How is fingerlift supposed to work? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2019, 04:43 PM   #1
Larkis
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 388
Default How is fingerlift supposed to work?

For my understanding the fingerlift button is the barrier between milpower and afterburner and betwenn flight/ground idle.

Wenn go full throttle i get milpower, pressing fingerlift will start afterburner.

Wenn landing on a field i take throttle to zero and go to flight idle. Using fingerlift will give ground idle.

Thats my understanding. But it dont seem to work. When i move to 100% throttle i allways get afterburner (for example on carrierstart). And when i land on the field and move throttle to zero and press fingerlift nothing happens.

The button seems to be correct, i see the fingerlift moving.

Is there something i missing? Btw i fly in sim mode.
Larkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 05:20 PM   #2
Gierasimov
Senior Member
 
Gierasimov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Undisclosed NATO country
Posts: 1,336
Default

First, check finger lift option in Hornet section of the options window.
Finger lifts must be up before you move throttles and not after as you described.
Also, afterburner finger lift is needed when cat shot and not when land take-off in real jet (I.E. option Afterburner detent = Only carrier), so the option is there to switch between realistic and other settings. Check OPTIONS > SPECIAL >F/A-18C


As for how do finger lifts work:
1. FL on the front of each throttle must be raised to place the throttles OFF.

2. With weight on the wheels, launch bar retracted and the arresting hook UP or with weight off the wheels, afterburner operation is initiated by advancing the throttles through the MIL detent gates into MAX.

3. On the ground, an afterburner lockout system helps guard against inadvertent afterburner selection.

4. With weight on the wheels and launch bar extended OR the arresting hook DOWN, the afterburner lockout extends and the finger lifts must be raised or a force of approximately 32 pounds must be applied before the throttles can be moved to MAX.

Last edited by Gierasimov; 09-21-2019 at 05:37 PM. Reason: details added
Gierasimov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 05:34 PM   #3
Gierasimov
Senior Member
 
Gierasimov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Undisclosed NATO country
Posts: 1,336
Default

Gierasimov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 06:53 PM   #4
SPS48A
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 24
Default

Bit confused.

1) Doesn't seem to be implemented in DCS - is this correct? I cannot get my throttle to go into cutoff by lifting the finger lifts and going to minimum HOTAS throttle.

2) & 3) Seem to conflict with each other. 2) says lock out fingers should not stop advancement into AB and 3) Says it should. Are you just saying we may want to choose the option that keeps the lockout active all the time? Or is this how it really works?

4) Makes sense, wouldn't want to mistakenly go into AB on a flight deck.

Also, do you have your HOTAS thrust curve set up linearly? I struggle with throttle control on the F18.
SPS48A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 01:25 AM   #5
Ziptie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 1,178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS48A View Post
Bit confused.

1) Doesn't seem to be implemented in DCS - is this correct? I cannot get my throttle to go into cutoff by lifting the finger lifts and going to minimum HOTAS throttle.

2) & 3) Seem to conflict with each other. 2) says lock out fingers should not stop advancement into AB and 3) Says it should. Are you just saying we may want to choose the option that keeps the lockout active all the time? Or is this how it really works?

4) Makes sense, wouldn't want to mistakenly go into AB on a flight deck.

Also, do you have your HOTAS thrust curve set up linearly? I struggle with throttle control on the F18.
What throttles do you use? If Wartog HOTAS, you need to bind the cutoff/idle to each, the left and right throttle levers. Otherwise, throttles will not be able to place into cutoff.


Cheers,

Don (callsign Ziptie)
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 32GB HyperX Fury ddr4-2133 ram, GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig SSD drives (one soley for DCS OpenBeta standalone) Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

Airframes: A10C, F/A-18C, F-14B, FC3, Combined Arms. Terrains: Persian Gulf, Nevada NTTR
Ziptie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:35 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.