Software used to develop modules

Devil 505

This is primarily a serious question to any devs, ED or third party. What software are you using to create modules? I know the new engine is on the way, but myself and the team I am putting together wanted to start creating our own module. I am in the process of getting a team together and we would like to know what base software is needed to start working a module into 2.0? This info would be much appreciated.

I would think 3DSMAX is being used for 3D models. I am not a programmer or a 3D artist, however the one I have found is requesting this information. Thanks for the help gents. If this endeavor continues down the path I hope its going, we would like to bring some new and interesting things to DCS.

Regards

Robert

You can use whatever program you want but is needs to be imported into MAX to be exported [ as an .EDM format ] into Game Engine.

The only way to make sense out of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance.

"Me, the 13th Duke of Wybourne, here on the ED forums at 3 'o' clock in the morning, with my reputation. Are they mad.."

https://ko-fi.com/joey45

Gentleman,

Greatly appreciate the responses. The 3D artist I am talking to said he works with cinema4d and has no options to save the file as .EDM format. He would like to know if there is any conversion programs he can use? Thanks guys.

You can create the model in any software you please than can export in a format that 3dsmax can open. You will need someone with access to 3dsmax to export it as .edm.

Good, fast, cheap. Choose any two.

Come let's eat grandpa!

Use punctuation, save lives!

To Import a .3DS you'd also have to re-do materials and animations in max as well.

Windows 10 Pro, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill (F4-3200C16D-16GTZR x2),

ASRock X470 Taichi Ultimate, XFX RX6800XT Merc 310 (RX-68XTALFD9)

3x ASUS VS248HP + Oculus HMD, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS + MFDs

• 1 month later...