Please fix. "Generator failure" problem - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2018, 02:03 PM   #1
Havremonster
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 338
Default Please fix. "Generator failure" problem

Please fix. "Generator failure" problem when using hot start. It can not be too much to ask for can IT?
Havremonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 10:00 AM   #2
Weta43
ED Testers Team
 
Weta43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aro Valley Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 6,625
Default

Do you mean how you get a "Generator Failure" message if you add collective too fast & let the RPM fall below where the generators drop off, or some other issue ?
__________________
Cheers.
Weta43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 12:53 PM   #3
Art-J+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,619
Default

That was my first thought as well, but now I think he means the pre-programmed, initial state of the whole powerplant system when the heli spawns in hot-start missions, which is not optimal at the moment.

Yesterday I checked the default ground start missions (training and instant) where the engines are already running. Looks like the heli always spawns with low collective and throttles on 75-80'ish % (and THAT's the problem). If we use "synchronize HOTAS with controls" option and crank the throttle to max, so that governor starts working, after hitting the "Fly" button the engines fluctuate in RPM and spool up to their max RPM, which takes quite a few seconds. That will cause decrease of rotor RPM down to about 90% depending on outer conditions. Not a big deal on the ground, as we're still above generator disengage treshold. Eventually both engine and rotor RPM get up to their recommended values.

However, the same throttle state when spawning in the air forces the player to either drop collective in order to wait for the engines to spool up (thus causing significant loss of altitude), or to overload the rotor if some collective was added before hitting "Fly" button (thus the heli will not descend that much, but rotor RPM will surely drop below generator disengage treshold).

All aircraft in DCS have some initial throttle/propeller/rotor values preset when spawning in the air and they usually don't cause any gameplay issues, but in Mi-8, with its distinctive generators-vs-rotor relation, air starts mean either loosing altitude, or loosing generators, or both.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.

Last edited by Art-J; 06-07-2018 at 12:55 PM.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 03:50 PM   #4
rge75
Member
 
rge75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 660
Default

I noticed that, too. I simply raise the collective only slightly. The rpm seems to increase after that. When the rpm is high enough, I commence the take-off.

Most of the time I anyway do a cold start. However, it's indeed something that could be improved.
rge75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 12:04 AM   #5
Gerbilskij
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 53
Default

I second this request too, it would help to have the possibility reliably to start in mid-air sometimes (without generators' failures), particularly for mission testing purposes.
Gerbilskij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 02:45 AM   #6
msalama
Veteran
 
msalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,315
Default

I usually start up cold, but regardless, did several hot starts from a runway yesterday while testing some config tweaks. The rotor RPM stayed above the generator cutoff level each time. Didn't try an airstart so no idea about those. Well just my £0.002
__________________
"The DCS NS 430 currently available for DCS: Mi-8MTV2. DCS NS 430 licensing and distribution policy for other modules is being discussed and will be disclosed later. Belsimtek team"
msalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 11:34 AM   #7
thrustvector
Member
 
thrustvector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Exeter uk
Posts: 595
Default

the only one I have problem with is the mission "convoy hunt", that's an immediate failure and drop pretty rapid as soon as you press fly as youre in mid air
thrustvector is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:40 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.