 10-24-2011 at 06:28 AM.
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 03:33 PM   #10
francocavallini
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Any news on this from ED?
Definitely a must have feature for me!
francocavallini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:06 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.