C-101 power settings and speeds for climb, cruise and decent? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2019, 11:41 AM   #1
panzerd18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 246
Default C-101 power settings and speeds for climb, cruise and decent?

Hi all,

I've looked through the manual and can't seem to find where the climb, cruise and decent power settings and speeds are?

Can anyone help?
panzerd18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 11:48 AM   #2
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 6,905
Default

On this pdf there is an optimal climb speed chart: https://1drv.ms/b/s!Ai6cuX3YQI26hMVWuRm9BHHSxfU5Qg
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - nVidia GTX1070ti - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 12:00 PM   #3
panzerd18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
On this pdf there is an optimal climb speed chart: https://1drv.ms/b/s!Ai6cuX3YQI26hMVWuRm9BHHSxfU5Qg
Thank you very much, is there a power setting for cruise?

I see in the manual there is a max continuous exhaust gas temperature. I was wondering about normal cruise power setting.
panzerd18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 01:01 PM   #4
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 6,905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panzerd18 View Post
Thank you very much, is there a power setting for cruise?
Actually, I dont know about a single optimal power setting ... as the C-101 is very economical on its fuel consumption and DCS' maps are small, I never worry about this type of things.

However, on the manual of the real plane are some charts that may interest you: First, this chart shows the optimal altitude to get maximum range depending on the aircraft's weight:



This other chart shows what endurance you can get at different speeds (ground speed):



To use, you enter on the top left with the weight of the plane, go right to the altitude you want to fly, then down to get the Mach number, then right and then slide down until intersecting the external air Tº, then right to intersect with the head/tail wind conditions you have, then up to get the optimal cruise speed in knots (this is Ground Speed, not IAS).

This is a complementary chart of the previous one:



But, as I said I fly for fun and so almost never worry about fuel on the C-101
Cheers
.
Edit: I forgot to add that these charts are for the C-101EB only ... the CC has a different, more powerful, engine and thus the charts dont apply to it.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - nVidia GTX1070ti - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB

Last edited by Rudel_chw; 06-30-2019 at 03:49 PM.
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 03:35 PM   #5
Vibora
Beta Tester
 
Vibora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Madrid
Posts: 7,321
Default

Don't trust too much those charts. That manual that you can find in internet is a too old version with some wrong data. You should use the data included in our manual. If some data is missing in our manual, then you can use the one in that old manual, but take into account that won't be accurate.
__________________
Roberto "Vibora" Seoane
Alas Rojas



Vibora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 09:08 PM   #6
panzerd18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 246
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vibora View Post
Don't trust too much those charts. That manual that you can find in internet is a too old version with some wrong data. You should use the data included in our manual. If some data is missing in our manual, then you can use the one in that old manual, but take into account that won't be accurate.
Hi Vinita, thank you for replying, do you have a rough idea of the cruise and climb power setting? This is not in the manual.
panzerd18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 06:53 AM   #7
Vibora
Beta Tester
 
Vibora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Madrid
Posts: 7,321
Default

Hi Panzerd. You can see some real data in the attached pdf.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Climb and cruise C-101EB.pdf (325.7 KB, 184 views)
__________________
Roberto "Vibora" Seoane
Alas Rojas



Vibora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 09:31 AM   #8
panzerd18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 246
Default

Thank you very much
panzerd18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 05:04 PM   #9
=Mac=
Member
 
=Mac='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: In an apartment with a gorgeous Chinese girl.
Posts: 674
Default

I'm just now getting into the C-101 and have very little idea what I'm doing.

I took off from Batumi with cloud ceiling around 2,000 ft, headed for Tbilisi and began to climb about 200 fpm full throttle. I watched the temp gauge closely (due to fire in the previous 5 or 6 attempts). I got on top around 10,000 feet and pulled the throttle back just to make sure the temp gauge dropped a bit. I focused on the compass and keeping the altitude and attitude steady. I look at the other gauges only to hear the fire alarm go off.

Is the temperature that sensitive? Or have I just pushed the engines too much in the climb out?

I have finally gotten to land at Tbilisi a couple times and she is sweet on the VFR approach.

Just to be sure, all that ALT and HDG stuff lower right isn't really an autopilot, right?
__________________
The Hornet is best at killing things on the ground. Now, if we could just get a GAU-8 in the nose next to the AN/APG-65, a titanium tub around the pilot, and a couple of J-58 engines in the tail...
=Mac= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 05:21 PM   #10
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 6,905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by =Mac= View Post
Just to be sure, all that ALT and HDG stuff lower right isn't really an autopilot, right?
No, it is a flight director .. it tells you what flight attitudes you have to maintain, but it doesn't do it for you ... keep in mind that this is a training aircraft, the student pilot must learn to fly the aircraft by himself, not by an autopilot
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - nVidia GTX1070ti - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:24 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.