Stuck at "Deployment - Mission 2 / Escort" (DCS 2.5) - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2018, 07:02 PM   #21
SeraphimGray
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 58
Default

Since I'm actually at home now and not at work, I can give precise mission trigger data.

Unit that triggers mission end is 1st unit of 9 units of convoy.
Group name: "Transport Leska-12"
Unit name: "Transport Leska-12 head"

Trigger is = Unit dead: "Transport Leska-12 head", sets FLAG 4 to ON
Once FLAG 4 is ON, in 15 seconds, mission is failed

Also there is trigger "Explosion1" which is activated once transport leska-12 is in zone and beside explosion, it activates all enemy ambush unit groups. Total about 48 infantry, excellent skill and all armed with AK-47. RPG's in mission are actually explosion triggers.

To make matter worse, unit "Transport Leska-12 head" gets exploded once 50% of convoy is dead, so it gets destroyed in trigger, thus triggering mission failed.

However in all my attempts, it got killed first, thus mission end in 2 min 30 sec since "Sergey" group gets attacked.

I'm sure there will be someone less sensitive about my comment that will know how to use this information

Last edited by SeraphimGray; 06-28-2018 at 07:24 PM.
SeraphimGray is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2018, 12:20 PM   #22
Griffin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,555
Default

Is there any point in buying the Republic campaign from sale if these problems exist or has anyone experienced such problems with that campaign?
Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2018, 06:32 PM   #23
rge75
Member
 
rge75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 668
Default

Personally I'd simply see a YouTube video from somebody who actually manged to complete this mission in DCS 2.5 ;-) I agree, you adapt your strategy because you know what's going to happen. However, you don't see the enemies and it's just firing "randomly" where "they migth be". I often saw the "Mission failed" very quick and I lost interest into that mission after maybe 15-20 unsuccessful attempts.
rge75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 02:00 PM   #24
toutenglisse
Member
 
toutenglisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: French Alps
Posts: 371
Default

I've finished this campaign, using VR, it's very nice but I can't imagine someone can succed in it without "labels on" (I use really small ones, dots, chevrons, etc...).

Some missions needs all your ammo with minimal possible misses, while ennemy units are under cover by trees (DCS 2.5 new tree coverage change the missions into "impossible" ones, wich of course is still possible like in the movies...but so hard).

But I wanted to "spoil" how to succed the last mission, because I firstly thought it was too difficult because initial targets (units and bunkers in a "forest" base FARP) seemed unreachable.
And I tried so much times anyway.
In fact the trigger in last mission is to destroy a helicopter (with a "rebel chief" inside) that spawns on FARP at a time. The thing is that it needs an enormeous amount of stuff to be destroyed.
I tried on a custom mission to test resistance of transport helicopters when on ground or taking off. But it's OK with two Vickrs for exemple.
In the last "Deployement" mission, the target helicopter needs a BIG amount of everything to be really destroyed. Definitely buggy I'd say (I can't evaluate but I hit him with 5 or 6 vickrs + all my remaining rockets + hundreds of HE and AP rounds....)

So good luck for those who wants to make through it without "cheats".... may the force be with you ?
__________________
Hardware : I7 7700K - Z270 gaming M5 - 32GB ( 4x8 ) ddr4 3200Mhz - 1080Ti gaming X - SSD M2 - TM Twcs / TM Rgt yaw pedals / MS sidewinder FF2 - Oculus Rift CV1.
toutenglisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 11:45 AM   #25
metzger
Member
 
metzger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddlemonkey View Post
In that respect, I think the sim is a bit lacking, there ought to be a command to the wingman along the lines of 'attack anything suspicious and be quick about it'.

Also, it would be good if you could command the convoy to hold position if you see something suspicious.

^^^^this

I finished this campaign a few years ago and I remember one mission when you have to clean a village to make a convoy to pass. The convoy starts after you shoot one AAA and even tho you know there are still some APCs in the village, there is no way to tell them to hold. Very annoying.

AI wingman is most of the times useless. I used to use him with "cover me" command when I am approaching AOE zone and if there is a AAA waiting for you, he will say "engaging targets" or similar, so you know to stop and start looking around before the bullets come to you other then that he may shoot something but most of the times he is either refusing to attack, will stuck somewhere or instead of shooting vikhrs from distance he will fly on top of aaa/manpads and get shot.
metzger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:49 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.