DCS-SimpleRadio Standalone - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2016, 07:29 PM   #1
Ciribob
ED Testers Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 1,770
Default DCS-SimpleRadio Standalone

Introducing the snappily named: DCS Simple Radio Standalone

The goal of this project is to bring integrated Radio Comms into DCS similar to my existing TS plugin and others (Aries, UniversRadio, TARS) but without relying on TeamSpeak.

The Standalone is meant to be a compliment for TS, allowing players to use Full Radio voice comms if they want with the eventual goal of the program automatically connecting when connecting to a multiplayer server. TS is then used as a fall back to establish frequencies or for those that don't have the radio.

Its quite early days but currently I have working:
  • All FC3 Aircraft with Realistic Radios and Frequencies + Guard Frequencies
  • All Clickable cockpit aircraft including Gazelle
  • Hotkeys for PTT + Switching Active Radio (Gazelle + A10C + FC3 only)
  • In Cockpit PTT
  • Intercom Support in L-39
  • GCI / CA / ATC Radio
  • Voice encryption for A-10C / Mirage / F-15C / A-10A / Gazelle
  • Radio Overlay indicating current frequencies, selected radio and active light when Transmitting or Receiving
  • Built from Scratch voice protocol using OPUS encoding - allows much greater flexibility as I'm not dependant on TS3 or Mumble.
  • Client Microphone Boost
  • Audio Separation
  • Optional Line of Sight
  • Optional Radio Distance limitations
  • Squelch Effect
  • Handling of Lag and Missing Packets
  • Support for 10 radios for Ground Commander / AWACS
  • Server side controlled expansion radios giving 3 radios to almost all aircraft including WW2 for training

You only need to run the installer to install the Scripts into DCS. The SR-Server.exe can be run without the installer. DO NOT run the installer or install the Script on your Standalone server unless your going to be flying as the server (no need too )

To Host the server all you need to do is run SR-Server.exe and make and TCP ports 5002 and 5003 are open. It does not need to be on a PC running DCS and you do NOT need to port forward if you're just using the client

.NET version 4.6.2 Required - PLEASE INSTALL THIS BEFORE INSTALLING SRS - https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/down....aspx?id=53345

Windows 7/8/10 N Users - PLEASE INSTALL THIS OR IT WILL NOT WORK - Adds the media codecs you need which are removed in the N Version - https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/down....aspx?id=48231



DOWNLOAD HERE - Unzip all files and Run the Installer: https://github.com/ciribob/DCS-Simpl...eleases/latest



Latest Release - 1.5.4.0 Post: https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...postcount=2306



Manual Install Procedure

Extract the entire zip somewhere

Copy DCS-SimpleRadioStandalone.lua to C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts
Copy DCS-SRSGameGUI.lua to C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts
Copy DCS-SRS-OverlayGameGUI.lua to C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts
Copy DCS-SRS-Overlay.dlg to C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts

Copy DCS-SRS-Hook.lua to C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts\Hooks

Create the script folder if it doesnt exist

Add to the END of the Export.lua file in C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts:

Code:
local dcsSr=require('lfs');dofile(dcsSr.writedir()..[[Scripts\DCS-SimpleRadioStandalone.lua]])
If Export.lua doesn't exist, just create the file and add the single line to it.

Copy the rest of the zip files where ever you like and then run, don't forget to keep opus.dll with the rest of the .exes

Server Hosting Procedure
Run SR-Server.exe (no need to run installer or add scripts!) and make sure TCP port 5002 and 5003 is open. It does NOT need to be on a PC running DCS.

If you change the server port by editing the CFG file - be sure to always open the TCP port that you set, as well as one above the configured one. The second port is needed for audio. I.e Port 5010 is set so open 5010 and 5011 to TCP


Auto Connect Feature - Server Owners ONLY - Clients don't need this file!
To enable SRS clients to be prompted automatically to connect just add the DCS-SRS-AutoConnectGameGUI.lua to the appropriate DCS Saved Games folder e.g. DCS.openbeta/Scripts/Hooks, DCS.openalpha/Scripts/Hooks or jut DCS/Scripts/Hooks

If you dont have a Scripts or a Hooks folder inside Scripts, just create them

Edit the line below to your server address where SRS server is running. Port is optional. DCS must be restarted on the server for this file and any changes to take effect.

