AIM-120 behaviour - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2020, 06:53 AM   #11
Oceandar
Senior Member
 
Oceandar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Probably would make you smirking
Posts: 1,336
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by atazar View Post
In a short time, the AIM-120C has become a slow missile operated by Hornet. But the same missile on the F-16 is lethal. Those of us from the beginning with the F-18 noticed all the changes and nothing goes unnoticed.
The reason why AIM-120 much more lethal on Viper is because Viper has alot of kinetic energy IMO. It also same for The Eagle.
Try look at the Tacview from 104th server (I know you regularly fly there) and compare.
Most of Viper pilots launching from above Mach 1 with afterburner ON while most of the hornet launching it avg at Mach 0.8. Now guess which one would impact first.

one more thing, the Viper with its massive accel, speed and unrestricted 9G turn arguably has little problem dodging your hornet AMRAAM with its limited 7G unless you press the paddle to override it.
__________________
Mastering others is strength. Mastering yourself is true power. - Lao Tze

Last edited by Oceandar; 01-15-2020 at 06:57 AM.
Oceandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 08:56 AM   #12
Orr89
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oceandar View Post
The reason why AIM-120 much more lethal on Viper is because Viper has alot of kinetic energy IMO. It also same for The Eagle.
Try look at the Tacview from 104th server (I know you regularly fly there) and compare.
Most of Viper pilots launching from above Mach 1 with afterburner ON while most of the hornet launching it avg at Mach 0.8. Now guess which one would impact first.

one more thing, the Viper with its massive accel, speed and unrestricted 9G turn arguably has little problem dodging your hornet AMRAAM with its limited 7G unless you press the paddle to override it.
This is completely correct, the Viper will launch a 120c faster the then the hornet, however once thing I get frustrated with is altitude, now I've seen it come into play with the shoot queuing systems, but doesn't seem to carry over to the missile.

Coming from BMS I normally will always pitch up before shooting to semi loft. This might be incorrect but it tends to give just that little extra range on the Fox3. This is something I don't see in DCS. As i said this could be wrong but I believe BMS missile are very closely replicated to the real thing, more so then in DCS currently?
Orr89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 09:58 AM   #13
<Blaze>
Senior Member
 
<Blaze>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,162
Default

In my experience trying to mimic a loft will only hurt your missile. Be fast, be on shoot cue and don't have too much altitude disparity otherwise your slant range is too much regardless of energy advantage or deficit.
__________________


How do you kill 2 flankers with 1 wing?


A good fighter pilot is either trying to get high or is already high!
<Blaze> is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 07:38 AM   #14
atazar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Madrid, España
Posts: 452
Default

Perhaps I am used to the effectiveness of AMRAAM in less agile targets in the past, but I no longer speak of an F-16, but of a CISTERNA aircraft, to which the missiles did not reach 8 MN. Yes, it is true, it was not going too fast, match 0.8 before the attack, but we are talking about a cargo plane.
__________________
MSI Aegis 3/ i7 7700 4.2 Ghz/ 16GB RAM/ MSI GTX 1060 GAMING/ SSD 256GB/AOC FREESYNC 144Hz/ W10

atazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:47 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.