Fix the broken mouse-look? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2019, 05:58 PM   #1
e33et
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Sweden
Posts: 84
Default Fix the broken mouse-look?

Hello ED,

Hope you can fix the issue with the keybord control and mouse-look mode so it doesn't got broken every time i update the game in Steam Edition. Plus when you have headtracking/trackir it disable free mouse-look mode too and it didn't before update 2.3 i think after that version every control is being messy so it being unpleasent to play when camera control don't work properly. And i've tried almost everything, "uninstall/clean/verifying ingrentity of gamefiles" but nothing seems to help, and i've think it's a bug related to when you update the game!


Kind Regards
Henrik v.E.

Last edited by e33et; 08-03-2019 at 08:52 AM.
e33et is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2019, 01:20 PM   #2
Ramsay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 2,073
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by e33et View Post
... when you have headtracking/trackir it disable free mouse-look mode too and it didn't before update 2.3 i think after that version every control is being messy so it being unpleasent to play when camera control don't work properly.
TL;DR:

To use mouse look while TIR is active, you should Pause TIR (default F9) and then switch to mouse look (default LAlt+C).

Detail:

TIR (and similar) detection is now dynamic, when head tracking is detected i.e. the @120 fps sample rate, it takes precedence over mouse look.

By pausing TIR, no new tracking data is generated and you can use mouse look.

Quote:
... i've tried almost everything, "uninstall/clean/verifying ingrentity of gamefiles" but nothing seems to help, and i've think it's a bug related to when you update the game!
Have you tried renaming/moving

• "Saved Games\DCS\Config"

as IIRC, your personal settings, snap views, options, etc. are stored there.

Comments

DCS Steam and DCS Standalone are almost identical with the exception of a couple of config files that tell DCS which copy protection to use and not to display the 'Module Manager' in Steam (as Steam manages the DLC downloads/updates).

An update via Steam or Module Manager will update files in

• "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\DCSWorld"

or similar.

It will not touch your DCS settings in

• C:\Users\[USER NAME]\Saved Games\DCS

Tested DCS Open Beta 2.5.5.34108
__________________
i7 860 @2.8GHz , 16GB DDR3 , GTX1050Ti 4GB, 1TB SSD, 4+2TB HD, MSFFB2 joystick, X52 Pro Thottle, TIR5, Win 10 Pro x64, 1920X1080
Ramsay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2019, 02:09 PM   #3
e33et
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Sweden
Posts: 84
Default default.lua

Hi Ramsay,


I've tried that but nothing happen and also numpad look doesn't work either it just gets stuck in the center position. but apperantly Steam Edition seems to touch the default.lua bidings mapping in the game folder i think the updates get DCS world confuesed after updates, i've tried the standalone but i got too many dlc to be worth switching to standalone. But it seems it works on Standalone cause i've tried that too.


Regards
Henrik
e33et is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2019, 03:50 PM   #4
e33et
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Sweden
Posts: 84
Default headtracker/trackir

Funny thing it works great when i've unbind the headtracker/trackir category then i can use mouse-look mode the middle mousewheel button, but not at the same time and it has to be worked before 2.3 simultaneously binded.

I realy hope that ed could fix this strange behavior on Steam edition.


Kind Regards
Henrik v.E.
e33et is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 03:15 PM   #5
Eldur
Senior Member
 
Eldur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: On a fluffy cloud above Ponyville
Posts: 2,729
Default

I don't know why this thread is in Steam Support, but anyway I'd throw in my observations.


I noticed mouse look being extremely choppy in VR, even at steady 45fps in the CV1. For those wondering, I use it with mouse X/Y and the scroll wheel in combination with LAlt to control the external camera, especially the F11 one. Never had such issues on the screen with TIR (disabled completely for external views), it only was a little choppy sometimes with low fps.
__________________
Eldur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 08:08 AM   #6
e33et
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Sweden
Posts: 84
Default

It's because i use the steam edition, that i thought it would fit in this subthread, but i could have wrong.

My issues with free mouse-look mode started from v2.3 somewhere in the middle process and 2.4 and so on...

And the only way i could get to work is to unbind my headtracker/trackir axis. And i would be suprise if it just was me that have this cause.


Kind Regards
Henrik v.E.
e33et is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:17 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.