P-51d Over Heating in the Desert

Flyer0001

Tried a new campaign for the P-51d. Afrika 1942 using the Nevada map. Jumped to the 3rd mission "Pincers" as I am new to the P-51d. I can't even get off the ground without the coolant gauge hitting the maximum temperature. Tried all kinds of things like manually opening the radiator up to air before taking off. Is someone else flying this mission and doing okay?

Tried a new campaign for the P-51d. Afrika 1942 using the Nevada map. Jumped to the 3rd mission "Pincers" as I am new to the P-51d. I can't even get off the ground without the coolant gauge hitting the maximum temperature. Tried all kinds of things like manually opening the radiator up to air before taking off. Is someone else flying this mission and doing okay?

Open coolant doors

Keep engine around 1000 rpm while taxing.

Avoid tail wind while taxing.

Same with take off, no tail wind.

Edited by grafspee

System specs: I7 14700KF, Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Elite, 64GB DDR4 3600MHz, Gigabyte RTX 4090,Win 11, 48" OLED LG TV + 42" LG LED monitor

Thank you for responding. Never occurred to me about tail wind although in this case you start out very close to the runway. What made the difference is opening the oil coolant door along with the radiator coolant door. This seemed to help cool the radiator fluid as well. Apparently I need a lot more practice. I barely made it to the battle without overheating and was in no condition for a dogfight. Other planes were flying around without hindrance or restraint.

Coolant radiator door takes 20 seconds to fully traverse from full closed to full open or vice versa. (Though I believe they are default open on a cold start). The Oil radiator is only about 5 seconds.

PS: And they are a click and HOLD to keep it opening/closing. They are spring loaded to return to NEUTRAL when released, leaving the radiator door in whatever position it was at.