Code:
-- CHANGE FROM
SRSAuto.SERVER_SRS_HOST = "127.0.0.1" -- Port optional e.g. "127.0.0.1:5002"

--TO
SRSAuto.SERVER_SRS_HOST = "5.189.162.17:5010" -- BuddySpike One
-- OR
SRSAuto.SERVER_SRS_HOST = " 37.59.10.136" -- TAW One (port optional)
And thats it.

If a client isn't connected and has SRS running they'll be prompted to connect automatically. You'll also see the message posted in the chat listing the address when slots change or a client connects.


Installation and Overview Video



Troubleshooting

Please follow the instructions here: https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...postcount=1122

Future Features
  • Signal Degradation sound effects - Noise Increase with distance
  • HAVE QUICK II
  • FM transmission blocking (FM knocks out weaker FM Signals)
  • Location for AWACS / GCI


Encrypted Radios
DCS-SRS now supports encrypted Radios with differing keys. If a Radio receives an encrypted voice signal but doesn't have either the correct decryption key or decryption equipment, white noise will be played.

A radio with encryption enabled can hear non encrypted transmissions as normal.

Encryption is shown on the Radio overlay with an E followed by a number by the radio. The number indicates the key that is in use.

A-10C
Procedure to enable Encrypted Audio:
  • Turn Power on to KY-58
  • Set Mode to OP
  • Pick the fill use wish to use. This is the key that encodes the audio. The receiving radio must have the same key set
  • Turn to C/RAD 1 to encrypt AN/ARC-164 UHF
  • Turn to C/RAD 2 to encrypt AN/ARC-186(V)FM
  • Turning to plain will disable encryption again



Mirage
Procedure to enable Encrypted Audio:
  • Setup Radios as Normal
  • Press the Green UHF CDE Switch



To change the Mirage code use the overlay


Demo Video of Native DCS Overlay



Overlay and Overlay Configuration

The overlay has 3 states, hidden, small & full that you can see by pressing Left Control + Left Shift + Escape by default.

The Full state has a title bar that you can click and drag the window around with. The window position will be saved for when DCS is next opened.

The radio status is removed after 5 seconds if SRS is closed or loses server connection

To configure the overlay hotkey, run DCS once to create a config file in Saved Games\DCS\Config which will look something like so and quit DCS:

Code:
config = 
{
    ["mode"] = "minimum",
    ["hotkey"] = "Ctrl+Shift+escape",
    ["windowPosition"] = 
    {
        ["y"] = 342,
        ["x"] = 981,
    }, -- end of ["windowPosition"]
} -- end of config
Edit the "Hotkey" section and add the characters from the keyboard you'd like to use instead. i.e

Code:
config = 
{
    ["mode"] = "minimum",
    ["hotkey"] = "Ctrl+Shift+1", -- now uses the combination of ctrl shift and 1 together to toggle
    ["windowPosition"] = 
    {
        ["y"] = 342,
        ["x"] = 981,
    }, -- end of ["windowPosition"]
} -- end of config
Dont forget to restart DCS after editing this file or you wont see the changes.

If you want to remove the overlay entirely and never use it, just delete:
  • DCS-SRS-Overlay.dlg
  • DCS-SRS-OverlayGameGUI.lua

In Saved Games\DCS\Scripts

Preset Channel Configuration

Preset channels can be created for all FC3 aircraft and all expansion radios for Non FC3.

Channel presets are created per Radio - full list of names & frequencies here https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...gid=1869108790 )

Preset files are named after the radio (no special characters needed & case is ignored) and are text files with a single frequency on each line.

For example, to create a fixed channel list for the first UHF radio in the F15C:

Create a file called ANARC-164 UHF1.txt or anarc164 UHF1.txt where you installed SimpleRadio Standalone (where the client exe is), add frequencies and save.

The file will be automatically loaded when that radio appears on an aircraft. The frequency list can also be manually reloaded with the reload button. The files are per radio not per aircraft.



Finally - I need your help!
If you'd like to help with this project, please help me fill in this sheet of radio info! It'll also help correct any mistakes I've made with the Radios.

