no radar missile launch warning in MP - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2020, 12:02 PM   #1
Banzaiib
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 757
Default no radar missile launch warning in MP

version 2.5.6.52437



Last night in multiplayer on several of the best known servers, I was not getting missile launch warnings at all in the Su-27, J-11, or Su-33.

TWS launched amraams gave no warning at all. S-300 and SA-15 only gave lock warnings, no missile launch beeping when they fired at me.


the tracks I have are massive. Will try to make smaller ones this evening.

Last edited by Banzaiib; 08-13-2020 at 12:08 PM.
Banzaiib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2020, 03:48 PM   #2
Cmptohocah
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Serbia
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banzaiib View Post
version 2.5.6.52437



Last night in multiplayer on several of the best known servers, I was not getting missile launch warnings at all in the Su-27, J-11, or Su-33.

TWS launched amraams gave no warning at all. S-300 and SA-15 only gave lock warnings, no missile launch beeping when they fired at me.


the tracks I have are massive. Will try to make smaller ones this evening.
Don't know about the SAMs, but if the AMRAAMs were shot from outside your RWRs limits (high and close for example) then you will not hear any warning.

Same thing happens if you engage someone from 12km altitude at 20km. Even if you are only using SARH they won't hear any launch warning.
__________________
Cmptohocah=CMPTOHOCAH
Cmptohocah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2020, 04:46 PM   #3
Banzaiib
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 757
Default

That's a good point. I'll test more this evening with different altitudes if possible.

I was shot at by both S-300 and SA-15, the SA-15 from about 5 miles and only about 1000 ft AGL up to about 7,000 ft AGL... and got no launch warning, only lock... even when the radar was clearly within the sensor limits.


edit: quick test at lunch, SA-2 and SA-11 both give lock and launch warnings.


Will test SA-15 and amraams later tonight.

Edit: i guess i was wrong. sorry. After more testing, all seems fine.

Last edited by Banzaiib; 08-14-2020 at 02:42 AM.
Banzaiib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2020, 07:07 PM   #4
TaxDollarsAtWork
Member
 
TaxDollarsAtWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 282
Default

AMRAAMs in STT no longer give launch warnings, only when they go active will you get one.



I am not sure if ED has this as intended behaviour or not.
TaxDollarsAtWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2020, 05:45 AM   #5
Cheetah7798
Junior Member
 
Cheetah7798's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Somewhere in Australia
Posts: 25
Default

From the testing I've done, any AIM-120 fired from a soft-lock will not be indicated on the SPO-15, or any other in-game RWR, for that matter. This is strategically problematic for a number of reasons, the most prominent of which is the response time you have when the AIM-120's seeker goes active.

In the scenario I was testing (1.2M, 10,000 Metres, head-on), the response time was so small, that whether you made it to the notch bearing was hit or miss.



Ultimately, the only solution I've found is to give the threat a side-ways look, placing them on the 65-70 degree limits of your radar. That way, you're already the majority of the way to the notch.



This has the added benefit of allowing the AMRAAM to get real close, so if you do your job right and lose the missile, it has no chance of reacquisition, since it's already overshot.
Cheetah7798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2020, 07:52 AM   #6
draconus
DCS Ground Crew
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheetah7798 View Post
From the testing I've done, any AIM-120 fired from a soft-lock will not be indicated on the SPO-15, or any other in-game RWR, for that matter. This is strategically problematic for a number of reasons, the most prominent of which is the response time you have when the AIM-120's seeker goes active.
But it's correct. You have to assume the bandit is going to shoot, just as with IR missiles.
__________________
G4560@3,5GHz/DDR4-16GB/GTX970-4GB/SATA3-SSD, Win7-64, 27"LCD-FullHD, T16000M HOTAS, customTiR
Aircraft: FC3, F-14B
/ Supercarrier / Maps: NTTR, PG
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 04:49 AM   #7
Cheetah7798
Junior Member
 
Cheetah7798's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Somewhere in Australia
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by draconus View Post
But it's correct. You have to assume the bandit is going to shoot, just as with IR missiles.

I'm not contesting that.



Detecting a missile launch is always going to be about consolidating information from as many launch indicators as possible, irrespective of missile type. Whether it's the RWR, visual ID (AMRAAMS leave a very subtle trail, visible at full-zoom if you know where to look), or just your perception of the situation as a whole.

Last edited by Cheetah7798; 08-15-2020 at 04:51 AM.
Cheetah7798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 10:40 AM   #8
VC
Member
 
VC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 587
Default

Once Fox 3s are involved you should be fighting based on standard engage/disengage patterns and respecting minimum abort ranges, not relying on trying to work out if/when the missile was launched.
__________________
VC

=X51= Squadron is recruiting!
X51 website: https://x51squadron.com/
Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/d9JtFY4

Last edited by VC; 08-15-2020 at 10:55 AM.
VC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 08:39 PM   #9
dundun92
Member
 
dundun92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 447
Default

Yup, reactive defending is dead at decent alts now if the bandit takes the shot properly, you HAVE to pre-emptively defend. Though using avaliable tools to determine when he launched does help SA, and for better RMD
__________________
Eagle Enthusiast, Fresco Fan. Patiently waiting for the F-15E. Clicky F-15C when?
HP Z400 Workstation
Intel Xeon W3680(i7-980X) OC'd to 4.0 GHz, EVGA GTX 1060 6GB SSC Gaming, 12 GB DDR3 RAM, 500GB Crucial MX500 SSD. Thrustmaster T16000M FCS HOTAS, DIY opentrack head-tracking. I upload DCS videos here https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0-...J-QUX5M7Dh1pGg

The Alamo Squadron is looking for dedicated Air-to-Air focused pilots
For more detailed recruiting information, see our forums.
dundun92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 10:03 PM   #10
VC
Member
 
VC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dundun92 View Post
Though using avaliable tools to determine when he launched does help SA, and for better RMD
And if you ever find yourself thinking "huh, I wonder why that guy just started cranking" you should already be doing something about the missile on its way to you
__________________
VC

=X51= Squadron is recruiting!
X51 website: https://x51squadron.com/
Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/d9JtFY4
VC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:37 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.