Shiney Trees when using WMR 60Hz - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2020, 11:10 PM   #1
Quekel
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 138
Default Shiney Trees when using WMR 60Hz

When you set-up the WMR for 60Hz the trees are a little weird, almost to shiney.

Edit: The amount of trees being rendered in each eye is not the same, causing the shiney look. Same for mountains in the distance.

Could ED take a look at that and if possible come with a fix?
Would make a lot of WMR users happy
__________________
i7 4790K 4.0Ghz / GTX1080 ZOTAC EXTREME PLUS / 16 GB DDR3 / SSD
A10C BF109 F14 F18 F5E FC3 HARRIER KA50 M2000C P51 SPITFIRE VIGGEN / NEVADA NORMANDY PERSIAN GOLF / WW2 ASSET

https://combatflight.nl/ De grootste Nederlandstalige DCS community

VR must have

Last edited by Quekel; 01-13-2020 at 11:56 PM.
Quekel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 11:12 PM   #2
The_Nephilim
Member
 
The_Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 762
Default

yes they do look strange at 60Hz. but @ 90Hz they look normal something is up with that..
__________________
MSI MPG Z390 Gaming Plus / Intel i7 9700K @ 4.8Ghz / Coolermaster 212x / 2 - Samsung 960 Evo RAID 0 / Asus 1080GTX OC / G. Skill RipJaws 32GB RAM 3200MHZ XMP PRofile / Samsung Odyssey Plus VR / HOTAS Cougar & MFD's / Buttkicker game simulation

Last edited by The_Nephilim; 01-13-2020 at 11:19 PM.
The_Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 11:55 PM   #3
Quekel
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 138
Default

Checked a little more, and it seems that the amount of trees and even mountains in the distance being rendered is not the same for each eye.

That is why it is giving it an weird feeling
__________________
i7 4790K 4.0Ghz / GTX1080 ZOTAC EXTREME PLUS / 16 GB DDR3 / SSD
A10C BF109 F14 F18 F5E FC3 HARRIER KA50 M2000C P51 SPITFIRE VIGGEN / NEVADA NORMANDY PERSIAN GOLF / WW2 ASSET

https://combatflight.nl/ De grootste Nederlandstalige DCS community

VR must have
Quekel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 05:19 PM   #4
Waxi
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 134
Default

I observe exactly the same issue using an HP Reverb at 60 Hz with an 1080Ti, 32 GB RAM, and i7-7700K.
Waxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 05:55 PM   #5
Quekel
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 138
Default

The left eye is rendering more objects then the right one for me.
__________________
i7 4790K 4.0Ghz / GTX1080 ZOTAC EXTREME PLUS / 16 GB DDR3 / SSD
A10C BF109 F14 F18 F5E FC3 HARRIER KA50 M2000C P51 SPITFIRE VIGGEN / NEVADA NORMANDY PERSIAN GOLF / WW2 ASSET

https://combatflight.nl/ De grootste Nederlandstalige DCS community

VR must have
Quekel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 07:37 PM   #6
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 6,350
Default

Welcome to VR "optimization", I'm gonna guess this isn't a bug, but rather a feature to improve frame rates.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 08:34 PM   #7
Quekel
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 138
Default

I don't have this issue on X-Plane and Assetto Corsa, so it must be a bug
__________________
i7 4790K 4.0Ghz / GTX1080 ZOTAC EXTREME PLUS / 16 GB DDR3 / SSD
A10C BF109 F14 F18 F5E FC3 HARRIER KA50 M2000C P51 SPITFIRE VIGGEN / NEVADA NORMANDY PERSIAN GOLF / WW2 ASSET

https://combatflight.nl/ De grootste Nederlandstalige DCS community

VR must have
Quekel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 01:08 AM   #8
Rogue Trooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,675
Default

Yup! This is correct,
The left eye has more objects at range than the right eye, this is a DCS bug and amplifies the shimmering affect at range...... in fact it just looks weird at extreme tree rendering distance!
Rogue Trooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 05:17 PM   #9
Quekel
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 138
Default



Tried the windows insider update and love it!
Flying in 60Hz as in the same quality in 90Hz

Keep the quality setting on "best visual quality"
If you change it to "Optimise for performance" the objects wont be rendered equally

Flying now on 30FPS "60Hz with motionvector"
Quality can be upped way more this way.

Now lets hope they can make something like ASW 2.0 for less artificats.

Can also confirm this fixed the incorrect render per eye for IL2!
Going to try XP11 after dinner

Love this fix!
______________
__________________
i7 4790K 4.0Ghz / GTX1080 ZOTAC EXTREME PLUS / 16 GB DDR3 / SSD
A10C BF109 F14 F18 F5E FC3 HARRIER KA50 M2000C P51 SPITFIRE VIGGEN / NEVADA NORMANDY PERSIAN GOLF / WW2 ASSET

https://combatflight.nl/ De grootste Nederlandstalige DCS community

VR must have
Quekel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:41 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.