Real Time Raytracing - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2018, 04:37 PM   #1
jwflowersii
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 43
Default Real Time Raytracing

Curious if there are any plans for the next-gen graphics cards (NVidia RTX 2080 and DirectX 12) real-time raytracing support? As always, I really love your products and keep up the great work.
jwflowersii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 06:18 PM   #2
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 4,870
Default

There will be no DCS on DX12 but DCS on Vulkan.


Check this: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=217784
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3000/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 07:36 PM   #3
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,299
Default

There is real time raytracing in DCS already, although not for graphics but for things like radar (especially ground mapping radar).
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + ATi Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280X (3 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 12:02 AM   #4
jwflowersii
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
There will be no DCS on DX12 but DCS on Vulkan.


Check this: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=217784
I know they're working on Vulcan, but many engines work with both APIs. Also, Vulcan is currently not optimized for NVidia cards and runs slower.

https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...-api-in-doom-/

Be careful for what you wish for.
jwflowersii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 03:25 AM   #5
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,392
Default

I think ED has been quite clear that their goal is Vulcan implementation and not DX12. I doubt they have the resources and manpower to develop both.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 04:26 AM   #6
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,158
Default

Vulkan is Superior to DX12 in Many Ways
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 01:58 PM   #7
remi
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 252
Default

If DCS is ever going cross platform, it will absolutely need Vulkan. Windows only crap APIs are the worst future proofing you can do for a game engine.
__________________
remi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 03:23 PM   #8
jwflowersii
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remi View Post
If DCS is ever going cross platform, it will absolutely need Vulkan. Windows only crap APIs are the worst future proofing you can do for a game engine.
Hmm, that's why most AAA games still utilize DirectX 12. You can support both and Vulcan is still not fully developed for NVidia. It may someday be better, but not yet. Let me guess what video card you own.
jwflowersii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 03:24 PM   #9
jwflowersii
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwflowersii View Post
Hmm, that's why most AAA games still utilize DirectX 12. You can support both and Vulcan is still not fully developed for NVidia. It may someday be better, but not yet. Let me guess what video card you own.
Does Vulcan support Real Time Raytracing at the moment? I haven't heard of it. DirectX 12 does.
jwflowersii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 03:58 PM   #10
remi
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 252
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwflowersii View Post
Hmm, that's why most AAA games still utilize DirectX 12. You can support both and Vulcan is still not fully developed for NVidia. It may someday be better, but not yet. Let me guess what video card you own.
Why focus on both when you can focus on one, which will continue to improve dramatically since most studios see the writing on the wall regarding interoperability.
__________________
remi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:07 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.