LINK: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...gid=1869108790

The work can't be done without the data so if you can help fill in a box please do!
__________________
Scripts: Complete Transport And Logistics Deployment - CTLD / CTLD Examples - Lots of example of how to use CTLD
CSAR Script - Downed Pilot Rescue / Dedicated Server Script - Automatically launch DCS Multiplayer server at startup
Range Scoring Script - Get scores and counts hits on targets for gunnery or bombs / SimpleSlotBlock - Multiplayer dynamic Slot Blocking Script

Projects: DCS-SimpleRadio Standalone - DCS Radio Integration for All Aircraft - NO TeamSpeak Required!
DCS-SimpleRadio Troubleshooting Post / DCS-SimpleRadio Free Support Channel on Discord

Last edited by Ciribob; 09-09-2018 at 07:17 PM.
Ciribob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 07:58 PM   #2
Pikey
Veteran
 
Pikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reading, UK (GMT)
Posts: 3,141
Default

First!
__________________
“Six better fuses and we would have lost.”
Pikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 08:02 PM   #3
JanTelefon
Member
 
JanTelefon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 179
Default

Amazing piece of code Ciribob! This kind of radio management should be implemented in the game by default.

Last edited by JanTelefon; 06-29-2016 at 08:09 PM.
JanTelefon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 08:07 AM   #4
MemphisBelle
Senior Member
 
MemphisBelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,748
Send a message via MSN to MemphisBelle
Default

I had the opportunity to run that nice Piece of Software yesterday while flying with my friends and I´ve got to say that I´ve been blown away by its potential. I really wonder why the Devs havent implemented such a Feature by default, I assume it´s because they still are focusing rather on Singleplayer than on Multiplayer, well they might have their reasons. But fortunately there are guys like you around who take care about those things.

It´s a real great Job that you´ve done there, thanks for all the efforts.
__________________

common questions? Read the ED Wiki
unanswered Support ticket? --> solution
Are you looking for specific information to certain Modules? --> check the DCS World Root page on the ED Wiki

Specs:: ASrock Z370 extreme 4; Intel i5 8600K @3,6Ghz; 16GB DDR4 RAM; GTX 1080 @8GB; Corsair RMX Serie 750; 3x SSD 850 EVO 250 GB + 3 TB HDD
Hardware: Oculus Rift + Touch; HOTAS Warthog
MemphisBelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 10:03 AM   #5
Ciribob
ED Testers Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 1,770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GGTharos View Post
No problem.

I'll check into simulating radio effects at longer ranges, I might be able to find some existing research on it
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug4r View Post
You could almost do this already, if you could set the frequency for a connected client (on the host machine) not being in an aircraft. Set the input to a 'What you hear' or 'Audio Mix' input (if available), connect and force a PTT with autohotkey/freepie or whatever and simply play/stream some music.
You can actually completely do this now how you describe, as long as you have a dedicated server or at least dont use the radio on the server host
  1. Install SRS on your server host
  2. Install something like Virtual Audio Cable (http://vb-audio.pagesperso-orange.fr/Cable/ - Donation Ware)
  3. Start up your SRS Server - Make sure Secure Coalition Radios is OFF and Spectator Audio is Enabled. If you don't only one side or the other will be able to hear the radio depending on the slot you put the server host in.
  4. Start up dedicated DCS Server - Setup Mission and launch
  5. Start up SRS Client and select the audio input as the Virtual Audio Cable
  6. Tune SRS Client to the frequency you want to transmit on
  7. Select Radio and Force PTT with autohotkey
  8. Set Virtual Audio cable as the default output device (or a good media player that lets you pick speakers)
  9. Play music from youtube, stream internet radio, stream from LiveATC .... What ever

Bandwidth isn't a concern as thats handled by SRS but be warned, with a sample rate of 16,000hz and some radio effects on the audio, music won't sound great!


Quote:
Originally Posted by dinoBIT View Post
SR client keeps crashing as soon as I press "connect"

Yesterday it was 100% stable and I also heard in game one person said that their SR kept crashing too.

But i fixed it somehow, i opened sr-server.exe, pressed the stop server and everything is back to normal.
Glad its fixed Please post logs and windows crash logs from windows event viewer if it happens again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Esac_mirmidon View Post
Hi Ciribob.

