Ryzen build (half) - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2019, 03:54 AM   #21
Cpt. Oscar Mike
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Oscar Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: SouthEast USA
Posts: 6
Default

Stumbled across a YT channel a few weeks ago which has no commentary, daily postings presenting straight forward benchmark comparisons of seemingly any & all components- combinations, options w lot of focus recently on the new AMD CPU-GPUs, Nvidia new products & Intel's existing options-I am going to suggest they do something using DCS...I have no clue if is one person or group of people but regardless the channel name is "TESTING GAMES".

I read earlier today an article on Tom's Hardware that the new AMD CPUs will be compatible with existing, older Mobos as they stated a while back (said until 2020) However, I was not clear about what was meant or what referring to when wrote ~ if use/have "a lot of things" to plug into the MOBO (particularly external devices) one should focus on the HEDT platform MOBOs... I can find a link and provide if needed. Hope this helps.

Last edited by Cpt. Oscar Mike; 07-11-2019 at 03:56 AM. Reason: not sure if is being posted as a reply as intended
Cpt. Oscar Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 04:06 AM   #22
DeltaMike
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thurs View Post
OK thanks guys. I know the 3600 (non x) is close to the 3700x but what's the fps difference between the 3600x and 3700x?

Also DeltaMike, how does your current cpu and gpu handle dcs? How does it run in mp and with vr if you don't mind me asking?
Runs weirdly well. My CPU render times are in the low 9's on an empty map, but in the mid 20's with stutters at busy airfields. So I have enough wiggle room to dogfight and blow things up. That's with medium shadows, medium vis range. No grass or citv traffic. GPU render times pegged at 22 with no msaa and 1.2 PD. Seems to be in the same ballpark as my buddies' 1080's and 1070ti's. And the price was right -- free (it was my old mining card, paid for itself and then some)

That's with a Rift, expect Rift S would be about the same. Few more pixels but render times get pushed out to 25ms so it should wind up being close. Wouldn't want to drive more pixels than that.

The 2600 wasn't much of an upgrade over my old 1700, which I was able to overclock. Shoulda just kept the 1700 in there while I was waiting for Gen3. Which probably won't make a ton of difference for me right this minute as I'm GPU limited. May buy it anyway, cuz I haven't bought anything in like two weeks. If I do, it'll be an X cuz I have no faith it'll overclock in any meaningful fashion (meaning, higher than the single core burst speed). Guess I wouldn't mind getting rid of those last few stutters. Could turn shadows off I guess but I like em.

With DCS you're looking for single core performance, buy the big chips if you need the cores for other applications
__________________
Ryzen 3600X (stock), MSI B450M, 32Gb RAM, Vega 56 (P6 1100, P7 1100, power limit maxed), T16000M, Rift S

Flight instructor, DCS Academy
DeltaMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 07:06 AM   #23
thurs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 26
Default

Thanks for those results Pappen think I'll save some money and get the 3600! Thanks guys.

Also smokey, one of the Msi mb (b450 tomahawk) has bios flashback, it has a button on the back and a USB slot to load the bios into. You can update the bios without having a cpu, ram or gpu installed! Pretty cool feature.
thurs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 07:14 AM   #24
thurs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 26
Default

Thanks for those results DeltaMike quite impressive. Vega cards seem to do well with higher resolutions whilst the other amd and nvidia cards are better for 1080p it seems.
thurs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 02:58 PM   #25
Svsmokey
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 3,094
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thurs View Post
Thanks for those results Pappen think I'll save some money and get the 3600! Thanks guys.

Also smokey, one of the Msi mb (b450 tomahawk) has bios flashback, it has a button on the back and a USB slot to load the bios into. You can update the bios without having a cpu, ram or gpu installed! Pretty cool feature.
Thanks ! Did more research last night and found several MSI boards and the Asus Crosshair series have this feature . Very nice . Have edited my original post .
__________________
9700k , Aorus Pro wifi , 32gb 3200 mhz CL16 , 1tb EVO 970 , EVGA 1070 FE , Seasonic Prime 850w Gold , Coolermaster H500m , Noctua NH-D15S , CH Hotas on Foxxmounts , CH pedals , RiftS

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 09:08 PM   #26
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 6,622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CYLON View Post
I was looking at the 3900x for a possible build but I can't seem to find any compatible motherboards that have at least 9 usb ports, like there is for Intel chips. Is there any compatible motherboards that have that many ports?

I also don't like how the X570 boards have a fan on them. Fans are a traditional reliability issue because they are almost guaranteed to fail after a few years, so I have a lot of questions about the longevity of those boards. I've seen a lot of videos about poor fan position causing high temps on some boards and complaints about how loud the fans are.

I really don't like how the previous boards (X470, B450, etc) don't have bios compatibility with Ryzen 3000 out of the box. Having to flash the bios before installing the cpu is a major annoyance. When you're spending 700 to 1000$ on a cpu/motherboard combo, it should just work. I shouldn't need to download a bios and flash it myself or take it to a professional and receive it in working order days or weeks laters.

It's like they are trying to do everything to NOT get me as a customer, even though I want to be lol.
You could either route the front panel conns to the back and thus get more USB back there, or add a USB card.

