STT AIM-54 Launch Warning - off the rail - Page 5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2020, 01:45 PM   #41
SgtPappy
Member
 
SgtPappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 612
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiceman View Post
It’s not lost, and it will continue to fly to the last known target location and unless the target did some pretty drastic maneuvering the Phoenix will very likely find it. The target will not have any warning until it’s most likely too late.
That's the ideal case. Far away enough, it seems that right now you can simply beam and split-S because that way you're in the maneuvering plane of the beam. You've changed direction completely and the AWG-9 is none the wiser by sticking with a track in the complete opposite direction. I'm no expert, but I think this is realistic behaviour.
SgtPappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 03:31 PM   #42
Spiceman
Beta Tester
 
Spiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 342
Default

The Phoenix and the AWG-9 have done their jobs there as well, right?
__________________
Former USN Avionics Tech
VF-41 86-90, 93-95
VF-101 90-93

Heatblur Tomcat SME

I9-9900K | Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra | 32GB DDR4 3200 | Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe | RTX 2070 Super | TM Throttle | VPC Warbird Base TM F-18 Stick
Spiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 05:16 PM   #43
Dudikoff
Senior Member
 
Dudikoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Croatia / Lebanon
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiceman View Post
It’s modeled. You can test it by taking a shot at a bandit and immediately turning the AWG-9 off or to Stby. The Phoenix will stop lofting and fly in a straight line to the last known location of the bandit. It will go active and when it’s close enough, if the bandit is in the Phoenix radar cone, it will start guiding.
Wasn't the AWG-9 supposed to tell the missile when to go active via a DL message?
__________________
i386DX40@42 MHz w/i387 CP, 4 MB RAM (8*512 kB), Trident 8900C 1 MB w/16-bit RAMDAC ISA, Quantum 340 MB UDMA33, SB 16, DOS 6.22 w/QEMM + Win3.11CE, Quickshot 1btn 2axis, Numpad as hat. 2 FPH on a good day, 1 FPH avg.

DISCLAIMER: My posts are still absolutely useless. Just finding excuses not to learn the F-14 (HB's Swansong?).

Annoyed by my posts? Please consider donating. Once the target sum is reached, I'll be off to somewhere nice I promise not to post from. I'd buy that for a dollar!
Dudikoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 08:58 PM   #44
near_blind
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dudikoff View Post
Wasn't the AWG-9 supposed to tell the missile when to go active via a DL message?
For the AIM-54A at least, yes. This is one of the things that should be addressed when the missile API opens up.
near_blind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 06:19 AM   #45
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 14,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by near_blind View Post
For the AIM-54A at least, yes. This is one of the things that should be addressed when the missile API opens up.
AFAIK it's already been adressed internally, as the new missile API is already available to third party devs. Unfortunately there seems to be issues with that in multiplayer, which is why the Phoenix rework hasn't been released yet.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + M.2 SSD + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 12:02 PM   #46
Spiceman
Beta Tester
 
Spiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 342
Default

They have the missile hard-coded to go active at 16 TTI as a workaround for the moment, I believe.
__________________
Former USN Avionics Tech
VF-41 86-90, 93-95
VF-101 90-93

Heatblur Tomcat SME

I9-9900K | Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra | 32GB DDR4 3200 | Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe | RTX 2070 Super | TM Throttle | VPC Warbird Base TM F-18 Stick
Spiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 12:48 AM   #47
SgtPappy
Member
 
SgtPappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 612
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiceman View Post
The Phoenix and the AWG-9 have done their jobs there as well, right?
If you mean that they're making the target go defensive right away you're right! not sure how close an AWG-9 would have to be to pick up a fighter-sized target in the notch because right now, you can hide from an F-14 all the way to 5 nm if you notch juuust right. You'd probably have much more knowledge being an SME, would you happen to know if that's realistic?

However even in this game, the hard part of course is for the target to stay hidden! Does anyone know if E-2 datalink could be fed to the Tomcat and then to the AIM-54?

Last edited by SgtPappy; 07-03-2020 at 12:53 AM.
SgtPappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:15 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.