Building a custom PC for DCS VR gaming, for my 65y/o father. Need advice...

I'll start by saying I'm no novice to custom PC building. I've got a full custom watercooled system with a 2080ti, Ryzen 3900x, 32GB RAM yadda yadda yadda...

Anyway, after my Wife and I hosted Thanksgiving and Christmas at our house this year, my Dad fell in love with my DCS VR setup. He could not get enough and has been dead-set on getting a setup of his own, so he can play online with me.

He finally got the green light from my Mom to make it happen. As a result, I've started getting the parts list put together to build a system that will give him a solid DCS VR gaming experience, without going overkill. I'm going to get him an Oculus Rift S. I love mine and figure he can't go wrong there. I'm also sticking with the Thrustmaster t.16000m HOTAS, since that's what I have and it's been excellent.

With that aid, there are two areas I'm struggling with...

GPU: A 2080ti is obviously overkill but I don't want to hinder his DCS VR performance. My inclination is to go with a 2080 Super. But if a 2070 Super will give him the same performance, I am not opposed to saving a little money and going that route. I'm hesitant to go any lower than that as I do want to ensure he is at least slightly future-proofed, as well.

CPU: I'm partial to AMD, so I'm definitely going that route. I initially decided to go with a 3700x. But now I wonder if a 3600x would be perfectly adequate, in this case?

Anyway, I'm open to your thoughts and recommendations to get this project completed!

Edited by oldmanflan

My 2 cents on this: