A-10C free trial asking for serial number? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2020, 05:39 AM   #1
N22YF
Junior Member
 
N22YF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 14
Exclamation A-10C free trial asking for serial number?

I'm trying to fly the A-10C for its free trial. When launching DCS, the module manager notified me that I could install the A-10C now, but after installation, it asks me for a serial number. When I exit out of the serial number dialog box and try to start a mission with it anyway, I'm not able to fly the aircraft (presumably because I didn't give it a serial number). What do I need to do to be able to take advantage of this free trial? I'm running the standalone stable release of DCS.
Thanks!
N22YF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 07:54 AM   #2
Alek
Junior Member
 
Alek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 3
Default

I have the same problem with Steam version.
Alek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 08:07 AM   #3
Santimcfly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Default

I'm having the same issue. I run on standalone too.
Santimcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 08:35 AM   #4
HankCzinaski
Junior Member
 
HankCzinaski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Poland
Posts: 19
Default

"Please note that this module is currently only available in DCS World Open Beta."

Maybe this has something to do with it?
HankCzinaski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 09:32 AM   #5
Alek
Junior Member
 
Alek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks. Exactly
Alek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 09:52 AM   #6
Santimcfly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alek View Post
Thanks. Exactly
Probably, keeping in mind that was not written on the original press release 2 hours ago, neither any other place.
Santimcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 02:11 PM   #7
StrikeTrigger
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 16
Default

Why so, even though the actual product is not beta-only? What crime did stable users commit to be kept out of this? JF-17 I could understand since the whole thing, even when paid, is beta exclusive. This one even installed on my stable copy, the missions also start, just I'm unable to control a warthog because of the activation thing.



Does ED just want people to use beta more and as an incetive give free trials on beta only? Then why keep the stable version and call beta a "beta"?
StrikeTrigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 02:43 PM   #8
N22YF
Junior Member
 
N22YF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HankCzinaski View Post
"Please note that this module is currently only available in DCS World Open Beta."

Maybe this has something to do with it?
Ah. When I was trying this earlier, that was not written anywhere. Thanks. (Would have been thoughtful of them to release this information at the same time the free trial began. But I guess it's free anyway, so I can't really complain.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by StrikeTrigger View Post
Does ED just want people to use beta more and as an incetive give free trials on beta only?
Well the other free trials (except the JF-17, which, as you said, is understandable) were available on the stable release.

Last edited by N22YF; 03-26-2020 at 03:19 PM.
N22YF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 02:55 PM   #9
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 20,026
Default

Hi we are working on the A-10C key issue on steam, switching to open beta may help as it should be keyless in 2.5.6

thanks
__________________
BIGNEWY
Community Manager Eagle Dynamics
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 05:05 PM   #10
30mikemike
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Lincoln UK
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGNEWY View Post
Hi we are working on the A-10C key issue on steam, switching to open beta may help as it should be keyless in 2.5.6

thanks
I rolled back to 2.5.5 Beta a couple of weeks ago and the A-10 is asking for a key...? (Non-Steam)
__________________
i7 8700k @ 4.9ghz. Strix GTX1080Ti. 16GB RAM @ 3600. 2x Hyper X SSD’s with DCS on one. Oculus Rift S. Asus PG278-QR. Liquid Series PC with liquid CPU and GPU cooling.
30mikemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:52 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.