DCS-BIOS Discussion Thread - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2015, 11:46 PM   #1
[FSF]Ian
ED Testers Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 1,213
Reputation power: 12
[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice
Default DCS-BIOS Discussion Thread

Please post general feedback and ideas or requests for new features here. If you just started using DCS-BIOS, it would be helpful to know your previous experience in electronics and programming, what you have built with DCS-BIOS, and which parts of the documentation confused you the most while figuring out how to do it.

Questions about how to use DCS-BIOS should go into their own thread, for bug reports I prefer GitHub but I also accept them via PM.
[FSF]Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 07:29 PM   #2
Bluethornton
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portsmouth UK
Posts: 127
Reputation power: 6
Bluethornton is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Ian,
Not question really, but stumbled on this web page which sounds interesting for segment displays. Any thoughts on this type of approach/compatibility? http://www.flightsimparts.eu/Simulator_Arduino.html

Neal
__________________
Desktop PC:
Intel i7 4760K, ASUS MOBO, 16 GB RAM , GPU Nvidia GTX 1080
Windows 10, TM Warthog, TM Cougar MFD, Crosswind rudder peddles, 3 BenQ W1070 projectors, curved screen and 1x24 inch touch screen for Helios.
Bluethornton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 02:12 AM   #3
Warhog
Member
 
Warhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Outside of Toronto,Canada
Posts: 622
Reputation power: 7
Warhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluethornton View Post
Hi Ian,
Not question really, but stumbled on this web page which sounds interesting for segment displays. Any thoughts on this type of approach/compatibility? http://www.flightsimparts.eu/Simulator_Arduino.html

Neal
Neal, it's just a pcb with a MAX7219 chip. That's how you are suppose to drive 7seg displays with MCU's like Arduino's. If you check out the Arduino web site there are lots of examples and sample code for it.

My Tacan, ILS and all my radios use 7 seg dispalys with DCS-BiOS and Ardiuno Pro Minis. If you can make your own PCB then don't bother with this, otherwise its not a bad idea as long as they don't get stupid with the price.
__________________
Regards
John W
aka WarHog.

Pictures of my A10C Cockpit Panels under Construction:
http://s221.photobucket.com/user/MRA...ckpit%20Panels

"NEW PHOTOS" http://s1168.photobucket.com/user/Pi...?sort=2&page=1

https://www.flickr.com/photos/jfwall/

=31st Combined Operations Group=
A10C Warthog/UH-1 Huey
Warhog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 07:35 AM   #4
[FSF]Ian
ED Testers Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 1,213
Reputation power: 12
[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluethornton View Post
Hi Ian,
Not question really, but stumbled on this web page which sounds interesting for segment displays. Any thoughts on this type of approach/compatibility? http://www.flightsimparts.eu/Simulator_Arduino.html

Neal
The site has conflicting information. The video and pictures show a board with one MAX7219 chip that can handle 8 digits. The text talks about a board with two MAX7219 chips that can handle 16 digits. I don't think they are charging too much (I couldn't offer something like that in low quantities at a lower price), but I do think the price is way too high. All that board saves you is connecting a single resistor. You are better off building your own on strip board (the MAX7219 is available in the larger DIP package).

Depending on your application, you may even be able to use a module like this that integrates the MAX7219 chip and the 7-segment display on a single PCB.
[FSF]Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 07:39 PM   #5
Warhog
Member
 
Warhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Outside of Toronto,Canada
Posts: 622
Reputation power: 7
Warhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the rough
Default

I just had a look at that web site again and I see they asking 26 Euro's with 10 Euros shipping. Thats like $40.00US And did I say stupidly priced. I think its down right robbery.

Now if you can solder, then assemble your own based on the following. Its really not very hard as I did it and last year I knew nothing about this stuff. I couldn't even solder worth a damn. I actually made my own PCB and went from there. But you can buy one from China and solder it up yourself save a shitload of money.

Here's the cost breakdown:
MAX 7219 from China - 2 for $1.50 = $0.75 ea.

PCB already made for you - $1.68
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1PC-NEW-MAX7...item27ebf57a1a

Connectors: $0.50
Couple of capacitors, a resistor and a bit of wire. $1.00

Complete cost in parts $3.93 and no shipping charges vs $40.00 from a commercial outlet.

Hello??? thats 10x the cost of making it yourself. Whats wrong with this picture people.

Make your own everyone. Its not that hard.
__________________
Regards
John W
aka WarHog.

