Weird keyboard problem - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2019, 08:01 PM   #1
oscar19681
Member
 
oscar19681's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 203
Default Weird keyboard problem

Since a while i have a weird keyboard problem. when im flying suddenly the keyboard stops working. The joystick and mouse keep working but the trigger for the gun doesnt for some reason. Its only when i ctrl alt delete out of the game and back in that the keyboard works again only to have the same problem again and again. Its really annoying! I dont have this problem with any other sims or games at all. What causes this? Im running the latest open beta version. But it happened on previous open beta versions as well. I tried different aircraft so its not module related or anything..
__________________
oscar19681 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 08:13 PM   #2
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 16,351
Default

Hi

can you attach your dcs.log straight after this happens, we may find some clues.

Is your keyboard wireless?

You can find the dcs.log in your saved games dcs folder

If the DCS window losses focus in windows it can create this problem are you running in full screen? If you are try running dcs with admin permissions in windows.

thanks
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, DELL Visor WMR
Forum rules - DCS Crashing? Try this first - Discord BIGNEWY#8703
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 08:56 PM   #3
Snacko
Senior Member
 
Snacko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 1,704
Default

As Newy said, it sounds like the game window loses focus. Try closing other apps, especially those in the systray.

Sent from my Moto Z Play using Tapatalk
__________________
Intel I7-6700K 4.00 ghz (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz) ││ Asus Maximus VIII Extreme ││ G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 ││ Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360MM
GeForce GTX 1080 TI 11gb ││ Corsair 850watt ││ 2x SanDisk 250gb(SSDs Raid0) ││ 2x WD 300gb ││ 1x WD 1tb ││ 3x Acer 28" ││ 1x 28" Touchscreen


- ҉ - Blackshark Cockpit Trainer - ҉ -
-- Thread -- ♥ Download
Snacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 02:33 PM   #4
oscar19681
Member
 
oscar19681's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGNEWY View Post
Hi

can you attach your dcs.log straight after this happens, we may find some clues.

Is your keyboard wireless?

You can find the dcs.log in your saved games dcs folder

If the DCS window losses focus in windows it can create this problem are you running in full screen? If you are try running dcs with admin permissions in windows.

thanks
Hi sorry for the late awsner. My keyboard is not wireless, im running dcs on steam so i think it automaticly runs on admin permission. I attached what i think is the dcs.log. It seems to happen most commenly with the F-14 module and in dogfight situations. It seems to affect my Joystick buttons as well.
__________________
oscar19681 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 03:31 PM   #5
daarseth
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oscar19681 View Post
Hi sorry for the late awsner. My keyboard is not wireless, im running dcs on steam so i think it automaticly runs on admin permission. I attached what i think is the dcs.log. It seems to happen most commenly with the F-14 module and in dogfight situations. It seems to affect my Joystick buttons as well.
No file attached sir, give it another try so one of these folks can attempt to assist you.


Cheers,

Don
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 4x8GB (32GB ram), GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig ssd drives (one solely for most up to date DCS openBeta stand alone form). Currently using a stock TM’ Warthog HOTAS
daarseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 09:09 PM   #6
oscar19681
Member
 
oscar19681's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daarseth View Post
No file attached sir, give it another try so one of these folks can attempt to assist you.


Cheers,

Don
when i want to upload it is says invalid file. Maybe im looking in the wrong location? one other problem i noticed with this keyboard problem is when it occurs my whole keyboard is messed up for a couple of seconds. For example labels on or of is suddenly activated by f-2 instead of shift f-10. really weird
__________________

Last edited by oscar19681; 10-02-2019 at 09:13 PM.
oscar19681 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 07:31 AM   #7
viperfan7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Seems I'm having similar issues.

Running the open beta, keyboard commands work in main menu, but after loading (F-16, haven't tested with others) no keyboard commands function (Including Alt+F4)

Alt tabbing doesn't fix the issue
viperfan7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 12:39 PM   #8
Dougall
Member
 
Dougall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Scotland
Posts: 158
Default

try cleaning all your ctrl and alt keys. mine were sticking a while back and causing the same "bug". It reads as if you are hitting e.g. alt+spacebar which would stop the gun firing. every once in a while this happens, prob old keyboard, and i resolve it by jabbing the alt keys repeatedly lol
__________________
ROG Strix B450F, Ryzen 3700x, RTX 2070Super, 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz, SSD, T-Master HOTAS
Dougall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 05:09 PM   #9
Dougall
Member
 
Dougall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Scotland
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oscar19681 View Post
when i want to upload it is says invalid file. Maybe im looking in the wrong location? one other problem i noticed with this keyboard problem is when it occurs my whole keyboard is messed up for a couple of seconds. For example labels on or of is suddenly activated by f-2 instead of shift f-10. really weird
When it happens, try opening a browser window or text document. If you can't type characters and your inputs do completely random things then it will be that your Alt Gr key is stuck on.
It is a shortcut to loads of unknown and mysterious keyboard shortcuts nobody has ever heard of. Trust me
__________________
ROG Strix B450F, Ryzen 3700x, RTX 2070Super, 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz, SSD, T-Master HOTAS
Dougall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:57 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.