MI-8 losing power problem - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2017, 06:23 AM   #1
CzarPeppers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 17
Default MI-8 losing power problem

Since there is no forum for the MI-8 I figured I'd post it here, since it is the only helicopter with its own forum.

I went to fly a mission in the MI-8 today, the start procedure goes normally. But the moment I attempt to take off I get generator failures and not enough power going to the rotors to take off.

I have done the start procedure as I have many times before, and I have made multiple attempts paying extreme attention to my start checklist. But each time, I am unable to get enough lift to lift-off and I have failures in the various generators. I don't have random system failures set up for the helicopter on this mission either.

I've done many missions in the Mi-8, it being one of my favorite aircraft in the game. But this is the first time I have had this problem. What it seems to be acting like is the throttle isn't going to 100%, but I have checked the axis mapping and everything is in order.

Any ideas?
CzarPeppers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 06:38 AM   #2
Isegrim
Senior Member
 
Isegrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: EDDC
Posts: 2,448
Default

MI-8 Forum

https://forums.eagle.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=279
__________________

New DCS World KA-50 Blackshark and SU-25 Sound?

Bitte immer neue Wattestäbchen benutzen. Nicht nachschieben!
Isegrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 06:46 AM   #3
Vampyre
Member
 
Vampyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 905
Default

Need a little more information as well... Map, map location, QFE, fuel load, weapons load, air temperature. Are you using the PSS?
__________________
Truly superior pilots are those that use their superior judgment to avoid those situations where they might have to use their superior skills.

If you ever find yourself in a fair fight, your tactics suck!

"If at first you don't succeed, Carrier Landings are not for you!"
Vampyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 07:43 AM   #4
ebabil
Senior Member
 
ebabil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Turkiye/Istanbul
Posts: 2,428
Default

if you are at high altitude like a mountain or very heavy, mi-8 struggles to take off. try rolling take off
__________________
FC3 | UH-1H | Mi-8MTV2 | A-10C | F/A-18C | F-4E | F-14 | F-16C
Nevada | Syria
NS-430 | Carriers
Ultimate Argument | Oilfield | Argo | Border

Youtube
ebabil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 09:23 AM   #5
Art-J+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,619
Default

Generators going off indicate rotor RPM dropping below 90-ish %, so the question is why it's doing that. If you're absolutely sure the throttle is set to max before takeoff, than maybe as ebabil noted, you're lifting off too heavy, too fast and too high. Monitor your rotor RPM gauge carefully.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 11:07 AM   #6
AlphaOneSix
Veteran
 
AlphaOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,970
Default

Sounds like you are not twisting the throttle full right prior to takeoff.
AlphaOneSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 11:31 AM   #7
EntropySG
Member
 
EntropySG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 690
Default

maybe youre just adding too much collective, try by not pulling the collective
all the way up and find the sweet spot just before you add too much
__________________
EntropySG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 12:38 PM   #8
Cruiser18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 149
Default

Put up a replay and let us have a look at what you are doing.
Cruiser18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 01:18 PM   #9
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 4,977
Default

TBh, i never moved the throttle ( YES--FACEPALM !!!) but even then I could land and take-off again in the high mountain areas deploying EWR's and SAM sites.

True..sliding down the hill for 20m helps a lot in generating lift, but even without...just do it slow or you bounce the AP and Gyros
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 01:55 PM   #10
Pocket Sized+
Posting Rights Revoked
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
TBh, i never moved the throttle ( YES--FACEPALM !!!) but even then I could land and take-off again in the high mountain areas deploying EWR's and SAM sites.

True..sliding down the hill for 20m helps a lot in generating lift, but even without...just do it slow or you bounce the AP and Gyros
When you raise the collective, it moves the throttle lever up a bit automatically. Possibly this is how you managed to fly without twisting the throttle?
Pocket Sized is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:53 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.