Pictures of my A10C Cockpit Panels under Construction:
http://s221.photobucket.com/user/MRA...ckpit%20Panels

"NEW PHOTOS" http://s1168.photobucket.com/user/Pi...?sort=2&page=1

https://www.flickr.com/photos/jfwall/

=31st Combined Operations Group=
A10C Warthog/UH-1 Huey
Warhog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 08:04 PM   #6
Bluethornton
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portsmouth UK
Posts: 127
Reputation power: 6
Bluethornton is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi John and Ian
thanks for the insight into build your own, well worth the gamble on burnt fingers etc.

I will give it a go.
__________________
Desktop PC:
Intel i7 4760K, ASUS MOBO, 16 GB RAM , GPU Nvidia GTX 1080
Windows 10, TM Warthog, TM Cougar MFD, Crosswind rudder peddles, 3 BenQ W1070 projectors, curved screen and 1x24 inch touch screen for Helios.
Bluethornton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 08:15 AM   #7
G00dnight
Member
 
G00dnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 22 Miles from France
Posts: 508
Reputation power: 10
G00dnight has a spectacular aura aboutG00dnight has a spectacular aura aboutG00dnight has a spectacular aura aboutG00dnight has a spectacular aura about
Default

John you forgot the cost of a soldering iron and solder. Yes I know its something a lot of us have but not everyone.
__________________
AMD A8-5600K @ 4GHz, Radeon 7970 6Gig, 16 Gig Ram, Win 10 , 250 gig SSD, 40" Screen + 22 inch below, Track Ir, TMWH, Saitek combat pedals & a loose nut behind the stick
G00dnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 09:15 AM   #8
weeb
Member
 
weeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Scotland
Posts: 272
Reputation power: 4
weeb will become famous soon enoughweeb will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warhog View Post
I just had a look at that web site again and I see they asking 26 Euro's with 10 Euros shipping. Thats like $40.00US And did I say stupidly priced. I think its down right robbery.

Now if you can solder, then assemble your own based on the following. Its really not very hard as I did it and last year I knew nothing about this stuff. I couldn't even solder worth a damn. I actually made my own PCB and went from there. But you can buy one from China and solder it up yourself save a shitload of money.

Here's the cost breakdown:
MAX 7219 from China - 2 for $1.50 = $0.75 ea.

PCB already made for you - $1.68
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1PC-NEW-MAX7...item27ebf57a1a

Connectors: $0.50
Couple of capacitors, a resistor and a bit of wire. $1.00

Complete cost in parts $3.93 and no shipping charges vs $40.00 from a commercial outlet.

Hello??? thats 10x the cost of making it yourself. Whats wrong with this picture people.

Make your own everyone. Its not that hard.
Just ordered 4 of these to play about with. Is this what you are talking about John.?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3711859330...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
__________________
Windows 7 64 Home Premium, i5 3570K (3.4 @ 4.4GHz), Asus P8Z77-V LX, 16GB dual channel 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidia GTX980ti, 240 GB OCZ SSD, 3 TB Raptor, Thrustmaster Warthog Hotas and Throttle, Saitek Pro Combat Rudder pedals.
weeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 09:17 AM   #9
[FSF]Ian
ED Testers Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 1,213
Reputation power: 12
[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G00dnight View Post
John you forgot the cost of a soldering iron and solder. Yes I know its something a lot of us have but not everyone.
That still won't make the DIY way more expensive than buying that board, even if you count the complete one-time cost of the soldering iron against it. While I would strongly recommend getting a temperature-controlled soldering station if you plan to build an entire simpit, you can get away with one of those basic soldering irons that plug directly into mains (I do). I bought one as part of a "starter kit" for 10 bucks when I needed to solder a new barrel connector to a wall wart (it came with a plastic "solder sucker" and a small amount of solder) and have been using it ever since.

Also, even if you buy this board, you would probably need a soldering iron anyway to connect your 7-segment display.
[FSF]Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 11:32 AM   #10
Warhog
Member
 
Warhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Outside of Toronto,Canada
Posts: 622
Reputation power: 7
Warhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the roughWarhog is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weeb View Post
Just ordered 4 of these to play about with. Is this what you are talking about John.?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3711859330...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
That sure looks like the same thing Weeb. It even includes the capacitors and the resistor you need. But please be aware that the resistor value may not be correct. You need to get the data sheet for the MAX 7219 and read the section on calculating the resistor value based on your particular application. Its under in the section that describes the "iset" pin on the 7219.
__________________
Regards
John W
aka WarHog.

Pictures of my A10C Cockpit Panels under Construction:
http://s221.photobucket.com/user/MRA...ckpit%20Panels

"NEW PHOTOS" http://s1168.photobucket.com/user/Pi...?sort=2&page=1

https://www.flickr.com/photos/jfwall/

=31st Combined Operations Group=
A10C Warthog/UH-1 Huey
Warhog is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:45 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.