Flaps Switch from STOL to Cruise Hangs at Auto

Captain Orso

I have a Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS Throttle. I'm using the 3-way FLAPS switch for... well, flaps :)

Forward = Cruise

Middle = Auto

Aft = STOL

If I operate the switch at a slow speed, it always works perfectly; eg switch-pause-switch.

If flaps are on STOL is I push the switch straight through to Cruise, in-cockpit it never arrives at cruise; it always hangs at auto.

If I go into windows 10 -> Control Panel -> Throttle - HOTAS Warthog -> (right-click) Game controller settings -> Throttle - HOTAS Warthog -> Properties, pushing quickly from full aft to full forward works perfectly; eg jumps from button 22 on to button 23 on - no problem.

I also have the F/A-18C configured exactly the same, just progressing from up to half to full and back. If I push the switch through from one end to the other, it always just works - it never hangs.

Could you please have a look at this?

Thanks.

When you hit the wrong button on take-off

hwl7xqL.gif

System Specs.

Spoiler
System board: MSI X670E ACE Memory: 64GB DDR5-6000 G.Skill Ripjaw System disk: Crucial P5 M.2 2TB
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D PSU: Corsair HX1200 PSU Monitor: ASUS MG279Q, 27"
CPU cooling: Noctua NH-D15S Graphics card: MSI RTX 3090Ti SuprimX VR: Oculus Rift CV1

I get this, I think it's to do with the animation of the lever/switch moving.

In the f18 it doesn't appear to be animated. In the harrier there's an animation that if you try and cycle the switch before it's finished doing its animation it ignores the input.

Has cost me a few airframes on landing and taking off.

On the same throttle I did medium position - neutral, forward - flaps switch up, backward - flaps switch down (always I back to neutral so middle position after this). It works for me and in this situation is more flexible (differences position of switch in C&D, hot start ect). Just idea.

Webmaster of http://www.yoyosims.pl

Yoyosimsbanner.gif