I´ve a question for you.

Is normal to hear interferences in this situation?:

A flight of several fighters all connected in the same VHF-UHF-FM frequencies, for example 127.000/251.000/31.000.

When i´m listening for example in VHF to talk internally with my leader and another one is talking in UHF at the same time i hear interferences and noise.

Isn´t supossed that only the interferences must be present when two are talking at the same time in the same frequency of the same radio? Not in different ones?

I think that i can talk in VHF or UHF with my flight but at the same time hear clear in FM for example another flight in the same FM frequency.
If you get a recording I can tell you but its likely a mixing issue as mixing low quality samples can sound pretty awful. Do you have all 3 radios set to different speakers (left, right & left+right)?

A test you can try is get someone to transmit on one radio (left ear), then someone on another (right ear) - it should sound OK. Then get someone to transmit on the 3rd radio with both. Will probably sound awful and if it does its audio mixing which is tricky to solve.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MemphisBelle View Post
I had the opportunity to run that nice Piece of Software yesterday while flying with my friends and I´ve got to say that I´ve been blown away by its potential. I really wonder why the Devs havent implemented such a Feature by default, I assume it´s because they still are focusing rather on Singleplayer than on Multiplayer, well they might have their reasons. But fortunately there are guys like you around who take care about those things.

It´s a real great Job that you´ve done there, thanks for all the efforts.
No worries, glad it worked OK! Please let me know if you find any issues
__________________
Scripts: Complete Transport And Logistics Deployment - CTLD / CTLD Examples - Lots of example of how to use CTLD
CSAR Script - Downed Pilot Rescue / Dedicated Server Script - Automatically launch DCS Multiplayer server at startup
Range Scoring Script - Get scores and counts hits on targets for gunnery or bombs / SimpleSlotBlock - Multiplayer dynamic Slot Blocking Script

Projects: DCS-SimpleRadio Standalone - DCS Radio Integration for All Aircraft - NO TeamSpeak Required!
DCS-SimpleRadio Troubleshooting Post / DCS-SimpleRadio Free Support Channel on Discord
Ciribob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 08:02 PM   #6
Coxy_99
Senior Member
 
Coxy_99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 2,902
Default

Thanks Ciribob great work
__________________
100☭ Discord: https://discord.gg/EGrVBHt
Teamspeak: 100kiap.teamspeak3.com
Forum: http://forum.100kiap.org
www: https://100kiap.hopto.org

[100☭] Coxy_99 #99

Follow me on twitch and youtube also: https://www.twitch.tv/coxy_99/profile https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLi...qEF8-UGWhwXD5A
Coxy_99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 08:05 PM   #7
SUNTSAG
Member
 
SUNTSAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 761
Default

Tried and tested Ciribob thanks for all your effort. It worked a treat on mission night with the 42nd.

-=42VFG=- NAKED
SUNTSAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 08:55 PM   #8
SpeedStick
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 310
Default

I love you. This is a new era. But also reminds me of the good old PR and Mumble days.
__________________
"Hard to imagine bigger engine. its got a beautiful face and an arse built like sputnik." - Pikey AKA The Poet, on 37 Viggen.

Last edited by SpeedStick; 06-29-2016 at 08:58 PM.
SpeedStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 09:02 PM   #9
mithandra
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 621
Default

thanks Ciribob - its awesome

-=42VFG=-SPECTER
__________________
Custom built W10 Pro 64Bit, Intel Core i7 7700k, Asus ROG Maximus Code, Samsung 1TB NVme M.2 Drive, Gigabyte AORUS Extreme 1080TI, 40" Iiyama Display. Wacom Cintiq Pro 24, HOTAS Virpil T50 Stick and Virpil T50 Throttle, MFG Crosswind Graphite Pedals

SPECTER


mithandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 06:37 AM   #10
StandingCow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,501
Default

Really wish DCS had ingame comms. Awesome work Ciribob, even outside of blueflag the folks I fly with have been using this with no issue. Very easy to install.
__________________
i7 6700k - 32 GB RAM - 1080TI

~Moo
StandingCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:01 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.