This is not a show stopper, just a minor build challange imho.
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5G_delidded - 32GB - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon retrofitted EK-waterblock - 1x 960Evo 250GB - 3x Samsung 850/860Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 32GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 12:05 AM   #27
etherbattx
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 618
Default

what’s the cost of the MB fan?
etherbattx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 12:48 AM   #28
Svsmokey
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 3,094
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CYLON View Post
I was looking at the 3900x for a possible build but I can't seem to find any compatible motherboards that have at least 9 usb ports, like there is for Intel chips. Is there any compatible motherboards that have that many ports?

I also don't like how the X570 boards have a fan on them. Fans are a traditional reliability issue because they are almost guaranteed to fail after a few years, so I have a lot of questions about the longevity of those boards. I've seen a lot of videos about poor fan position causing high temps on some boards and complaints about how loud the fans are.

I really don't like how the previous boards (X470, B450, etc) don't have bios compatibility with Ryzen 3000 out of the box. Having to flash the bios before installing the cpu is a major annoyance. When you're spending 700 to 1000$ on a cpu/motherboard combo, it should just work. I shouldn't need to download a bios and flash it myself or take it to a professional and receive it in working order days or weeks laters.

It's like they are trying to do everything to NOT get me as a customer, even though I want to be lol.
Flashing the MSI boards is very easy . Essentially , download and extract to usb , rename usb file to msi.rom , plug usb into indicated mb port (after hooking up atx & cpu power cables) and push a button . The updated bios is in the old-style text format to save space , but fully functional .
MSI is also bringing b450 and x470 boards with a larger bios-capacity chip to allow the more modern bios gui . The board names are suffixed "MAX" . I have not found them on the market yet .
__________________
9700k , Aorus Pro wifi , 32gb 3200 mhz CL16 , 1tb EVO 970 , EVGA 1070 FE , Seasonic Prime 850w Gold , Coolermaster H500m , Noctua NH-D15S , CH Hotas on Foxxmounts , CH pedals , RiftS

"Hold my beer"

Last edited by Svsmokey; 07-12-2019 at 12:53 AM.
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 09:23 AM   #29
Yeti42
Member
 
Yeti42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaMike View Post
It's not possible to have too much CPU for dcs. I have my eye on the ryzen 5 3600x, bursts to 4.4 GHz (with a 10% increase in instructions per cycle over gen2) and feel that's well worth the price for dcs. I'd rather have that than more cores or a fancy mobo

Zen2 can't really handle more than 3600mhz ram very well

Whichever Mobo you pick, I'd go to the manufacturer website for ram known to run at rated speed. Maybe the newer boards aren't as picky but still
Whaaaat, whilst I agree generally that more CPU is better than less CPU, with DCS (if that's the only thing you care about) It's mainly single-core speed you should look for. Playing DCS on my i5 9600k running at 5Ghz maxes out at 40% I'd say I've got too much CPU (or to be precise, the RTX 2080 I have is the limiting factor on frame rates not the CPU. My old i5 4670k was running at 4.5Ghz permanently...! so a 4.5 boost speed for ryzen is nothing really to boast about when compared to Intel boost speeds or overclocking capabilities. That coupled with Ryzen's apparent dependence on compatible memory and the relatively low speeds of that memory would say to me not to bother with Ryzen for DCS as it doesn't add much value, if any.
__________________
Windows 10 64 bit | Intel i5-9600k OC 5 Ghz | RTX 2080 |VENGEANCE® LPX 32GB DDR 4 OC 3200

Hotas Warthog | Logitech G Flight Rudder Pedals | Track IR 4
Yeti42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 10:06 AM   #30
Milou
Member
 
Milou's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thurs View Post
Hi guys. After waiting for the new AMD stuff to I've decided I want to upgrade from my struggling i5-4690k. I'm interested in the 3700x but haven't been keeping up with the tech stuff and want to know if I should get a X470 or X570? Would you guys be able to give me a half build (keeping psu, gpu, ssd, case etc just need need cpu, mb and ram) based on my requirements:

R7-3700X which I will keep stock so no intention to oc

No interest in pci-4

16gb ram not sure what speed

At least 8 USB ports

Also will a 620w evga gold psu be able to handle gtx 1060 6gb and all this new stuff?

Mainly getting it for fps games and il2 and Dcs.

Thanks in advance.
Go 3700X with a X470 given your USB requirement. (B450 motherboard is ruled out by your USB port requirement unless you use an add in card / hub). Memory go for 3600 CL16 2x16GB if I were you. PSU go 750-850W if I were you... just to future proof yourself if you every want to upgrade to a more power hungry GPU. But for the setup you have there 620W will cut it okay.
__________________
Intel i7-7800X @4.8GHz, EVGA X299 Dark, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz CL14, EVGA RTX 2080 Ti, 2x Samsung NVMe 970 Evo 2TB, Gunmetal Caselabs SMA8/A , twin custom watercooled loops (Hardware Labs 480 and 560 radiators, Noctua NF-A12x25 fans, Aquaero 6 XT controller, Bitpower fittings). VKB Gunfighter 3 base with T/M Warthog grip, T/M Hornet grip and VKB F-14 grip, T/M throttle and Slaw Viper RX pedals.
Milou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, motherboard, pc advice

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:48 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.